3/22 Doodles (labs attached) AMPS 340 PMPS 348 +1 453 +2 394 +3 427 +5 358

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hang in there - R is a great tool to have in your toolbox. Once you've learned how (and when) to use it, you'll feel like you have more control over what's going on. Won't take long and we'll help you learn. :bighug:
 
Here's hoping the 0.25uR shows you some movement tonight. :bighug: That was Neko's typical R dose, unless she was a lot higher.
 
Ah Ha! Movement! Yep - see you at +3.

The only goal of using R is to move the cat's blood sugar down 50-100 points. That allows the L to work better. He's already moved 59 points from +1.
 
Ah Ha! Movement! Yep - see you at +3.

The only goal of using R is to move the cat's blood sugar down 50-100 points. That allows the L to work better. He's already moved 59 points from +1.
Any movement these days is exciting. I'm getting ahead of myself here but wondering if we either shoot again around +6 (not tonight of course and only if he's still high (but what is high) so we drive the preshot number down more to compensate for the spike after his meds. You don't have to answer but just thinking out loud. Really hoping it doesn't come to that as 6 shots a day is pretty overwhelming. Also we have a follow up blood test on Friday to see if his kidneys can handle these meds so more changes could be coming. Ok, done rambling. Glad to see that drop :)
 
Shooting at preshot and nadir is one strategy that Sandy used with BK for quite a while. So yes, it's one possibility. I especially liked to use R in the second half of the cycle, post-nadir, to lower the next preshot and subsequent cycle. There are different options depending on the rest of the picture.
 
Love seeing that bit of movement. :)

Neko's R onset was usually around +3 (she's always fashionably late :rolleyes:), but it meant I liked to get R in there when I started to see her cycle start to rise cause it was still going to be awhile before anything happened.
 
but it meant I liked to get R in there when I started to see her cycle start to rise cause it was still going to be awhile before anything happened.
So for example with Doodles +1 in Neko's case you would shoot at +1 instead of preshot? Just trying to understand a little.
 
No, I often shot at +10 or +11 cause I knew I wasn't going to see any R action until +1 or +2 of the main cycle. Since her L onset is +5 and she can drop then, I wanted all the R action to be out of the way by the time the Levemir took over. R often lasted up to 5 hours with Neko. I seldom shot past preshot, unless I'd done a fur shot. :rolleyes:
 
Excitement short lived. Can I wait until +5 and feed him his before bed meal? Then would I need to set a +8 alarm or let him ride until AMPS?
 
Yes, I think that would be ok. I don't think you need to set an alarm for +8, though.

Post at +5 if there is anything unusual. I'll check back then and see if you need anything.
 
Sorry the 0.25u didn't move him tonight but I still think it takes some time to see the R start working.

Tomorrow is another day. Try not to get discouraged. We will find a dose that will help him. If you don't see any residual action tomorrow, we might even try a shot later in the cycle if you are up for it.

So sorry that I'm not an early riser any more.....
 
If you don't see any residual action tomorrow, we might even try a shot later in the cycle if you are up for it.

I'll shoot the .25 at AMPS and we'll see where he is @ +6 or so and decide whether to shoot again or not. If we can get his preshots down maybe he'll stay down. Thanks Marje!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top