3/22 Darcy PMPS 166 Did not give R

Suzanne & Darcy

Member Since 2020
A red AMPS :-( but the R helped get him down 100 points :) (I increased to 14 based on that PS number). I hope today is better? Just when I thought I was seeing a slight downward trend in AMPS. Impatient, I know. But I have been trying to get this cat regulated since June 2020.

See update with question at bottom of this thread. When I have to edit and add a question, is it better to add it to the bottom of the thread or to put it here?

Kiss your kitties today!

yesterday's post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...6-4-5-255-8-299-pmps-306.245036/#post-2764732
 
Last edited:
Okay, he's come back down into the yellows and I'm happy with that (222 not too bad). I'm upset though because he's been really lame today. He tried to jump up on his barstool - 32 inches high -- that's the place where he gets tested -- and he fell back down. A little later on he tried to do a much smaller jump of 22 inches, and he couldn't make it either. He ended up hauling himself up with his front legs. I gave him an Onsior. It seems to have helped (he jumped up just a little while ago onto the stool). Oh, and he was rolling around playing with a mouse, too.

When I spoke with my vet last week about this, she recommended starting with the Cosequin Sprinkles for Cats and recommended that I give him an Onsior once per day for 3-5 days. She said it can take a month to see improvement with Cosequin.

Thoughts anyone?
 
Sooooo, I just checked his PMPS and got a 166. I am going to go ahead and give his regular Lantus dose, because he's going to eat and his BG will go up. But I've never had a 166 PMPS before and I don't know if I should give R or not. I am inclined to NOT give the R, but just shoot the regular Lantus dose. It's probably too early for @Wendy&Neko to be around yet? Anybody?

What do you think? I think it could be the Onsior? Since that's the main thing that has changed for today. Maybe pain has been contributing to the elevated BG???
 
Last edited:
You know him far better than me, but with Oberon I don't give R if he's under about 250. And I only give it between 250 and 300 if he's clearly on his way up. Especially since this is the first time Darcy's been that low, I'd be inclined to skip R.
 
You know him far better than me, but with Oberon I don't give R if he's under about 250. And I only give it between 250 and 300 if he's clearly on his way up. Especially since this is the first time Darcy's been that low, I'd be inclined to skip R.
Excellent! Thank you. I really thought that was way too low to try R, too. I just wanted somebody else to say so :):) I appreciate you! I'm thinking it's because he's been in pain and I gave him the Onsior today when he couldn't jump.
 
Just stopping by to say Hello!

Luci isn't regulated either...after three years...this girl is still all over the road... :)

Hang in there Suzanne and Darcy!
 
Sooooo, I just checked his PMPS and got a 166. I am going to go ahead and give his regular Lantus dose, because he's going to eat and his BG will go up. But I've never had a 166 PMPS before and I don't know if I should give R or not. I am inclined to NOT give the R, but just shoot the regular Lantus dose. It's probably too early for @Wendy&Neko to be around yet? Anybody?

What do you think? I think it could be the Onsior? Since that's the main thing that has changed for today. Maybe pain has been contributing to the elevated BG???
CATS!! Give you all this stress about being in pinks and reds and sometimes yellows... just when you kind of get used to that, they go and throw a random PMPS blue at you!! Just to show who's really in charge.

Seriously though, if he was in pain then good to know you've been able to help him with that. If only they could tell us what's going on! :bighug:
 
Just stopping by to say Hello!

Luci isn't regulated either...after three years...this girl is still all over the road... :)

Hang in there Suzanne and Darcy!
Wow. I guess I really thought it was possible to get a diabetic cat regulated. Now it seems like it may not be possible? Or should I say that it looks like some cats may never be regulated. Thanks for stopping by!!
 
:cool::cool::cool:
she recommended starting with the Cosequin Sprinkles for Cats and recommended that I give him an Onsior once per day for 3-5 days. She said it can take a month to see improvement with Cosequin.

Thoughts anyone?
Cosequin is fine to start, but rather mild for what our acros need. I wouldn't be surprised if you need to move to Adequan at some point. I am not a fan of Onsior. Even the manufacturer's websites says to be used only for 3 days for post operative pain. It's not actually been tested for longer term use on older kitties, last I checked. Gabapentin or buprenorphine are much better solutions if you need something longer term.

Glad you held off the R, Lisa gave good advice on not shooting R on a dropping number. Note, when you go to Levemir, you will more often have your lowest number at PS, so things may change.

And finally, best to add new questions in new posts on the same thread. Anyone visiting a second time might not reread what was said previously, and the new post also bumps it up.
 
:cool::cool::cool:

Cosequin is fine to start, but rather mild for what our acros need. I wouldn't be surprised if you need to move to Adequan at some point. I am not a fan of Onsior. Even the manufacturer's websites says to be used only for 3 days for post operative pain. It's not actually been tested for longer term use on older kitties, last I checked. Gabapentin or buprenorphine are much better solutions if you need something longer term.

Glad you held off the R, Lisa gave good advice on not shooting R on a dropping number. Note, when you go to Levemir, you will more often have your lowest number at PS, so things may change.

And finally, best to add new questions in new posts on the same thread. Anyone visiting a second time might not reread what was said previously, and the new post also bumps it up.
Yes. She didn’t like Metacam either and won’t use it in cats. Isn’t Gabapentin hard on the kidneys. I’m sure the Onsior is as it’s an NSAID isn’t it? And then there’s the Bupe constipation problem.
 
I can't imagine what a road this has been for you, Suzanne, and I am terrified of the thought of being so long unregulated with Pearl. I guess we just take it one step at a time, but I am rooting so hard for Mr. Darcy. I'm happy to see a little blue tonight! :bighug:
 
I can't imagine what a road this has been for you, Suzanne, and I am terrified of the thought of being so long unregulated with Pearl. I guess we just take it one step at a time, but I am rooting so hard for Mr. Darcy. I'm happy to see a little blue tonight! :bighug:
Thanks, Margaret. I'm sure Pearl won't be a weirdo like Darcy!
 
Isn’t Gabapentin hard on the kidneys. I’m sure the Onsior is as it’s an NSAID isn’t it? And then there’s the Bupe constipation problem.
Yes, Onsior is an NSAID. I balanced bupe with a little pumpkin in Neko's diet - plus she was on raw which helped.
 
Back
Top