3/22 Chase AMPS:135,+1:138,+2:78,+3:66,PMPS:103,+1:131,+2:132,+3:91

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandi & Chase in AZ

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...3-61-pmps-135-2-138-3-78.175137/#post-1923338

Chase had a bit of a strange day, yesterday. And although he started out at AMPS 135, the pattern, so far, looks more like a Chase pattern.

I'm going to do his food a little differently. I don't have a lot of info to see Chase's NADIR, but from what I do have, it looks mostly like his is at +3. That's always his lowest BG after a shot. For the calories he is allowed each day, his food works out to be about 32 teaspoons a day. I'm finding it hard to decide how to spread this out, because his NADIR seems to be so early, and it was suggested that he not be fed much at that time (unless I understood incorrectly). He gets his 1st shot at 6:30 a.m. (ideally), at which time I test 1st and then feed. He then eats at +1, +2, +3, and he has been eating at +4 and +5.5. I want to stretch this out a little bit more so I'm thinking 6 tsp at AMPS, 6 tsp at +1, 6 tsp at +2, 8 tsp at +3 (always his lowest BG), 5 tsp at +4, and 5 tsp at +5.5.

I am confused about something. I am giving him a +9 meal after PMPS because it was suggested that this might help with his numbers. If it's ok to give him a +9 meal/snack in the PMPS, why isn't it the same for +9 after AMPS? I'm just trying to understand the method.

I am almost convinced that Chase is so sensitive to how much and when he gets his food, that this will be the absolute key to his remission. I just need to figure out the right schedule. I understand that nothing is 100% accurate, but when I look at his numbers on the SS, this is what I'm thinking. It's been suggested that I don't chase the numbers however... the numbers are what enable me to see the pattern of how the food affects him.

I'm happy to say that he hasn't had any stomach upset since Sunday. I've changed his food, for now, to FF Turkey and Giblets, which according to the label doesn't have fish in it. The Chicken Feast I was giving him did, and I wasn't aware of that. He is allergic to tuna. It's a mild allergy compared to other things he is allergic to. Nevertheless, I won't be giving him anything with fish in it. It is my hope that I can, at some point, switch him to a raw diet or at least give him better food. The FF has helped so much, with getting his BG down, but it's time to look for something that's better for him. Also, I know that people have been concerned about the amount of hairballs he has. But thing is... he is 11 years old and this started when he was a baby. He has eaten hairball formula food all his life, and when he did he didn't have issues. But that was dry food, which I will never feed him again. Of course, I will monitor him, but I am also keeping in mind that ECID and I know my Chase. Some of you know what I worry wart I can be, so I need to keep such things in mind so as not to stress out so much. I'm no good to him or myself when that happens. :)

Thank you to EVERYONE who has contributed their thoughts and ideas regarding Chase's care. I couldn't make this journey sanely without you all. :bighug::cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Last edited:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...3-61-pmps-135-2-138-3-78.175137/#post-1923338

Chase had a bit of a strange day, yesterday. And although he started out at AMPS 135, the pattern, so far, looks more like a Chase pattern.

I'm going to do his food a little differently. I don't have a lot of info to see Chase's NADIR, but from what I do have, it looks mostly like his is at +3. That's always his lowest BG after a shot. For the calories he is allowed each day, his food works out to be about 32 teaspoons a day. I'm finding it hard to decide how to spread this out, because his NADIR seems to be so early, and it was suggested that he not be fed much at that time (unless I understood incorrectly). He gets his 1st shot at 6:30 a.m. (ideally), at which time I test 1st and then feed. He then eats at +1, +2, +3, and he has been eating at +4 and +5.5. I want to stretch this out a little bit more so I'm thinking 6 tsp at AMPS, 6 tsp at +1, 6 tsp at +2, 8 tsp at +3 (always his lowest BG), 5 tsp at +4, and 5 tsp at +5.5.

I am confused about something. I am giving him a +9 meal after PMPS because it was suggested that this might help with his numbers. If it's ok to give him a +9 meal/snack in the PMPS, why isn't it the same for +9 after AMPS? I'm just trying to understand the method.

I am almost convinced that Chase is so sensitive to how much and when he gets his food, that this will be the absolute key to his remission. I just need to figure out the right schedule. I understand that nothing is 100% accurate, but when I look at his numbers on the SS, this is what I'm thinking. It's been suggested that I don't chase the numbers however... the numbers are what enable me to see the pattern of how the food affects him.

I'm happy to say that he hasn't had any stomach upset since Sunday. I've changed his food, for now, to FF Turkey and Giblets, which according to the label doesn't have fish in it. The Chicken Feast I was giving him did, and I wasn't aware of that. He is allergic to tuna. It's a mild allergy compared to other things he is allergic to. Nevertheless, I won't be giving him anything with fish in it. It is my hope that I can, at some point, switch him to a raw diet or at least give him better food. The FF has helped so much, with getting his BG down, but it's time to look for something that's better for him. Also, I know that people have been concerned about the amount of hairballs he has. But thing is... he is 11 years old and this started when he was a baby. He has eaten hairball formula food all his life, and when he did he didn't have issues. But that was dry food, which I will never feed him again. Of course, I will monitor him, but I am also keeping in mind that ECID and I know my Chase. Some of you know what I worry wart I can be, so I need to keep such things in mind so as not to stress out so much. I'm no good to him or myself when that happens. :)

Thank you to EVERYONE who has contributed their thoughts and ideas regarding Chase's care. I couldn't make this journey sanely without you all. :bighug::cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
Hi Sandi.

I'm just curious why you think it isn't the same giving a +9 snack at both AM and PM. The only reason it might not be would be that the AMPS is much higher than the PMPS, so you are giving the snack at PM+9 to bring down the AMPS. Looking at Chases' SS, it appears that this was the case with him, but more recently his AMPS has gone green and his PMPS lingers in blue (albeit low blue). I would say an AM+9 snack would be appropriate.

As for your feeding schedule, ECID, so you'll just have to experiment to see what works best for Chase. I know you are more than willing to do so and are keeping good notes. None of the rules about feeding are hard and fast (except maybe the two hours before shot rule) - they are just suggestions based on what has worked most often for most cats. Chase may have other ideas.

Chase's numbers are looking really good! I'm so glad he's having less tummy issues, too. You are doing an awesome job.
 
Not sure if it was me that suggested the PM +9 snack? Boomer always had issues with his AMPS being higher so I may have specifically mentioned a PM+9 snack to lower the AMPS. But yes if I were you I would try an AM +9 snack to try to lower his PMPS.

And like Tricia said, you just have to experiment to see what works best for Chase with respect to his meals. I feed Boomer every 3 hours to try to keep him level.....so just as the food has worn off and he might start to drop, he has food to bring him back up a bit again. Lately though he might benefit from not having food for the last few hours of his cycle....but he would never put up with it and would drive us nuts.
 
Hi Sandi.

I'm just curious why you think it isn't the same giving a +9 snack at both AM and PM. The only reason it might not be would be that the AMPS is much higher than the PMPS, so you are giving the snack at PM+9 to bring down the AMPS. Looking at Chases' SS, it appears that this was the case with him, but more recently his AMPS has gone green and his PMPS lingers in blue (albeit low blue). I would say an AM+9 snack would be appropriate.

As for your feeding schedule, ECID, so you'll just have to experiment to see what works best for Chase. I know you are more than willing to do so and are keeping good notes. None of the rules about feeding are hard and fast (except maybe the two hours before shot rule) - they are just suggestions based on what has worked most often for most cats. Chase may have other ideas.

Chase's numbers are looking really good! I'm so glad he's having less tummy issues, too. You are doing an awesome job.
Thank you so much, Tricia. I may have misunderstood about the +9 snack. Sometimes I get the food thing wrong. :( Maybe I should stop with the PM snack?
 
Not sure if it was me that suggested the PM +9 snack? Boomer always had issues with his AMPS being higher so I may have specifically mentioned a PM+9 snack to lower the AMPS. But yes if I were you I would try an AM +9 snack to try to lower his PMPS.

And like Tricia said, you just have to experiment to see what works best for Chase with respect to his meals. I feed Boomer every 3 hours to try to keep him level.....so just as the food has worn off and he might start to drop, he has food to bring him back up a bit again. Lately though he might benefit from not having food for the last few hours of his cycle....but he would never put up with it and would drive us nuts.
Thank you, Judy. I think a few different people suggested a +9 pm snack. But things change, and I'm trying to understand better, so that's why I asked. But this all makes perfect sense. :) Chase is CRAZY about eating. Little stinker. His meow in the morning has become so pitiful, because he knows I can't stand it. But still... I don't feed him any earlier. But I've got to hand it to him for effort. LOL
 
@Sandi & Chase in AZ

I'm glad you are looking at his SS and trying to decide what his patterns are. While it is possible that he is nadirong at +3, you don't have enough data of tests after +3 to know. That isn't a critique.....you have to go to work and sleep.

IMHO, he's onsetting around +2/+3, you give him food and it flattens him out but that doesn't mean he isn't either coming back down a little or just staying fairly flat.

The suggestion I made was to give him a +9 snack both cycles consistently. I wouldn't stop that if it were me...at least not right now.

When we say "don't chase the numbers", it refers to the insulin dose, not the feeding strategy:):). We want to be sure we are seeing upward trends before we increase the dose, in Chase's case, and not raise the dose just to try and force him into all green. That might or might not work. However, if he does continue to trend up with these blues, we might rethink his dose this weekend.

You are both doing great :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top