3/22 Boomer AMPS 133 +3 117 +6 112 PMPS 110 +3 101

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Very Active Member
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 133 shooting a skinny 1u. Luckily opening a new packet of syringes today and the lines are back to normal; the last package had lines that were very thick and hard to measure

Boomer ate most of his overnight fuds but not without our help at 2:00 and 5:00. We've had enough of this. Today I'm calling Purina to confirm the analysis that was on Dr Lisa's updated chart which shows ff still low in carb (we had previously blamed ff for Boomer's increased levels AND had seen information that they had new formulas which were much higher in carbs). I will be feeding him ff overnight, possibly during the day too.
Allen ate most of his overnight canned food but very little of his kibble (which is fine with me).

Today it's cold again and we're expecting "light snow showers" but right now it's sunny.

Today on the agenda: well this bean was supposed to go for blood work this morning but it required a 12 hour fast which isn't a big deal but this morning I forgot and had coffee:rolleyes: guess the blood work will be on tomorrow's agenda. It's cold so we really don't want to be outside but there's lots of inside stuff to do.
 
Try the FF for a few days and see what happens with Boomer's numbers. I mention a few days because even though he had the food before it's been a while and sometimes just a food change with make their numbers :confused: You win for now Boom's:rolleyes: Lot's of progress with Allen :) :bighug::bighug:
 
Well I just had a very frustrating conversation with Purina. The customer service rep didn't know what I was talking about when I asked for the typical analysis on either an as-fed or dry-matter basis. Kept asking me if I had the can available to look at. I told him I wasn't interested in the guaranteed analysis. Finally gave me some figures for Ocean Whitefish and Tuna and when I asked him if it was dry-matter or as-fed, he didn't know. I asked to speak with someone else; he left for a bit then came back and gave me different figures for the same food but couldn't give me either carbs, calcium, or phosphorous amounts. GRRR. I told him this was ridiculous; I had asked via email 2 or 3 times for the information and was told to call and now I still couldn't get the info.
Since Dr Lisa's list does have the information and Purina didn't end up on her "list of shame" of companies that wouldn't share their info, I guess I will assume it's correct info despite the info I received last year to the contrary. sigh. Why does everything have to be so difficult.
 
You win for now Boom's
I am hoping that, if we return to his old food which he liked much better than any of the new ones, he won't be so needy at night. Time will tell. And obviously I hope his levels don't go up as a result. But wouldn't it be funny if his levels went down instead? :rolleyes:
 
I'm not surprised you had a frustrating phone call with Purina...I'm sure their CSRs aren't the least bit educated in nutrition. I sent them an email once asking a similar question and basically - 2 months later - they read back the label to me, as if I couldn't read it myself.

When I tried switching Trix off FF to see if it was affecting her BGs, I really did not see any sort of change in her numbers in either directio. ECID and all that, but if the carb count is different, I have a feeling it's not drastically different. I agree with Karen - it will be less stressful for you to just try it with Boomer than it will be for you to try and get useful answers from Purina.

Have a great day from here out, Judy!
 
I agree with Karen - it will be less stressful for you to just try it with Boomer than it will be for you to try and get useful answers from Purina.
Yup I totally agree. And I don't think Boomer's levels came down when we stopped feeding ff, we had to increase the insulin to get the numbers down.
 
+3 117
We seem to be losing ground here. :( Can't seem to keep Boomer in greens.
The last package of 10 syringes I had were difficult (even more than usual) to use; the lines were very thick so fine dosing was even worse than usual. The last few shots could have been "light". I was finally able to start a new package this morning so I think I'll wait it out today and tomorrow and if his levels don't improve I'll increase him to 1 full unit.
 
As if it's not hard enough to treat FD to have to add all the other stuff food, syringes insulin etc.
Are you able to feed raw? It is not difficult or even that time consuming. You can order and have delivered to your door the meat and buy supplements mix and freeze in containers. That way you know exactly what Boomer is eating.
Fritz is really sensitive to carbs so the only time he gets canned is when his numbers drop.
Oh my how our furbabies know we are their staff:p silly kitties but I am with you this no sleep schedule sucks:arghh:. I was up every hour till Fritz numbers started going up last night.
Hope you stay warm and enjoy your day indoors.:)
Surf safe Boomer:cat:
 
As if it's not hard enough to treat FD to have to add all the other stuff food, syringes insulin etc.
Are you able to feed raw? It is not difficult or even that time consuming. You can order and have delivered to your door the meat and buy supplements mix and freeze in containers. That way you know exactly what Boomer is eating.
Fritz is really sensitive to carbs so the only time he gets canned is when his numbers drop.
Oh my how our furbabies know we are their staff:p silly kitties but I am with you this no sleep schedule sucks:arghh:. I was up every hour till Fritz numbers started going up last night.
Hope you stay warm and enjoy your day indoors.:)
Surf safe Boomer:cat:
We might be able to feed Boomer raw as he always did like people food. But our civvie Allen wouldn't like it. sigh. If it's not one of them, it's the other. I've had to stay up with Boomer a few times when he was running low and I don't mind doing that at all.....but this need of his to get us up twice a night to add treats or stir his food must stop.
 
I second it on the raw feeding. After the FF alleged formula change and Bubba's last GI upset, I threw in the towel with canned food. I am actually saving on feeding raw from the price of the Nature's Variety I was buying after I switched from FF. I get the raw ground chicken and turkey at the local butcher ( no AB, no preservatives, no additives ) and I add the EZ Complete to each serving.

You might be surprised that Allen just might like it but be sure it is okay to give to him with his medical issue. I do know that the raw is more protein and the vet told me I needed to be mindful about that. But until there is an issue with it, I will continue.
 
I second it on the raw feeding. After the FF alleged formula change and Bubba's last GI upset, I threw in the towel with canned food. I am actually saving on feeding raw from the price of the Nature's Variety I was buying after I switched from FF. I get the raw ground chicken and turkey at the local butcher ( no AB, no preservatives, no additives ) and I add the EZ Complete to each serving.

You might be surprised that Allen just might like it but be sure it is okay to give to him with his medical issue. I do know that the raw is more protein and the vet told me I needed to be mindful about that. But until there is an issue with it, I will continue.
So do you feed it as it comes from the butcher just with the EZ Complete added? I think Boomer would eat it if it was cooked; not sure about raw. And that wouldn't be a big deal. I just don't know about Allen; he likes the consistency of the pate.
 
So do you feed it as it comes from the butcher just with the EZ Complete added? I think Boomer would eat it if it was cooked; not sure about raw. And that wouldn't be a big deal. I just don't know about Allen; he likes the consistency of the pate.
The raw has a pasty consistency and like I said, you might be surprised at Allen.

I buy it in 1 lb packages that are already frozen, and asked the butcher to cut them in half because between my two cats, they are eating a 1/2 lb of raw a day. I thaw in the refrigerator and at dinner time I take out another one out of the freezer and put in the fridge so that it's thawed by the next day. I measure out 1 oz portions ( I am feeding 6 times a day) and put them into a glass Pyrex rectangle dish with a lid and then add the EZcomplete and the supplements I give at each meal.
 
but this need of his to get us up twice a night to add treats or stir his food must stop
I think Boomer would eat it if it was cooked; not sure about raw. And that wouldn't be a big deal. I just don't know about Allen; he likes the consistency of the pate.
You can feed cooked then slowly try to introduce the raw. After they are weaned off onto the cooked you place a small amount at each feeding of raw at first they might turn their nose up to it but keep trying. Fritz loves raw rabbit, quail, turkey, venison and it's all good for him.
I buy Alnutrin Fritz refuses to eat the EZ complete.
 
You can feed cooked then slowly try to introduce the raw. After they are weaned off onto the cooked you place a small amount at each feeding of raw at first they might turn their nose up to it but keep trying. Fritz loves raw rabbit, quail, turkey, venison and it's all good for him.
I buy Alnutrin Fritz refuses to eat the EZ complete.
We've thought about it and are still thinking about it.
 
You can feed cooked then slowly try to introduce the raw. After they are weaned off onto the cooked you place a small amount at each feeding of raw at first they might turn their nose up to it but keep trying. Fritz loves raw rabbit, quail, turkey, venison and it's all good for him.
I buy Alnutrin Fritz refuses to eat the EZ complete.
I must be lucky, I took Bubba and Forrest from canned to raw with no hesitation. But, that said, they are both hunters and used to eating "raw prey" Send Boomer outside for a bit for "boot camp for raw feeding" LOL
 
I must be lucky, I took Bubba and Forrest from canned to raw with no hesitation. But, that said, they are both hunters and used to eating "raw prey" Send Boomer outside for a bit for "boot camp for raw feeding" LOL
Yes I know Bubba is used to being outside and eating mousies. Boomer hasn't been outside for 10 years (with the exception of a couple of times when he has "escaped").
 
Bummer on Purina, the syringes, etc. I hope you find easy solutions to your problems. I think I remember that in the old food chart Dr. Lisa remarked that the Purina numbers were not entirely accurate. But I can't find this info. in the new chart and it has replaced the old one.

Back to the lagoon with you, Deputy Boomer!
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hope all works out.
Adding to the raw feeding/home prepared discussion: after years of sporadic and unsuccessful efforts to transition to raw, I had the best results with EZC and I liked that it is made to also transition from cooked to raw, too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top