3/22 - Alphyne & Gryphen - possible dose increases

bobjoh

Member Since 2021
Hello All!

Just a general question, please!

Both girls are doing ok on their new doses (1.5U & .1U, respectively), and it's not time for any kind of adjustment, yet.

I will do a curve on 3/25, and determine a plan at that time. I just like to be prepared, so am asking in advance.

Based on the numbers I'm seeing at present, which are higher but not terrible, my girls may need increases (again, just hypothetical). Do I revert back to the last dosage they had, or possibly increase by a smaller increment? (I have started caliper doing for Gryphen, and can do the same for Alphyne.)

It seems counterintuitive to take them back to a dose from which they earned a reduction; but I am possibly overthinking!

Thanks so much!

(previous) https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-18-alphyne-pmps-153-1-151-6-71.244896/
 
Last edited:
Oh! Side note: I did read up on TR protocol for Gryphen, but she has to eat every few hours or she vomits. I accomplish that with dry food in an auto-feeder. Having 4 cats, and needing to sleep once in a while...I don't think TR will work for this household. :(
 
Hi - I'm always in awe when you post and are managing two diabetic kitties :cat::cat: On SLGS, both seem to be having the nadirs in the range from the dosing method sticky -

  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose

dry food in an auto-feeder
A lot of us feed wet food in an auto-feeder - what kind do you have? I have the PetSafe5 and the CatMateC500 (both similar to each other with a few differences). I just add a little extra water to the food to keep it from drying out.

Hope that helps some - feel free to keep you question up in case others want to stop by and chime in :)
 
SLGS, both seem to be having the nadirs in the range from the dosing method sticky -

  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose


A lot of us feed wet food in an auto-feeder - what kind do you have? I have the PetSafe5 and the CatMateC500 (both similar to each other with a few differences). I just add a little extra water to the food to keep it from drying out.

Hope that helps some - feel free to keep you question up in case others want to stop by and chime in :)

I'm hoping they stay in range, but they are prone to quick changes, so anything can happen! LOL! I have to try to think a few steps ahead. ;)

The auto-feeder in and of itself isn't the problem...it's the other cats. :( Feeding mostly wet now, the non-diabetics have turned in to little piggies, and I don't think Gryphen would get to the wet food before someone else got it first. I've tried the microchip feeders, but, of course, everyone hates them.

Thank you for responding!!:bighug:
 
Oh! Side note: I did read up on TR protocol for Gryphen, but she has to eat every few hours or she vomits. I accomplish that with dry food in an auto-feeder. Having 4 cats, and needing to sleep once in a while...I don't think TR will work for this household. :(
TR actually works better with frequent feeding small portions. We feed Chico at +2, +4 and +6. We try not to feed him after +6 because after +6 usually the insulin is wearing off so a any food would increase a bit the preshot value but if you need to feed after +6 as well, the rule says not to feed 2 hours before the preshot in order not to shoot a food bump (but that i believe is the same as for SLGS). You can leave wet food in an auto feeder as well, we intend to do that once we will have to go back to work.

It is your decision since you know best your situation, but the only thing that is different from what you do now would be to let Gryphen go a bit lower than 90 and still not to reduce the dose.

on a different note apparently you can still lower the dose from 0.1 to 1 drop :D here is a link where @PerfumedCatMom explained how to do it :)

Good luck with your decision and with the progress
 
Back
Top