3/21 Tugger PMPS +1 107, +2 110, +3 107, +4 90, +5 71, +6 89

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marvie and Tugger

Member Since 2009
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9700&p=96273#p96273

So, no shot last night. I guess Tugger wants to keep things interesting! He's way up there this morning though, is this normal after a no-shot night? I tested, then fed, then gave his shot while he was eating like we discussed yesterday. Not sure I'll do it while eating again, he got up and walked away as I was tenting his skin. Flicked his tail at me like he was getting grumpy and found a new plate to eat off of ;) I followed and finished but I think next time I'll just let him lay down for me.

AMPS 303
+1.5 227 (done because I realized the dose was a bit skinny because of air bubble problems)
+4 108
+5 79
+6 87
+9 79
+11 79

+12 83 (7:30 pm EST no shot given yet, waiting to see what is suggested)
PMPS 107 Shot given 4.5u fed dinner
+1 107
+2 110
+3 107
+4 90
+5 71
+6 89
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger AMPS 303

They do like to throw us curve balls, don't they? No surprise at this AM's number w/ out last nights shot, but things will settle down and Tugger will have pretty blue and green numbers again in no time. At least you're on the schedule you want now. I'm adjusting mine the other direction. I'll be really glad not to be getting up at 3:45am any more. Good luck today, looks like you'll need some spot checks but not close monitoring. An easy day.
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger AMPS 303

I'm happy that the schedule change worked out with this, I think it will be much easier on us now to follow the suggestions and advice about feeding etc.

What spot checks would you suggest? I was thinking +4, +6 (because his nadir yesterday seemed to show up between 4 and 6) and then something later in the cycle but wasn't sure if I should just do +11 or maybe pick +9 or +10.
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger AMPS 303, +4 108

Tugger is being a good boy today =) Not fussing about the ear pokes much, this last one I was in the wrong position I think. He does better if I work from behind his head and this time, due to where he chose to plop over I had to work from the front and he didn't seem much pleased to have me in his face.

The water dish is still not being used much, I'm changing it to keep it fresh and because BB likes to wash her feet in it (see explanation of her name in Oliver's condo today) but the level isn't changing much at all in between. I haven't been adding much water to the wet food, because I'm feeding on plates (which I tried due to a suggestion here somewhere) so the soupy stuff doesn't work so well.

Do y'all use normal plates/bowls, throw-away plates, or what? For those who don't use timed feeders that is. I tried paper, but I'm throwing an awful lot of them away every day because the juice soaks them. They're compostable at least, but umm... I don't have time or room to compost. I'm not really keen on having to wash and reuse plates 45 times a day either (ok, maybe a bit less often than that, but I tend to exaggerate sometimes ;-) ) because I'll admit I have a pretty strong Lazy gene. I will be SO glad when hubby is home to deal with the kitchen again. I've always hated that room (except that it does provide the coffee, it is good for that) Other than the coffee thing though, the room is just a recurring mess and I'd prefer to pretend it's not even there, at least till someone invents and gives me a self-cleaning kitchen.

So, does anyone have any tips on how I can minimize my interaction with dishes while feeding the monsters enough to keep them from eating my brains while I sleep? :lol:
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger AMPS 303, +4 108

Could you please get a +5? That's a sizable drop and I want to make sure that if Tugger is going for a dose reduction, you're not in panic mode if it happens.

I have 2 kitties. I use flat china bowls for feeding. There are 1" sides so food isn't pushed onto the floor. I just wash the bowls whenever I give meals or snacks.
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger AMPS 303, +4 108

Ya, I've always heard - come up from behind or flank the kitty for that ear poke, it does seem easier than coming right at them with the evil pokey tool :lol:

As for serving plates/bowls....I find it better to use real ones, besides the environment issue, you gotta do dishes anyway..I don't wash my bowls every time unless there's crusty leftover crumbs, other than that a hot water rinse should help.
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger AMPS 303, +4 108

OK, +5 will be in a half hour.

Looks like I should go hit the thrift shop and see if I can find some cheap flatish plates to use then =) They do seem to prefer plates to the bowls we've always tried to use (how awful if they refused for years simply because of dish choice!) I think later I might experiment and put half on plates and half in bowls and see if there is an actual preference or if it's just my imagination.
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger AMPS 303, +4 108, +5 79

I have to do Checkers ears from behind, also. He doesn't care for my hand in his face. He doen't even know I'm poking him most of the time. I often do it while he's sleeping and he opens one eye.

Marvie, I use 'china' saucers bought at a thrift store, for a dime apiece. If a plate is licked clean, I too, just give it a rinse with hot water. Most times I pick 'em up, scrape 'em, and dump them in a dishpan of water, just so they don't get dried yuck on them. Then they are easy to wash all at once.
I'm another one who would never step foot in the kitchen if I didn't have to.
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger AMPS 303, +4 108, +5 79

I love a good excuse to go thrift store hopping :RAHCAT The more plates I have, the less often I have to wash 'em right? ;-)
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger AMPS 303, +4 108, +5 79, +6 87, +9 79

Tugger seems to like to keep me on my toes. He's at 79 at +9.5 I fed them a snack after his test because everyone was going nuts, I'll pick it up in a few minutes so Tugger can't eat 2 hours pre-shot but there was no way they were going to let the hunger ride till shot time. I couldn't even pee when I got home from the thrift shop without three kitties yelling at me about the lack of food on the plates lol. I do have lots of little plates for their feedings now though, and a few other things I probably should have passed on but I didn't ;)

Anyone have any thoughts on how Tugger is doing and what the next step should be? I'm afraid we're heading for another night of low pre-shot numbers and I'd like to be ready if we have the same issue as last night.
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger AMPS 303, +4 108, +5 79

I like that attitude. Saucers seem to work well, always a lot of those available in thrift stores. Sort of halfway between plate and bowl. I've heard lots of cats hate getting their whiskers into the food. Tess hates it when the food gets mashed down, her attendant must push it back down and add a little more water. :roll:

Testing from behind always works better for Tess. Cats tend to back away when you get in their face. I sit w/legs out and she settles down between them.
...........................
Well, you're getting a lot of experience in really quickly. Wait for the experts, they'll be along soon.
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger AMPS 303, +4 108, +5 79, +6 87, +9 79

I forgot that I was going to experiment when I put the food out this time, so I will try it later after Tug's shot. I've got to wash up the ones I bought anyway, and I want to set up an area of the counter for all of the supplies, I got a little basket to keep all of his testing supplies together cuz I got tired of trying to carry it all in my hands every time. I figure the easier it is for the boy and hubby, the more likely they will be to do as told ;)
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger AMPS 303, +4 108, +5 79, +6 87, +9 79

looks great! Now we wait, keep doing what you're doing until Tugger gives us a signal that he is ready for a dose reduction (the "signal" is that he'll go below 50). The fact that he has such good numbers after a skipped shot probably means that this will be happening soon, so be sure you keep spot checking when you can.
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger AMPS 303, +4 108, +5 79, +6 87, +9 79, +11 79

So then, does he have to dip under 50 with his shot in his system, or do I let it ride till it dips then give a lowered dose? Cuz if I have to give the shot and then watch him closely all night... I need ~O) lots and lots of coffee. Which means I need to run to the store for half and half. And chocolate.
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger AMPS 303, +4 108, +5 79, +6 87, +9 79, +11 79

I'm thinking about your dose tonight. Coffee and chocolate would be good to have around, because even if we reduce he'll still have some of the 4.5 unit shed in his system. Sometimes the first shot of a new dose carries a punch from the old one.
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger AMPS 303, +4 108, +5 79, +6 87, +9 79, +11 79

I'm certainly getting a crash course, Tugger seems to be in a hurry now that he's finally got me paying attention. I'm so tickled that he's responding so well to the wet food. I told a good friend of mine about it, she's been watching our ride with Tugger because she's got three cats of her own and one of them shares Tugger's bladder troubles already. Seeing how much the canned food has helped him in so short of a time, she went home last night and told her husband they were switching to canned! Three kitties converted ;)
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger PMPS 83

I think he wants his shot... he's flopped over on the rug in the kitchen where we generally do it and every time I walk past him he slaps my leg and meows (his whisper meow) at me. Then he gets really upset when I leave the room. Funny boy =)
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger PMPS 83

LOL! Good boy!

Four choices:

1. Shoot the full dose and monitor (starting with +1 and +2). This will give us the best idea of whether Tugger needs a dose reduction or not. I think he probably does, so he might drop low. Be prepared to test and be prepared with HC food.

2. if you have room in your schedule and don't want to shoot yet, you can stall until this comes up to a number you’re comfortable shooting. Don’t feed, test every 15-30 minutes until you get a clear rise. Your next shot will be due 12 hours after this one. You still need to be able to test, because there still could be some action behind this dose, even if you stall.

3. Shoot a reduced dose on time. This keeps your schedule. You do have to watch out for the shed, but it won’t be as much as if you shot full dose.

4. Skip the shot.

What do you think?
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger PMPS 83

I think we go with option one. I've got HC Food, just went and got more with my list in hand to be sure of carb content. I have honey and other simple sugars on hand. I have coffee, chocolate and a backlog on Tivo... I think I'm ready.
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger PMPS 83

I tested again before I shot, timing was almost +13 from AM shot so on the ss I stuck it in with the pmps at +12.75 (should I include it in the subject line?) making our schedule 8:15 instead of 7:30 but that is juuuuust fine.

Going to make coffee now =)
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger PMPS 107, +1 107

He did eat dinner, and was grazing again just now.

I'm ready if it is a busy night =) I have my coffee and my knitting and lots of tivo'd shows to watch. Boomer is curled up beside me in the recliner, I have an alarm clock beside me which I will set as soon as I start feeling the least bit sleepy. I have the foods I bought tonight on the counter with the plates I bought today. I wrote the carb %'s on the top of the cans so I won't have to think very hard. I have the testing supplies in a basket and it is working perfectly. Is there anything else I should do, prepare or consider?
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger PMPS 107, +1 107, +2 110

110 now. grazing again. Do I leave the food out and let him eat when he wants or should I pick it up in case I need him to eat later? There's about half of what I put out at dinner left right now. Other kitties are still going back to graze once in a while too so it probably won't last terribly long.
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger PMPS 107, +1 107, +2 110

you win the prize for "Most Prepared Newbie." (probably because you're not really a newbie, but your new to posting here so that counts). :mrgreen:

What I usually did was to leave the food out so if they want to graze, that's fine. If you really need to feed later, then you can open a fresh can or hand deliver it or something, so he'll think he's getting something nice. And if you need to use gravy later, he'll probably eat that even if he's not hungry because he'll be so excited to have it!
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger PMPS 107, +1 107, +2 110

You are incredibly well prepared. Wow.

Tugger is surfing. There's a good chance if there's going to be some excitement, it's going to start soon -- +3 or +4. I tend to feed a snack about every 2 hrs. I don't think it can hurt if you limit food for now in case you need Tugger to be a little hungry.
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger PMPS 107, +1 107, +2 110

True, come to think of it, I don't think I've ever seen him turn away food. Except bean food, won't touch it.

I tend to be a preparer... enough to annoy other people sometimes ;) but it works for me. I'd rather be prepared and have nothing happen, than not be prepared and have everything fall apart. Silly as it sounds, or maybe not, it's soothing to know that I am ready for whatever may come along. I look over there at the cabinet where I have everything organized and it feels good. I also know that if I fall asleep I will be brain dead when I get up to test and if I have to feed something I would just wind up standing there for 5 minutes staring blankly trying to figure out which darn food was for what purpose. So I made myself idiot-proof signs ;-)

Let's just hope he goes low enough for a decrease, but not low enough to panic mommy!
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger PMPS 107, +1 107, +2 110, +3 107

Do you think the fact that he ate in between each of those checks is keeping him level? I found him for the last one in the bedroom, so he's trying to go to sleep now. Is it safe for me to sleep or should I check him again at +4 and then decide? (only about 40 minutes from now) If he does like he did earlier today I think I could go to bed if I leave wet food out to get him through the night. I've already set my bedroom alarm for +6 so I can be sure to get at least that check. I have one more alarm on that clock that I can set plus other clocks that can be put in there if need be ;) It's a school night, so the boy will be up for school which usually wakes me up so I should be able to test at +9 or +10 and beyond. OR I can just stay up and sleep tomorrow.
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger PMPS 107, +1 107, +2 110, +3 107

if you get a +3.5 and he's still surfing, then you can feed again and go to sleep (a +6 wouldn't hurt if you can do it).
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger PMPS 107, +1 107, +2 110, +3 107

We're ten minutes out from +4 right now, so I'll get that, see where we are and hope for sleep. The coffee did no good lol. I can get a +6, no problem.
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger PMPS 107, +1 107, +2 110, +3 107, +4 90

90 @ +4

There is still food out but Tugger is sleepy at the moment. It's a couple of hours past our bedtime and he's getting irritated about it lol. I think I will turn off the light and nap in the chair for an hour and check him again.
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger PMPS 107, +1 107, +2 110, +3 107, +4 90

I think you're fine waiting til +6 if that's better for you. I'm going to bed now too, but you'll be fine, you're prepared for anything. :smile:
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger PMPS 107, +1 107, +2 110, +3 107, +4 90

I saw your note in Tess/Ann's condo about the FF appetizers. They are low carb given that they are only meat and broth. However, they are not a complete meal. They don't contain all of the nutrients necessary for a balanced diet. So they are good for treats or as an inducement to get a cat to eat but you can't feed them for a full meal on a regular basis.
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger PMPS 107, +1 107, +2 110, +3 107, +4 90, +5 71

Marvie:

I'm going to be signing off the board shortly. I think you are good to go with testing and feeding. If Tugger drops below 50, feed MC (LC with a little HC/gravy = MC). If in the unlikely circumstance, numbers are below 40, feed straight HC. In either case, re-test in 20 to 30 min. Repeat the process (we refer to this as lather, rinse, repeat). Once numbers are stable or rising for 2 tests, you can get a test in an hour.
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger PMPS 107, +1 107, +2 110, +3 107, +4 90, +5 71

Sienne, thank you!

Tugger is at 89 at +6 I guess he's done teasing me now. We'll see how things are when the boy gets us up, I'm tired and it doesn't look like he's going down any more. Gonna get a few hours all at once...
 
Re: 3/21 Tugger PMPS 107, +1 107, +2 110, +3 107, +4 90, +5 71

Marvie , I'll be up for another hour or so if you need a little hand holding. He's looking really good though, you've done a great job tonight.

Boy, it must be really late for you. I-)
 
It's 230am here and I am tired as heck =) We're now about 3-4 hours past our usual bedtime. Tugger is grumpy about having his sleep disturbed so often. Do you think with these numbers we can just go to bed for a few hours? There's food out till 530am when the boy will remove it, since he's climbing already I presume he's not going to go way low tonight. I doubt we'd even see 60's, personally. But what do I know lol.
 
Up to 99 now, 45 mins from last test. He might go low again once the food has been withheld later but for now I do think it's safe to sleep for a couple of hours.
 
Looks good for bed to me, he's had 2 good rises and is past the halfway point. Leave food out and enjoy your sleep while you can. Just did Tess's last test, +7~90 so to bed for me too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top