3/21 Spot - AMPS 61/ +2 154/ +4 169/ +8 204/ PMPS 253

SpotsMom

Member Since 2018
It’s been a few months since I’ve posted and we’ve been slowly working our way up the dosing scale. He got his first 4u dose yesterday morning, then last night he threw me a green :D then a lime green :eek: This morning he was still at 61, so I decided to play it safe and gave him half his dose.

Spot is not new to diabetes but he is new to these kinds of numbers on Lantus so of course I’m being overly cautious. Did he earn a reduction last night, or should I stick with 4u? 3.75u got him to ok numbers but not green so not perfect.... should I try a hair under 4u..?

ETA: he gets his evening shot in a little less than an hour (8:30pm eastern time)
 
Congrats on handling the lime green.:eek::D Naturally it’d be the middle of the night. :rolleyes: Long term diabetics, over one year since diagnosis, earn a reduction onnTR by going under 40. Close but not quite. Hopefully he’ll start seeing some more green on this dose.

One comment if I may, you have been holding doses too long. With TR, you evaluate the dose every six cycles. With only blues, you can go up every 6-10 cycles, quicker if just high blues. The downside of not increasing sooner is developing glucose toxicity. Hopefully now that you have seenngreen, you can get over that.
 
Hi there! Good to see you and Spot. Because Spot is a long term diabetic, he did not earn a reduction last night unless he fell under 40. But how wonderful to see those green numbers

I get that those numbers unnerved you but in retrospect you can see that you could have shot the full dose as he bounced from being in lower numbers than use to. Looks like this dose is getting him closer to earning a reduction.
 
Last edited:
Seems we have a consensus! I’ll stick with 4u tonight and hope for more dark green.
I realize now I could have gone with the full dose this morning but shooting the full dose on a green was a little terrifying haha.

Thanks for the advice :)
 
One comment if I may, you have been holding doses too long. With TR, you evaluate the dose every six cycles. With only blues, you can go up every 6-10 cycles, quicker if just high blues. The downside of not increasing sooner is developing glucose toxicity. Hopefully now that you have seenngreen, you can get over that.

I realize I’m going slower than TR protocol.. I should probably change my signature to say modified TR. I’m walking a fine line between what the experienced people here tell me and a vet who cares a lot and checks my spreadsheet regularly. She wanted me to hold for a week so I made the choice to hold for 5 days as a compromise... I know it’s not ideal...
 
Seems we have a consensus! I’ll stick with 4u tonight and hope for more dark green.
I realize now I could have gone with the full dose this morning but shooting the full dose on a green was a little terrifying haha.

Thanks for the advice :)
I get it! Remember you can always ask for advice before deciding what to do. There is almost always someone around to help. If you did shoot the full dose you would have had someone help you through the cycle if needed.
 
Back
Top