3/21 Shadoe pmps 200 Lantus to Lev tonite 5u

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Very Active Member
Yesterday’s Condo

Yesterday's recap (from pm shot):
308 - pmps (10uL)
157 - +2
86 - +4
65 - +6
68 - +12
61 - +13 - fed 1can ff grilled chicken feast (18%)

OK can someone please toss me a couple clues here? Shadoe's always been a flat surfer, so it's a safe bet she just meandered through the greens on the 2nd half of the cycle.

There is no way I want to shoot this ps number, so how does one handle delays? At what point do you say NO SHOT and just test for records, then go with the next shot?

At Shadoe's normal am shot time, 6am, she got her A/B squirt of 1ml antirobe mixed with 1ml tuna water. Chilled of course :cool:

Shadoe and big Ollie ganged up on me and both tested low this morn; I think they planned it to freak me out.

I'll keep testing her to see what she is doing.
 
Re: 3/21 Shadoe amps 68 +1~61 NO SHOT YET!

I am not sure how to advise but I hope that someone will come along who can - in the meantime I can bump your condo - can anyone help here??
 
Re: 3/21 Shadoe amps 68 +1~61 NO SHOT YET!

I had that happen last night. Tugger's numbers were lower than I've ever seen them pre-shot. Not as low as your girl's numbers though. Hopefully someone will pop in to advise you. Because my situation (record keeping) was so sucky until recently, I was advised to wait a while, then to just skip because I needed to move his shot time forward anyway. I don't know anything yet so can't help but I can bump you to the top though =)
 
Re: 3/21 Shadoe amps 68 +1~61 NO SHOT YET!

by the way - are u home this week coming up? Im thinking about your schedule too, having to get back on schedule if you shoot late.

no advice here, other than you have to do what is comfortable to you and safe for Shadoe - trust your instincts.
 
Re: 3/21 Shadoe amps 68 +13~61 +14~155 +14.5~137 no shot yet!

Ronnie,
My schedule at work is pretty flexible since I am able to work remotely, but Mondays I need to go in as equipment is updated each weekend. I'd have to call someone to turn my set on, so I just go in and do for myself. The other option is to take another vacation day which would make my boss very happy since I never take my days off.

So, Shadoe is doing who knows what - when her +14 was 155, I had hoped she was on her way up and I could shoot. Nope, +14.5 is down to 137 so she is surfing the blues.
Hey, maybe she is a SID kitty haha_smiley

I am wondering if this 10u dose is too high and if I went with maybe 7u, she would balance out the am and pm cycles. Thoughts anyone?

Shadoe's asleep on a pillow on the back of the sofa in front of the living room window
Big Ollie is asleep under the cabinet with Shadoe's empty food dish in front of him.
Booboo is chewing some glue off the back of the sticky labels that were on Ollie's new LB.
I am getting a headache and need some breakfast, time allowing.
 
Re: 3/21 Shadoe amps 68 +13~61 +14~155 +14.5~137 no shot yet!

Hi Gayle,
I wish I knew what to tell you. One thing I do know, is that you are very solid and wise in your decisions. I think whatever you DO decide will work out fine.

Glad things are going well with the new addition.

Its going to be like having a bunch of little kids around...keeping you busy and on your toes!

Are you getting ANY sleep?!
 
Re: 3/21 Shadoe amps 68 +14.5~137 no shot again this am

Carolynn,
Sleep is for the weak :cool: I'll sleep later. I am off to the gym in less than an hour, so I will sleep very well indeed later.

Alrighty we are going with NO SHOT for this AM and then a reduced dose, lower than 10u for the pm. How much, I have no idea, but depending on Shadoe's pmps, we will give her something lower and add TOR as required.

I am not sure I see the value of frequent tests for Shadoe this morn since we will be changing it up majorly tonite.
Oh yeah, and to toss in another kink to the mix, I have no more Lantus for her and will be switching her over to Lev tonite, unless I borrow some of Oliver's Lantus for her shot tonite. I don't see the point in delaying the switch since the Lev is in the frig waiting to be popped open and used.

Shadoe is currently stretched out on a pillow along the back of the sofa, purring and preening. She's still not pleased with the bald spot on her front leg from the dental activity, then her ears are in need of a major clean after all my annoying pokes :lol:

This evening should be very interesting indeed!
 
Re: 3/21 Shadoe amps 68 +13~61 +14~155 +14.5~137 no shot yet!

It's looking like the tumor is going into an inactive phase. From what I've read in other condos, this is a time where you will need to make big reductions in dose since you want to be surfing blue (vs. green - I know you know this -- I'm saying it for the newbies who are reading and don't know that Shadoe is an acro-kitty). Skipping the shot may be the quickest way to get that big shed emptied a bit. Remember if Shadoe's dose creeps up after nadir, you can always use a TOR to manage the numbers.
 
Re: 3/21 Shadoe amps 68 +13~61 +14~155 +14.5~137 no shot yet!

wow, WTG Shadoe!

I agree with the dosecrease. 7 sounds good, can always R if it doesn't work.
 
Re: 3/21 Shadoe amps 68 +13~61 +14~155 +14.5~137 no shot yet!

Hi Gayle,

I think you made a good decision to skip shot this morning. FWIW, I would have shot the 10 u last night as well, for the exact same reason you did. However, it's obviously still too much, so I do think you should lower some more. You might try the 7u or even 5u and then work your way up by 1 u every 2-3 days (if necessary). Protocol doesn't apply to a "changing" acro and each acro is VERY different (which means you can get all the opinions you want, but ultimately, the decision is your best guess...sucks, huh?). Boo didn't have big reductions after we zapped her tumor...however, she had very fast reductions.
 
Re: 3/21 Shadoe amps 68 +13~61 +14~155 +14.5~137 no shot yet!

Wow. Looks Shadoe has decided that Ollie is not allowed to steal all of her spotlight!
 
Re: 3/21 Shadoe amps 68 +13~61 +14~155 +14.5~137 no shot yet!

Before I decide on her shot tonite, I need to know about switching from Lantus to Lev because that's what I am doing tonite!

Shadoe is all out of Lantus or rather I am thinking there is not enough in the cart for one of Shadoe's doses, plus I want to make the switch before heading to work tomorrow morn.

Now, Ollie is on Lantus, but I did not want to rob bits of his Lantus pen for Shadoe. I have the Lev and intend to switch Shadoe over so I may as well do it today.
The units are one for one, yes? So, if I decide to go with 5, I would give 5u Lev?

At noon, her +6 or +18 I think, Shadoe is still blue at 112. If she does not come up, maybe there will be no shot tonite either!

Serious question: what blue is too low to shoot? The vet said if she is under 200, don't shoot, but she doesn't know much about FD so I am not inclined to put much weight in her advice.

Amy, you may be right, she is trying to upstage Ollie's arrival. The little princess does not want to lose all her attention.

I'll test her again at +9 or+21 to see what she's doing.
 
Re: 3/21 Shadoe +18~112 Lantus to Lev tonite 1-to-1 units OK?

What a crazy past couple of days for you two :smile:!

Oreo is on Clinda also, I just put it in her food, mix it around a bit and she gobbles it right up :mrgreen:

I'll keep an eye on the answer to Lantus to Lev 1-1...I got my Lev yesterday and will have the same question (I still have one last unopened cart of Lantus).

Nice blue thurf for Shadoe today!! Wonder where that picture of BK's shed is... :lol: His was the size of lake Michigan when he was battling the IAA's!
 
Re: 3/21 Shadoe +18~112 Lantus to Lev tonite 1-to-1 units OK?

I believe the dose is 1-to-1 on Lev (especially since you'll be shooting another reduction tonight).

No blue is too low to shoot if you know what Shadoe is doing...there were times that I shot a full dose on a high green and could actually go to work w/o having a heart-attack. Unfortunately, you don't know what she's doing right now. So, there's really no answer to your question...I know that's so NOT what you want to hear. Just see where she is tonight and make the decision at that time.
 
Re: 3/21 Shadoe +18~112 Lantus to Lev tonite 1-to-1 units OK?

Hi Gayle
Popping by to see how all is going on with the 3 kitties.
So much excitement and of all weekends for Shadoe to throw these numbers at you.
For the Lev-Lantus, I am no expert but when I was thinking of switching (when Max was at 6u)
Carolyn siad at these doses 1:1 should be fine.

Now the fun part will be how she is doing coming closer to shot time.
Hope the workout at the gym went well to tackle the gang at home.
 
Re: 3/21 Shadoe +18~112 Lantus to Lev tonite 1-to-1 units OK?

Just came by to catch up on the excitement! You are doing such a great job Gayle!
Welcome to the world of Levemir..hope it all works out great!!
 
Re: 3/21 Shadoe +18~112 Lantus to Lev tonite 1-to-1 units OK?

Back when Shadoe got her IGF-1 results back positive, I was advised that now I was aiming to stay blue and not green, as opposed to regular FD kitty aiming for green.

And that's the reason for my question. At the back of my mind, I think aim for blue, aim for blue, then all of a sudden, I AM blue! Now what? Shadoe doesn't seem to do much bouncing, so if I shoot a number too low for her, and HC doesn't seem to have much effect on her, how would I bring her up if I shoot and she goes really green?

Mind you, the crazy Shadoe has decided to stick green on no shot, so who knows with her anymore! We'll see what mz, crazy cat has decided to do for +21 in about 15min.
 
Re: 3/21 Shadoe +18~112 Lantus to Lev tonite 1-to-1 units OK?

hi gayle. so the switch to lev is on for tonight... how exciting!
*usually* jojo and i have recommended those switching from lantus to lev begin with an initial starting dose a little bit lower than their last lantus dose because we have seen kitties require less lev than lantus. imo, the suggestions to start with 5 or 7 units sounds reasonable given the data. you can always increase quickly if adjustments are needed... and let's not forget about that handy-dandy vial of R sitting in the fridge. :-D
good luck with lev!
 
Re: 3/21 Shadoe +18~112 Lantus to Lev tonite 1-to-1 units OK?

At this point, since Shadoe was yellow at +9 and may be pink or close to it at pmps, I'll combine all the advice and go with 5u Lev, with R close by if needed.

It's going to be really weird giving 1/3 of her dose from last week, and there won't be so much that I will feel the need to shoot 1/2 on either side of the scruff.

Weird but a relief.

I'll post before shooting.
 
Re: 3/21 Shadoe +18~112 Lantus to Lev tonite 1-to-1 units OK?

Gayle and Shadoe said:
At this point, since Shadoe was yellow at +9 and may be pink or close to it at pmps, I'll combine all the advice and go with 5u Lev, with R close by if needed.
It's going to be really weird giving 1/3 of her dose from last week, and there won't be so much that I will feel the need to shoot 1/2 on either side of the scruff.
Weird but a relief.

I'll post before shooting.

Good luck with the dose tonight and you know, wierd is wierd. Ya just never know when it will happen.
You know what I had with Max. 4u 10 days ago and now .5 so you go with the flow
and shoot what she needs.
Shadoe is leading the dance and you are only in for the ride. :-D
 
Switch is finally done; Lantus to Lev.

I picked the lower dose and we'll work our way up if it's needed.

The A/B with the tuna water did not go down as easily as this morn or last nite; there was a wee bit of the hairball kind of gag, but it all stayed down.

Otherwise, all is OK in ShadoeLand
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top