3/21: Sammy - AMPS 83; +5 63; PMPS 117; +2 58

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Another great day for Sammy yesterday! After the Duck incident from Thursday, I was glad to see another totally GREEN day. Sammy even earned a reduction last night. He barely got into the 40's, but I took the reduction anyway. I did this because his numbers have been phenomenal lately and I figure 10 cycles on the .75 dose was enough, considering he never went above 120 the entire time, even with the Duck incident. I even think it is entirely possible that he went below 50 the night before as well because he had a similar number at +5 but I didn't get a reading at +6 Thursday night, and he was only at 59 at +9 so it is very likely.

I probably carbed him up a bit more than I really needed to last night. I gave him one type of HC food and he only ate a tiny bit, and then I gave him another kind. the main reason was I had not planned on getting another test at +7, but then I woke up around that time and decided to go ahead and get a reading anyway.

Sammy has not eaten his +9 snack, AM or PM cycle for the last couple of day. I don't know if he is just not hungry because I have been giving him a bit more food earlier in the cycle.

Fluids are due again tonight, and I might just provide a bit more 8-10% carb food with the rest of the varieties because I don't want him to go below 50 again tonight. My goal is to try to get him to hold the 0.50 dose for at lease 4-6 cycles.

Hope everyone is enjoying your Saturday.
 
I was caught a bit off guard when Sammy gave me a 117 for PMPS. My first thought was that his pancreas just needed to adjust to the lower dose, or it could have been the treats that I gave him within an hour of PMPS. The treats were freeze dried and I didn't think they had carbs, but maybe they did, Orijen Alberta Wild Boar. Anyway, I don't know if it is the fluids or just his pancreas taking control, but already at +2 he has dropped to half the PMPS. That is a little scary since I don't know if he will continue to trop. I will test again in 30-60 minute, but he did just have a MM at +2 so I would expect a surf rather than a drop in the next 30 minutes. I might have to carb him up tonight, but that is okay because then I can possibly get a full nights sleep without having to get up several times. Although I am doubtful that he will get up to eat on his own if I don't stimulate him to do so.
 
Hi Tina,
They always like to confound you just when you think you know what you're doing! Sammy is a :cat:, you know! I guess you'll have to keep a close eye on him this evening. He is looking great!:D:D

Enjoy the rest of the weekend,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top