3/21 Rusty PMPS 95, +4.5 188

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=91389

Good Morning, Everyone,

It's a beautiful WINTER day: sparkling sunlight on new snow.

Rusty is way up on the beach again this morning. The dosecrease seems to be causing major bounces and dives in a kitty who used to have beautiful shallow curves. This is the 6th cycle on the present dose of fat 1.5 units. Results have been less than stellar. I'm afraid that if I add another drop to his dose he will just keep on diving and then bouncing. Every time he looks like he might be getting stabilized (see his SS for 17 March, for example), he loses it! We started a new pen yesterday. I would suspect the Allerplex, except that his fall from regulation began weeks before we started Allerplex and was probably a result of his vetty visit for tests and the trip to NYC that followed. In any event, the Allerplex is really helping his breathing and if it is the culprit, I would certainly raise his dose to compensate. Nothing else has changed in his routine. Experienced eyes on Rusty's SS would be greatly appreciated.

Rusty had a good night, finished his nighttime food, had a good test this morning, a good shot, breakfast, a schmooze, his "lung treat" (Allerplex), more breakfast, and a nap in his little bed by the radiator. The beans are about to head out to the post office.

Wishing you all a good day,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288; eyes please

Hi guys .. well no dosing advice from me but it sure is nice to hear that rusty is having a good day despite the bounces .. hopefully numbers calm down again and we see those nice blues and greens consistently! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288; eyes please

I might hold the dose a bit longer than 6 cycles. Some kitties require longer to stabilize at any given dose.
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288; eyes please

With Trix, I did finally figure out that she does require a lot longer than even 5 days/10 cycles to really settle in to a dose. The patience pants took an extra hard beating, but they did pay off. (Of course now we've got new issues, since we've had to change her diet to a lower phosphorous fuds, though :roll: )

Glad to hear all is well with Rusty despite the bouncies. Have a great day, Ella!
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288; eyes please

Morning Ella & Rusty! I agree that holding the dose change for at least 6 cycles is a good idea. Yesterday he dropped quite a bit from 288 to 104 and with large drops, bouncing usually happens. So, it's not only how low they go but how far and how fast they drop. At least with Shadow that seems to be the case....

When was his last dental?
Hope his numbers come down for you soon! Sending hugs! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288; eyes please

Well, that sunny yellow is so NOT Rusty. He has had several things going on lately, so it may just take a little time. I don't have any dosing advice, just encouragement for Mr Rusty. It sure seems to take Zener longer to stabilize on a dose than 6 cycles anymore. I wonder if that is the case in kitties who are longer term diabetic.
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288; eyes please

Just saying HELLO! And sending stability vines for Rusty! Hope he settles into this dose and you can feel better about his BG! Happy Fursday, Ella!
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288; eyes please

Ella

I agree with holding the dose a little longer to see if he can flatten out on his own.

If he doesn't, I'd increase the dose. I've had Gracie dive/bounce on a dose and I held the dose and when she didn't stop the pattern, I tried both decreasing and increasing. I was certain decreasing would work and it did flatten her out but in high yellow and I had to take the dose up anyway. The next time she started the diving/bouncing, I again gave her some time to settle and when she didn't, I increased...worked like a charm...she stopped diving and her numbers came down.

ECID and Rusty might react differently. But if he doesn't flatten out with a little more time at this dose, I'd increase. IMHO.

I think you are right...if something is working for them but raising the BG, you can always raise the dose to account for it.m perhaps as he stabilizes on the Allerplex and his breathing really improves, his dose can come back down.
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288, +5.5 160

Hi again,

Many thanks to everyone who responded to my question of whether/when to increase Rusty's dose. I am going to hold his dose for a few more cycles and see what happens. This morning he came down more gradually than yesterday. Hopefully he'll continue to come down (his nadir is typically somewhere between +7 and +9). In any event, he had a nice morning soaking up sunshine on his perch above the radiator. He enjoyed lunch, and is now sleeping in his cube under the piano (his "after-lunch" spot).

Off to take Edward to his chiropractor. bbl,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288, +5.5 160

Ella:

I just looked up Allerplex. The "other" ingredients:g elatin, calcium lactate, magnesium citrate, potassium bicarbonate, water, calcium stearate, ascorbic acid, colors, arabic gum, starch, sucrose (beets), and vitamin A palmitate
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288, +5.5 160

Hi Ella, we've been seeing some wonky numbers since K has been on the Allerplex, and to be honest, I'm not sure it's helping given the asthma attack yesterday. We are seeing 180s and 190s, numbers we haven't seen since before regulation. I'm thinking about running an experiment and ditching the Allerplex for a couple of cycles to see if it helps bring him down. I will keep you posted!
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288, +5.5 160

Hi Ella

Obviously, I don't give dosing advice. :roll: I just came to say "hello", and glad to see Rusty coming down.

I see Sienne found something important. Wonderful, that you can consider that now.

Hope you enjoyed your day out. It's sunny here, hope you have the same. :smile:
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288, +5.5 160

Ah, that's a nice slide for Rusty!
 

Attachments

  • CatsBaseball.jpg
    CatsBaseball.jpg
    21.5 KB · Views: 651
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288, +5.5 160

Nice Rusty! I hope you figure it out. I know what you mean about raising the dose. T is a bouncy kitty too when I increase. Great news about his breathing. I agree that is the Allerplex is the culprit you would gladly raise the dose. We deal with that with T on prednisolone. Have a wonderful day!!
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288, +5.5 160

Hi Ella ~O) ~O) ~O)

Well,c an;t add to much to the AllerpLex issue, but it seems to be affecting others BG's. I kinda like Courtney's idea of going without for a bit and see if it makes a difference, Of course then he doesn't have his meds,.... so which way to go.

No dosing advice here, though I do know with Mannie it takes much longer than six cycles for him to settle... good luck with your decision, but if it were me I'd wait some, then decide. Good luck!

In the meantime: nice recovery with that +5.5 Rusty!

Have a great day Ella!
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288, +5.5 160, +9 100

Hi Ella, just catching up on Rusty. I think he's in the Lagoon, with meter variance. Now Maggie has left. Good luck on the dose. I'm glad Rusty had a nice day.
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288, +5.5 160, +9 100

Toes definitely in the Lagoon! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Tess often takes 5 or 6 days to d=stabilize a new dose too. Rusty isn't like a newly dx kitty where it pays to be more aggressive w/ the dosecreases.n

It sounds like you are back in the Winter Wonderland, drive carefully.

Russ! I make it back too, come on you are sooooooooo close! Grab my paw and I pulls you in! -- Tess
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288, +5.5 160, +9 100

Hi again, and thanks for all your comments.

Sienne, I knew about those two ingredients, but they are pretty far down on the list of ingredients so I'm not inclined to worry about them (too much). Also, Rusty's bg numbers were not good in the 3 weeks or so before we began Allerplex (vet stress and trip stress). His breathing sounds so much better since starting Allerplex and his hairball-like hacking cough has almost disappeared, so I will stick with Allerplex for the time being even if I have to raise his dose. Rusty has been diabetic at least since November of 2008, so I do not see him as a candidate for OTJ. I just want his numbers to stay in the good, healing range.
It is interesting to note that two of the principal ingredients of Allerplex-- fenugreek and tillandsia usneoides -- are supposed to lower blood glucose.

Courtney, It will be interesting to see if Kismet's numbers go down if he is not taking Allerplex for a few days. His asthma attack seems to have been triggered by an extraordinary change in the climate of your home (when the a/c broke and the heat and humidity poured into the room). I see Allerplex as something that helps the body cope, not as an absolute panacea. I also see it as having a cumulative effect: building and strengthening the body. Kismet had only been taking it for a week before the air-conditioning incident. Anyway, I will be following your condo closely.

Rusty is having a nice slide today. It will be interesting to see where he is at PMPS.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288, +5.5 160, +9 100

Hi Ella. Looks like Rusty is at the Lagoon's edge. Fingers crossed that he sneaks down and dips his paw in.

Have a great evening.
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288, +5.5 160, +9 100

I hope Rusty stops the bouncing soon. I don't blame you for not wanting to stop the Allerplex since it is helping so much.
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288, +5.5 160, +9 100, PMPS 95

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: A green PMPS!!! First one in quite a while! The Lagoon Meister is in the lagoon :-D :-D

Thanks again to you all for your valuable input and your support.

Off to visit condos,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288, +5.5 160, +9 100, PMPS 95

Hi Ella!!
This looks like the Rusty we all know and love! I hope this streak continues on and on. yay for Rusty!!
got everything crossed.
xoxo mary and ollie
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288, +5.5 160, +9 100, PMPS 95

WOOT WOOT!! Three cheers for the LagoonMeister. So glad he is back in residence. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/21 Rusty AMPS 288, +5.5 160, +9 100, PMPS 95

Congratulations!!!! It great to see Rusty make it to the Lagoon where he belongs. Keep surfing Rusty.

Your greenhouse extension to your garage sounds real nice. No worry about deer here and the ones that are in the area barely weigh 100 pounds so if they do get inside the fence I'll just get PurrFace to scare them off.

Have a great evening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top