? 3/21 Roxy AMPS 67; +4 34; +4.3 40; +5 86

Roxy & Deb

Member Since 2021
Hi peeps

I've been very quiet lately; we got rather mentally burned out with all the constant testing and obsessing about it and so after speaking with my very supportive vet have been testing just twice a day until her numbers improved enough to warrant a change. I really looked at her diet around 3 weeks ago and have reduced the amount she was eating down to 1/5 70g can every 4 hours when she is awake and consequently after around 10 days her numbers started to really come down. She is now on 0.4 of a unit but then this morning her number was 67 (3.9). I tested her at +4 and she was in the bright green band so have just done the usual gravy food snack and retested at 20 mins later twice, now she's at 86. She was showing no signs of hypo; acting normally - purring, grooming etc. Question is I reduced her dose only yesterday down to 0.4; is it too early to drop it again, despite this morning's number? And if I do drop it, what should it be? Thanks everyone.
 
Good catch today! Good thing you were testing more frequently. Anything under a 40 means an immediate reduction, even if there was some depot influence. Plus it's been 4 cycles since the decrease so not much depot influence. I would go down 0.25 units.
 
Your dosing is unusual. I’m not used to seeing .60 and .40. With all those green amps and pmps and only those tests I wonder how many times she’s been low. For that reason I would reduce to .20 I guess. With TR two tests each cycle are needed for safety.
 
Thanks guys. I have been watching her for unusual behaviour (work from home all day and she hangs out with me) and haven't seen any. The 0.6 and 0.4 etc is because I have been using that PDF sheet from this group for use with BD U100 syringes, they are marked thus. I will drop down to the 0,2 one then (actually on closer examination it is a , rather than a .!) and measure to just under the line rather than straight through the centre.
 
Cats don't always show symptoms at numbers which we consider too low. I caught Neko sounds asleep in the 30's!
 
Back
Top