3/21 Ozzy PMPS 269 +2.5 80 +4 43 +4.15 49 +4.45 65 +5.5 85

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ozzy Pawzbourne

Member Since 2016
Yesterday

Well, as predicted, Ozzy just dropped low. He is at 43 at +4 tonight. Dang.

PMPS 269
+2.5 = 80 - gave regular LC meal
+4 =43 - just fed HC

Will test again in about 15 minutes to make sure he is starting to come up. I was a little surprised he dropped so fast from the 80 to the 43.

This stuff is fun, huh?? :eek::facepalm:
 
Should we be giving honey or karo with a 43 number? He is/was acting fine. He was sitting on my lap grooming himself when I just did the test. Not acting weird or anything. He did just scarf down his food though. I don't want to overact.
 
+4.15 = 49 Just gave him a little bit of Gravy Lovers, mostly gravy to try to bring his numbers up more. He still has a few hours to go... Will test again in another 15 mins or so.
 
Oh gosh, I've had bad luck with the kitty committee the last two nights....just happen to be posting questions when not many members are on. o_O It's late here, almost 11pm.

Will keep posting updates. Ozzy is acting fine. He is very happy to be getting gravy. :rolleyes:
 
+4.45 =65 He has come up a little, now over 50. This test was 30 minutes since he finished the gravy lovers. Should I give him a little more?
 
Hey there, for some reason the "tagging" isn't working. I noticed that last night as well.
Thanks for letting me know. I know sometimes this site has some wonkiness...

Do you think I should give Ozzy more food? It's past my bedtime. Wasn't planning to stay up this late and was thinking I could stay up for another half hour. If we need to keep it up later, obviously we will for his safety..
 
I usually save the Karo for the 30's (or the 20's!....been there, done that)

Now that he's above 50, you could give him a teaspoon of low carb, but you'll want to test again in 30 minutes either way to make sure he stays above 50 and doesn't drop back down
 
As long as he's coming up, I'd stick with the Gravy Lovers

I usually save the Karo for the 30's (or the 20's!....been there, done that)

Now that he's above 50, you could give him a teaspoon of low carb, but you'll want to test again in 30 minutes either way to make sure he stays above 50 and doesn't drop back down
Ok, will do. This is the part I get a little confused on. I know to feed HC to bring him up, but I'm not really sure how much/how many more times to feed once we get him up above 50.

Never been in the 20s/30s thankfully. Hubby gave Ozzy honey twice and it didn't go too well. Ozzy freaked out and ran all around the house trying to get it off his face. Hubby was a little barbarian and just wiped it across his lips instead of trying to put it on his gums. So... I try to do the HC first and resort to honey only if truly needed.
 
How much insulin did you give tonight? It's not on your spreadsheet

And Congratulations on the reduction!! Tomorrow down to .75!!

If you absolutely can't stay up any longer, you can abort the cycle and really carb him up but you'll still want to test for awhile to make sure he doesn't drop back down

Tonight's one of those nights you may need to set an alarm just to be safe

Welcome to your PJ party!! :coffee::coffee::coffee:
 
That doesn't surprise me when I saw the PMPS and then the +2.5. Jeez he was making some moves!
Right! This cat is a bit dramatic sometimes!!!

dramacat1.png
 
Well he's done with that dose for now!!
Chris, Ozzy has been bouncing between doses for sometime. I knew when we took him back up to 1u it was just a matter of time he would drop low and need a reduction. I will put him back down to .75U in the am but will worry that he's going to stick in the yellows now. Do you believe in the rule of reduce after 3 drops below 50? I think this is a concept for long term diabetics. I'm not sure what is considered long term. And we really don't know how long Ozzy has been diabetic. I could see this coming, especially with is bounce breaking cycle yesterday.
 
I'm not sure what is considered long term.

Long term is considered diagnosed longer than a year

Now there are times we'll suggest the "3 below 50" for other cats....cats that don't hold reductions but with Ozzy, I'd go ahead and reduce this time....if he doesn't hold this reduction, we can try the "3 below 50" next time
 
Ozzy is eating another snack now. Going to get another test in 20 mins and if he's looking good, will head to bed and put his 1 am snack (which will be 1 hour from now) in auto feeder as back up.
 
Wow, Ozzy! I think Ozzy & Taffy are trying to tell us something...they want to get into soap opera acting, perhaps.

Nothing much over here, lately. Mainly due to mama bean being run ragged.
 
I had a feeling that Taffy would have gone low today, too, but I had to skip his AM shot due to regurgitating breakfast.
 
+5.5 = 85. Headed to bed. Hope Ozzy stays up on his surfboard and not swimming with the sharks or flying to the moon. Nighty Night Kitty Committee!! :bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top