3/21 Leo AMPS 295, +3 189 +6 158, +10 182 PMPS +157 +2 164

Sunny day.gif
 
Hi Sonia. Leo's looking good in blues!

I wanted to clarify what I said the other day. Sometimes cats will respond almost too well to a lower than usual starting dose... which is why many of us are cautious and re-start insulin at a low dose. Starting low is hardly ever a bad idea. Once you have an idea of how Leo will respond you can adjust the dose up or down as necessary.

Fast tracking up the dosing scale is also an option after starting low if you're not seeing much of a response. Although, seeing mid-blues today looks promising! *Usually* BG numbers will go up before they come down. Keep an eye on him. He may be one of those kitties in a hurry to get back to the Falls!

Can't wait to see where this dose takes him once the depot is full!
Good luck!
 
Hi Sonia. Leo's looking good in blues!

I wanted to clarify what I said the other day. Sometimes cats will respond almost too well to a lower than usual starting dose... which is why many of us are cautious and re-start insulin at a low dose. Starting low is hardly ever a bad idea. Once you have an idea of how Leo will respond you can adjust the dose up or down as necessary.

Fast tracking up the dosing scale is also an option after starting low if you're not seeing much of a response. Although, seeing mid-blues today looks promising! *Usually* BG numbers will go up before they come down. Keep an eye on him. He may be one of those kitties in a hurry to get back to the Falls!

Can't wait to see where this dose takes him once the depot is full!
Good luck!

Hi Jill, so I misunderstood where you were coming from yesterday. From the protocol, I was under the presumption that I needed to start at 2U. It was suggested I start at .25U but his numbers were creeping up all of a sudden and quickly. I started at 1U thinking it was a kind of middle ground dose between the .25 and the 2.

I was a little surprised to see the blues so soon but no complaints, I’m going to follow his lead now.

If this was your cat, would you keep the same dose or decrease it?

Thank you! Your help is really appreciated.
 
@Jill & Alex (GA) So his +10 was 182 and his PMPS was 157? I totally chickened out and shot .5. :p I hope I don't regret this...:banghead:
That's fine. No regrets allowed. It's important for you to be comfortable with what you're doing. Leo just started back on insulin so this could go either way. Who knows? In the meantime, collect the data and treat it as a learning experience.

No biggie. See how things plays out...
 
That's fine. No regrets allowed. It's important for you to be comfortable with what you're doing. Leo just started back on insulin so this could go either way. Who knows? In the meantime, collect the data and treat it as a learning experience.

No biggie. See how things plays out...
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top