3/21 Henry

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes me too.
I can't understand how it goes up that high when it is that good at +5-6 hours.
Its a mystery to me, he eats a small meal mid cycle at night, I feed him before I go to bed and hes not getting into anything off limits.
Have tried to hold off letting him eat anything 3 hours prior to AM shot too.
 
It may just be his pattern. You have tried everything we can think of to change it - food changes, dose changes. He has excellent numbers during the rest of his cycle - numbers that don't scream insulin change needed. I think I would just keep on - maybe one of these days he will decide to stop his morning bounce. In the meantime, he is in nice safe numbers and doing well. Right?
 
Yes he is. His appetite is great, hes not drinking or peeing in excess, hes alert and playful and he doesn't have ketones.
His main problem now is the walking problem and difficulty jumping which varies from day to day and it is not neuropathy, its disc problems in his spine.
My vet suggested yesterday besides the 1/2 baby aspirin every 3 days to consider taking him to to get acupuncture at the vet school.
This morning his AMPS was 461. confused_cat
 
Just curious as to timing - how many times do you put out food for everyone during each cycle? What times (+2, +4 etc) do you put the food out? I know for me and Oscar, we got a big change in numbers when we changed the times of our 3 feedings during the am cycle and spread them out more. (was shot time, +2, and +6 - is now shot time, +4, and +8).
 
That morning bounce is a mystery, but, at least you know from your AM and PM testing that Henry is staying in pretty good numbers most of the time with the BID dosing. That's a great positive. Woot, woot for Henry!
 
Usual feeding times are AM shot time 1/2 can FF, usually eats that right away, another 1/2 at +2.5-3 hours from shot, another 1/2 can after +4 test if it is heading down rapidly, 1/2 can after +6 test, then around +9 to allow 3 hours before PM test and shot, 1/2 can at shot time, another 1/2 can at +3 from PM shot , then about +3-4 from PM shot. He does not always eat the entire 1/2 can of FF at feeding time, sometimes he'll eat about 1/2 of it then graze til next feeding time.
todays BGs so far
461 AMPS 1.25S U
+4 232
+6.5 191
 
Thanks for posting that :-D One thing I notice is that there is a big food hole in the pm cycle from +4 until the morning whereas in the am cycle you also feed at +6 and +9. Do you think Henry would eat from an automatic feeder in the middle of the night? I'd be curious if a +7 or +8 feeding might even out things. I know it is odd to think that *more* food might bring numbers down, but it has worked for some in the past.
 
Just curious if you have noticed any change in the #s in reference to the baby aspirin? If you aren't already (sorry, I didn't look!) you might want to note that in your SS in case any pattern emerges. Like if you give that 2 hrs before the AMPS :-D wouldn't that be a tidy answer? I know it's not that though....
 
Actually what I have noticed is the days he was in the 300's in the AM at test time he had the 1/2 baby aspirin the night before.
My vet thinks it could be because it reduces discomfort which might be driving the number up.
Not always but the pattern seems to be lower in the mornings after the aspirin.
Will take note next time he is due which will be tomorrow night.
+12 PMPS was 236 gave 1.25S U
 
Oh that is interesting! I noticed that with Bix, if he seemed not to be feeling well his BGs would run higher.

Have you thought about changing the dose again? I'm not sure if a raise or lower is in order, but if you aren't hitting low blue nadirs or better, might be time to try something a bit different? I think you've been at this dose several days if I recall....

just musing...

if you try the autofeeder hopefully maybe that will change the AMPS picture, and then after that you can reevaluate where you are on the dose, if not sooner...
 
I dropped to 1.25 and for a few days have been giving a skinny 1.25 or 1.20.
Not sure whether to try lowering or raising slightly.
 
Angela,

i think I would tweak the feeding with the automatic feeder before I change the dose. His numbers are okay. Who knows - that may make the difference. And even if not, you have only thrown one variable into the mix instead of two?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top