3/21 Gobbles PMPS 414 +6 437 +11.75 404

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=91380

Good Morning Everyone out there in LL!

Well, at PM+10 this morning, I found recent soft poo that was formed, but some was runny; not "entirely" diarrhea (yesterday was just plain runny). At PM+10, he ate 1/2 c. cooked chicken and I forced FortiFlora on him (rubbed on top of mouth as he will absolutely not eat it sprinkled on anything) to help with loose stool. Immediately thereafter he vomited up the chicken (I strongly suspect it was from Fortiflora--the expiration date on it is 4/2013, but I assuming it still may be good). I gave him 2.5 mg Pepcid @PM+11.5. He then ate 1 t. chicken & 1 T. chicken water @AM+0, and as of yet (50 minutes later), he has not vomited. He is in a good mood: kissy, purring...laying on top of the couch, soaking up the sunbeam and being tortured by the birds that are out in the flower bed. I will keep a good eye on his eating and LB habits today and be on the lookout for vomit. I do hope he decides to eat catfood today (funny that he'll eat the chicken, but turns his nose up at any catfood). At this point in time, I don't suspect pancreatitis because he is eating, he is not "meatloaf-ing" and has few of the other symptoms. I read the pancreatitis primer that Marje posted and do see diarrhea & vomiting listed, but as I wrote above, the vomiting is most likely due to the FortiFlora. The diarrhea? I have no idea but still suspect it may be due to Denamarin because it started off and on shortly after I started to administer it. However, if it keeps up, I am calling the vet. One thing to note:

I know pain can cause higher BG's, however, if you look at his SS, the doses/BG's tell a story...I think the decrease down to .25f (on 3/17) was a big mistake...my fault when I flipped out on his BG of 38 in the cycle preceding said decrease.

OT: We've received some raffle ticket purchases!!! We only need $620 in raffle ticket sales to reach our goal of $1,000 and there are only 18 days left to meet that goal. Please consider buying a ticket(s) soon. The tickets are so reasonably priced and the prizes are awesome! You can buy one ticket for only $2, 3/$5, 7/$10, 15/$15 or 25/$20. Ticket Sales end on 4/7/13.

Direct link to FDMB BASKET RAFFLE FUNDRAISER for more information and ticket purchase. There are links in that post to see pictures of all the fabulous prizes: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=90614
 
Re: 3/21 Gobbles AMPS 479

Hi guys .. sorry to hear about the vomit this morning .. glad to hear he kept his chicken and pepcid down .. sounds like all else is well with him .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/21 Gobbles AMPS 479 +3 362

I gave him Pepcid this morning. He has been eating sporadically today, just not alot at once. So he is eating; though less than usual. I haven't seen any diarrhea. I checked for ketones (numbers have been too high!!!!) I think I might give him cypro, but wait until 1/2 hour before PMPS (3/21).
 
Re: 3/21 Gobbles AMPS 479 +3 362 +6.5 323

I don't think the FortiFlora made him vomit, but you never know. It might have just been the stress of having something he doesn't like being rubbed on his gums.

I think I would wait until PMPS and see if he eats first, before giving the cypro. He may just eat fine, tonight, without it. Hopeing so.
 
Re: 3/21 Gobbles AMPS 479 +3 362 +6.5 323

Dyana said:
I don't think the FortiFlora made him vomit, but you never know. It might have just been the stress of having something he doesn't like being rubbed on his gums.

I think I would wait until PMPS and see if he eats first, before giving the cypro. He may just eat fine, tonight, without it. Hopeing so.
Darn. I read this after I gave to him. His numbers are still high :sad:
 
Re: 3/21 Gobbles PMPS 414

I don't know all that much about appy stimulants, and of course you live with Gobby...but if he doesn't have the cypro, is he completely uninterested in fuds? It sounds like he is eating, even though he's following a different pattern that what your used to, and that's a good thing. I'm just wondering if he's feeling your worry over him, and that's making him anxious about eating. I've experienced that here myself, as I have 3 littermates with digestive sensitivities. When any of them feels "off", as much as I try to fight it, I become overly stressed about it, and I can see how they physically respond to that...they won't eat, they barf, they have LB issues. Even though I know that's how they respond, because kitties are just so sensitive to their beans, I can't seem to control my worry over them.

My Mario was on denamarin for a while. It really didn't seem to agree with him, either. I couldn't get it into him as a whole pill an hour before a meal, but I gave it to him in quarters about half an hour before a meal...doing the best we could. Anyway, it wasn't all that rare for him to barf it back up. I finally just gave up on it...and after that, his barfing cut back pretty substantially.

FWIW, FortiFlora never worked any wonders for my kitties, digestively speaking, so I wouldn't worry if Gobby doesn't go for it. I don't think forcing it on him will make a difference. You'd probably have better luck with the pumpkin or squash, if you can get that into him as some sort of treat....try to give it to him in the least stressful manner (for both of you!) possible.

You were right to decrease with that 38...that's what the protocol says to do. But decreases don't always hold - it's hard for us beans to get used to it, but that's just the nature of FD. Trix has been up and down the dosing ladder numerous times in the last couple years. I always hated having to take her back up, but in the grand scheme, the only thing that matters is that they feel good and are healthy...it really doesn't matter how much juice it takes to get there.

It does seem that Gobby probably ultimately needs more juice, from what I can see, but of course you do need to follow the protocol and not rush the process. Trix initially dove down the dosing scale, too...I know the feeling. Take some deep breaths - you're doing great!!
 
Re: 3/21 Gobbles PMPS 414n+6 437 ? Increase ?

I was thinking the same thing as to what Amy's opinion was regarding Gobbles' needing another increase. His numbers have been high for the past few days, even with the recent increase. Anybody have an opinion as to me increasing him another .25 (from .5 to .75)? I don't like to see these high numbers! Shot time is at 7:30 a.m., but I was thinking of shooting at 7 a.m. (EST)?

I just got a new pen on 3/13; I would think, looking at his SS (I started using that pen on the PM cycle on 3/13), that the high numbers can't be blamed on a "bad pen". I have a vial of Lantus that I saved (opened on 11/23/12) and wonder if I shot use that for his morning shot? There are no floatings or cloudiness in it, but it is 4 months old...
 
Re: 3/21 Gobbles PMPS 414 +6 437 ? Increase ?

Normally we try to hold a dose for 6 cycles to see how it does, but I see a lot of high numbers for 4.5 days solid.
Was the difference between the f0.25 and the 0.50 minimal?
 
Re: 3/21 Gobbles PMPS 414 +6 437 ? Increase ?

Dyana said:
Normally we try to hold a dose for 6 cycles to see how it does, but I see a lot of high numbers for 4.5 days solid.
Was the difference between the f0.25 and the 0.50 minimal?
Yes!
 
Re: 3/21 Gobbles PMPS 414 +6 437 ? Increase ?

Sending you and Gobbles good vibes today. Thank you for all of your support as I'm starting out. You have been so helpful and I wish nothing but the best for you and your furbaby! I hope Gobbles starts feeling better. :smile:
 
Re: 3/21 Gobbles PMPS 414 +6 437 ? Increase ?

Well, if it was that teeny of a dose crease, I guess we can call it a failed reduction, and do an increase now.
I wouldn't shoot 30 minutes early and do a 50% increase all at the same time though. That just sounds like a lot.
 
Re: 3/21 Gobbles PMPS 414 +6 437 ? Increase ?

Dyana said:
Well, if it was that teeny of a dose crease, I guess we can call it a failed reduction, and do an increase now.
I wouldn't shoot 30 minutes early and do a 50% increase all at the same time though. That just sounds like a lot.
There was such a tiny difference between the .25f and .5. I am going to give him .25 increase at his regular shot time: 7:30 a.m.
 
Re: 3/21 Gobbles PMPS 414

Amy&TrixieCat said:
I don't know all that much about appy stimulants, and of course you live with Gobby...but if he doesn't have the cypro, is he completely uninterested in fuds? It sounds like he is eating, even though he's following a different pattern that what your used to, and that's a good thing. I'm just wondering if he's feeling your worry over him, and that's making him anxious about eating. I've experienced that here myself, as I have 3 littermates with digestive sensitivities. When any of them feels "off", as much as I try to fight it, I become overly stressed about it, and I can see how they physically respond to that...they won't eat, they barf, they have LB issues. Even though I know that's how they respond, because kitties are just so sensitive to their beans, I can't seem to control my worry over them.

My Mario was on denamarin for a while. It really didn't seem to agree with him, either. I couldn't get it into him as a whole pill an hour before a meal, but I gave it to him in quarters about half an hour before a meal...doing the best we could. Anyway, it wasn't all that rare for him to barf it back up. I finally just gave up on it...and after that, his barfing cut back pretty substantially.

FWIW, FortiFlora never worked any wonders for my kitties, digestively speaking, so I wouldn't worry if Gobby doesn't go for it. I don't think forcing it on him will make a difference. You'd probably have better luck with the pumpkin or squash, if you can get that into him as some sort of treat....try to give it to him in the least stressful manner (for both of you!) possible.

You were right to decrease with that 38...that's what the protocol says to do. But decreases don't always hold - it's hard for us beans to get used to it, but that's just the nature of FD. Trix has been up and down the dosing ladder numerous times in the last couple years. I always hated having to take her back up, but in the grand scheme, the only thing that matters is that they feel good and are healthy...it really doesn't matter how much juice it takes to get there.

It does seem that Gobby probably ultimately needs more juice, from what I can see, but of course you do need to follow the protocol and not rush the process. Trix initially dove down the dosing scale, too...I know the feeling. Take some deep breaths - you're doing great!!
Thanks so much for your response Amy! I do stress out at feeding time. I knew Gobbles could feel my stress like when I am actually holding him (testing, shooting) but didn't realize my stress could be "air-born"! There is diarrhea in the LB again this a.m.; problem is, with 2 civvies, can't really determine who left it there. The denamarin are a b&*ch to administer! I am going to call the vet today and get his opinion re: lack of appetite, and diarrhea (he was just there last week). I am going to buy either pumpkin or squash today (decisions, decisions, decisions--maybe I should buy both?) and I will make sure that there's no spices or sugar in them. I went ahead and increases him today, as he has been showing high numbers for 4.5 days. I am home to monitor, if need be. We'll see what today brings! He is laying here among the raffle tickets--too cute--good photo op--I think I better get the ipad and take a pic; maybe its a message to people to buy raffle tickets! LOL
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top