3/21 Elizabeth AMPS 204,+2 242,+4 74, +6 82,+7 102, +12 116, PMPS 177, +1 136, +2 114, +3.5 105

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,
I don't want to assume anything, so if someone could let me know that they think Elizabeth's regular 1u Lantus is okay this morning, I would appreciate it.
Thank you!!!
I have just read that Hill's wet food is not awfully good for diabetic cats as mine was diagnosed diabetic today.
 
well you've shot a lower number so if you are going to be home and can monitor....
I would shoot.....
get a +2..... and go from there....
if she surfs, you'll want to catch it..... so get a +4 , +7, +10 ..... good data points.....

if she drops, obviously check more often so you can steer with gravy.....
 
Hi Sian,
Yes, I have read that, too, and I will be making a change. Since that's what I have right now, and this is all new to me, and I'm trying to get some regulation going, I am trying not to make too many changes at once. I just took Liz off the Hill's dry food (24 hrs ago).

Have you started home monitoring yet? It took me two weeks to get up the courage. The people on this forum are awesome, and I don't know what I would do without them!
 
Rhiannon, Liz is not the willing patient she was prior to the testing last night, but I will do what you advise. Thank you!
 
I suspect you'll be fine shooting. If you're nervous, it's always helpful to get an early test -- like a +2. That will help you to know if Liz plans to keep you busy this morning.
 
Hi Vicki. The protocol says to shoot anything over 200 and you have that. If you can monitor all day if necessary, have a hypo kit, and lots of test strips to get you through the day and night then I would shoot. It's great that you saw green last night!
 
Ah...okay on the treats. Iwill try the tuna. I got the freeze dried chicken treats, but she says "Really?" My dog loves them, tho!

I will do a +2 and post it here. Liz has eaten more wet food this morning than she usually does, so taking the dry food away so she didn't have it during the night has worked well. She doesn't eat much at one time - very much a grazer.
 
Liz +2 is 242. Is the recommendation to test again at +4? or when?

What exactly is a "bounce"? More specifically, which way is a bounce going, and is a bounce desirable or not?

Thanks!!!
 
Hi Sian,
Yes, I have read that, too, and I will be making a change. Since that's what I have right now, and this is all new to me, and I'm trying to get some regulation going, I am trying not to make too many changes at once. I just took Liz off the Hill's dry food (24 hrs ago).

Have you started home monitoring yet? It took me two weeks to get up the courage. The people on this forum are awesome, and I don't know what I would do without them!
Thank you so much for the reply. We are even newer to this than you and not quite sure what home monitoring is as our vet mentioned nothing. Thanks Sian
 
I would check her again in about 30 minutes. With the alpha trak, you don't want her going below 68. She might earn a reduction.
 
I did the +6 and it is 82. Too late to go back, but should I have tested her at +5? And when should I test next?
 
Hi Vicki.

It might have been a good idea to get a +5, but it might also not have told you much. Looks like she's coming up just fine. Your +2 could easily have been a food spike, as opposed to a bounce. Bounces are usually caused by a quick drop, like what happened between +2 and +4. You may see a bounce tonight because of it. Don't panic. It won't mean you're doing anything wrong. If you just got her off of dry food, the nice low numbers you're seeing may have a lot to do with that, and you may find she will be earning reductions quickly now. Just ask @Linda and Scooter & Jack about her experience with Scooter!

Has anyone told you about Dr. Lisa's food list? It's a great resource for finding low carb foods.

My rule of thumb is I test every hour for numbers between 61 and 100, so you might want to get a +7. Did you feed any more at +6? You want two rising numbers without food influence to know she's safe.
 
Hi Tricia,
Oops...she did eat after +6. I can understand your point about the numbers rising without food influence. She eats a few tsps and Tbsps here and there, all day long (and all night long, which is when she usually eats the most). She did eat quite a bit after the AMPS test - a bit more than usual, so that could have been a spike.

I have looked at Dr. Lisa's food list, and have some questions about it. My main question concerns the validity of the numbers on the food charts. Surely some of these values change, as they are years old, and Dr. Lisa acknowledges that in an article. She suggests calling the company to get the true values (different than the values found on the can), and I plan on doing that next week. According to the calculations she said to follow, the Hill's m/d canned food (using the values on the can) is 9% carbs, and not the 14% that is on the chart. Maybe I did it incorrectly?

Do you think I should test at +7 since she has had food? That would be right about now.

Thanks!!
 
You can test at +7, just to see what's she's doing. There is no such thing as too much data!! BTW, has anyone told you about putting Neosporin with Pain Relief on her ears every night? It really helps heal them and keeps her from getting as upset at a lot of poking. Usually, we follow the no food + test rule after a kitty has been really low and starts to come up. On a human meter it's two tests over 60 and rising without food influence. I'm not sure what the number would be on an AlphaTrak, but I'd guess about 80. Although I was told by an endocrinologist that is a well-respected authority on Diabetes in animals that the two kinds of meters measure pretty much the same under about 100. as the BGs rise, so does the disparity in the readings, until over 300 they are miles apart. In any case, you haven't done anything wrong. I'd just keep an eye on her to make sure she isn't going to drop again.
 
Tricia, (or anyone else who would like to look and give advice, which is greatly appreciated!)

I did the +7 test and got 102 so now my question is when to test next? and should she be allowed to eat between now and +10? I know I should withhold food at +10. Advice, please! Thank you!
 
Hi Tricia,
I am confused about when to feed and when not to feed. I understand the no food after +10. However, I thought if it was in the 70's or thereabouts prior to the +6, they should have a bit of food, which is the information I got last night. Perhaps that's because her +3 last night was the lowest she had gone. But I can see your point about needing to know if the numbers go up themselves. So, what to do?

Oddly, Elizabeth has settled back into not caring if I test her or not. Her ears stop bleeding in about 5 seconds, and I can't see any marks. It's weird! Is there something besides Neosporin y'all use if I need it? I am allergic.

So thankful for y'all!
 
Liz is looking really great today. :D I think you can give her a break until PMPS now. Great news on the transition to wet food.:)

I'll try to answer a couple of your questions. There is a great explanation on bouncing, the second post here. A bounce means numbers go up, sometimes WAY up. It's a temporary reaction to either lower numbers than they've seen before or a fast drop.

For feeding, it's best to feed the majority of food in the first half of the cycle, when the insulin action is the strongest. Once the insulin starts slowing down, extra carbs can put the brakes on the insulin action, and mean a higher preshot. However, some people have kitties that graze and that's OK. You also don't want to feed in the last two hours of the cycle, because the food can influence the blood glucose numbers for a couple of hours, and when you test at preshot and it's a lower number, you don't know whether that number is inflated by food. And lastly on food, when a kitty first hits a green number in a cycle, giving them a couple tsp of their regular low carb food can help them surf, or hang around those green numbers. The more time spent in green, the more time in pancreas healing numbers.
 
I'm having trouble posting....guess the site has woes....

I think you earn a reduction with that 74 on an alphatrak.... anything below 80.....
let someone else confirm that .....
 
I think you earn a reduction with that 74 on an alphatrak.... anything below 80.....
let someone else confirm that .....
The reduction point for an AlphaTrak on the Tight Regulation Protocol is 68. So very close and it probably won't be long, but no reduction yet.
 
Thanks Wendy.... I was trying to pm you .... and couldn't get it to work.....
Mozilla firefox doesn't seem to like this site.... I had to switch back to internet explorer.....
 
Thank you for the information! I know the low numbers are what I want, but they make me nervous! Crazy, huh? :confused:

I printed out the low carb food list. :joyful:

I will take Lizzy's food away at +10, and probably be back here looking for advice about the PMPS and whatever tests should follow! Whew!

Thank you all!!
 
Hi again Vicki and extra sweet Elizabeth!! Here's your post from yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...kay-to-give-regular-dose.134909/#post-1391072

Looks like you've had another great cycle today!!

Just a housekeeping note...when you start a new post each day (we call them condo's) please put the link to the prior day's post in so it's easy for people to quickly go back and see what's been going on and what's already been said. Just makes it easier on us to quickly go back and look

The reason I suggested feeding at +2.5 last night was because she'd dropped from 138 to 90....that's a pretty significant drop so early in the cycle, so feeding a teaspoon or two of her regular low carb food can help slow down the drop as well as get them "surfing" (staying in good numbers as long as possible). It was also the first 24 hours of no dry food, so there wasn't any history on how she'd do without the high carb kibble.

204 this morning is really a GREAT number! I was expecting higher because she'd gone lower than she'd been used to last night, but that's really good news that she didn't bounce really high!

Looks like removing the dry is really doing great things for her!
 
:)Vicki I just wanted to let you know a short version of Scooters story. Once he came off kibble and went to Fancy feast or Friskies canned food only I nearly lost him. In one day he went from 500's and 400's to below 50. Kibble is a diabetic cats worst night mare so switching is a great thing for Elizabeth. It took less than a month for him to be in remission and OTJ.

You are doing great and all your questions are great to! :)
 
Wow on Scooter's story! Makes me a wreck just thinking about it. I'm so glad all that worked out!
Liz is at 116 PMPS. Advice please?
 
Do you have plenty of strips and high carb food on hand? Just in case. Can you monitor tonight? There's a chance but no guarantee that she'll go low tonight so you have to be able to monitor, just in case. You shot a 138 yesterday so not that far apart and within 20% of tonight. What do you feel like doing?
 
Honestly, I am so worried about Liz going too low that I want to be very conservative and avoid that possibility. At the same time, I want to be brave enough to do what's best for her, and at the time that it's best for her. If it is important and tonight is the night, I will do it. I was up late last night with her, so I am a little short on sleep.

I know Liz and I haven't been doing this very long, but I'm feeling very stressed and emotional, which I think is normal. :confused: I do have plenty of strips and some high carb food. With what I've told you, what do you think I should do about her shot which is due now? Geez, I sound like a wimp!! I am stronger than I sound, and so is Liz....
I appreciate y'all so much!!
 
Another option is to wait 20-30 minutes and test again. She'll likely be higher then.

Shooting low is scary, so yup, your feelings are normal. Once you've been through a few low numbers it does become easier.
 
She has eaten a little bit, so when you say test again in 20-30 minutes...how long after the PMPS? Hmmm...I'm 15 minutes away from the PMPS time. Advice?
 
When delaying, we wait without feeding, before testing again to see if she's rising at the normal end of cycle. How long since she ate? and you tested?
 
Ah....too late for that. Darnit! She has had her normal little bit to eat since I tested her for PMPS 45 minutes ago. Now what?
 
Some of that increase could be her food, but you've delayed almost an hour now? If you shoot, your next shot is 12 hours from now. You can make up the time 1/2 hour tomorrow and 1/2 hour on Monday. The other options are to skip or shoot a reduced dose. A delay does act like a small dose decrease. Due to the nature of the depot, you could still see some action with a reduced shot, but not as much as a full shot. What do you feel like doing? Questions?

I like periodically getting +1 tests because it tells me how much Neko goes up due to food.
 
Posted at the same time. If you give her 1U, test at +1 and +2 to start, to give you a heads up what the cycle is going to look like.
 
Yes, I have delayed her shot very close to an hour now. To be exact, I gave her the AM shot at 8:57am and it's now 9:45pm. So if I give her 1u, I can test at +1 and +2. I assume someone will be on to answer questions?
Thanks!!
 
I'm not a big fan of reducing and delaying as the delay acts like a reduction. I'll be around for at least 3 maybe 4 hours off and on. But you have to be able to monitor tonight. It's up to you.
 
I gave her the 1u. I will check at +1, and +2 and beyond if needed. I realize a delay isn't good, but I wasn't sure what to do. Better safe than sorry.
 
Feed her as you normally would now that you've given the shot.

ETA: Could you change your subject line to say +12 116, PMPS 177. That way people know what you actually shot. Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top