3/21 Doodle AMPS 284 No Longer TR???

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
last thread

I'm not sure why he jumped so much (I guess the predisolone takes time to kick the BG's up?, I thought it would be immediate, especially with the missed shots)

I need some guidance on going forward with his insulin routine. I do not think the goal is to get him OTJ any more. Right now his diabetes is taking the back seat. He got his first chemotherapy treatment Thursday. With his BG at 284 this morning I felt like he needed 2u but I *think* we don't jump up that fast?

He used to hate BG testing and now he FEARS it. He literally runs and hides. This started with giving him the prednisolone pill. With all that is going on the last thing I want to do is test his ear more than really needed.
 
Have you tried putting the pred in a gelcap ? I do it with all pills and then give Max some baby food that he loves. Vines that the chemo works.

I just read yesterday's condo and I'm wondering if you saw an oncologist? What chemo are you giving? With a mass if it is lymphoma you need aggressive injections. There are other types of cancer too.
 
One of my cats used to run and hide if I had to give her a pill. She won't eat pill pockets and I have to shove it in her mouth. I've learned to grab hold of her and not let her run away and start loving on her and telling her what a good kitty she is. She doesn't run and hide any more. Sending prayers and hugs. :bighug::bighug:

As far as the dose goes, keep in mind the dosing needs to be based on the lowest number in the cycle, not the PS. If you can get at least one mid cycle test in that will help with knowing what dose to give. I'm sorry he hates testing so much. I wouldn't worry about strictly following a protocol right now. Just do what is best for Doodle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top