3/21 CRYSTAL AMPS 229 +4 293 + 9 236 PMPS 268

Status
Not open for further replies.

suki & crystal (GA)

Member Since 2014
yesterday

Happy Caturday to all in LL

I knew it was too good to last, Crystal's PM cycle last night was starting to rise a bit followed by her AMPS of 229. I had forgotten to get her raw mix out of the freezer last night so I fed her some new bio organic food I bought yesterday in the health food shop but when i did the carb calculation this afternoon it turns out it the Dry Matter Carb % is 19, which I think it probably too high (is the optium carb % under 10??) and probably accounts for the +4 figure. So Crystal, as much as you enjoyed it, I think it is now on the forbidden list, but I'm sure the civvies will enjoy it.

Hoping to get back into the blues next cycle, if not, then I think a dose increase is threatened tomorrow?

Enjoy the weekend, vines to all kitties and beans in need.
 
Sorry to see that Crystal's numbers have creeped up a bit. I try to keep all regular food under 10%.

I have really found that food makes all the difference with Sammy. The first time he was on insulin 5 years ago, I fed him mostly 8-10% carb food. But this time when his numbers were higher and I fed anything higher than 5% his BG barely moved or went up, so I stuck with the 4-5% carb varieties. Also the type of protein has also made a huge difference, hence the elimination of DUCK from his diet, at least for now.

Since we were using a lower carb food for regular feedings, when Sammy first started having lows I would use 8-12% food to bring him up. The only time I would use anything higher is if the 8-12% didn't bring him back up over 50 or if he dropped back below 50 after coming up.

With his greatly improved numbers the past week or so I have started including a bit of 8% food with each MM for the first half of the cycle.

I hope to see Crystal's numbers come down for the PM cycle.
 
OOps on the accidental HC food- maybe you can keep a few cans around for times when Crystal needs pumping up though, especially if she likes it?
 
Ruth, luckily I only bought the one can to try it out.
@Tina & Sammy - Hi Tina, can you explain about MM - is that mini meals? how much and how often? I've seen a few references and everyone seems to think their cats do well on the regime. I think I would like to give it a try for Crystal. She's back to her raw chicken tonight, with a little coconut oil mixed in.
 
Yes, MM is a Mini Meal. Both times Sammy has been on insulin the MM have made HUGE improvements in his numbers. Both times he was on insulin within a few cycles of the mini meals being implemented he has gone to almost all green.

5 years ago when I started the MM I was feeding him about 1/6 can (3 oz) for each MM. You can look at Sammy's 2010 spreadsheet to see exactly when I fed a MM, it varied a bit, mostly about hourly.

This time around I started him off at hourly MM and only giving a teaspoon or two. When he was first put back on insulin he would gobble down whatever I put in front of him and he was eating nearly 2 full 5.5 oz cans each day. When I switched him to MM that amount was reduced to a total of around 6 oz a day. Which I think was a huge help in his overall numbers.

I did the hourly feeding of 1-2 teaspoons for a couple of weeks, but with the improved numbers I have started increasing the amount and only feeding every 2 hours. This has worked because Sammy doesn't seem to gobble down everything all at once any longer. He takes what he wants and the goes back when he wants more.

Up until yesterday I have pretty detailed notes on Sammy's spreadsheet about what I was feeding. Starting yesterday I pretty much left food out for grazing most of the time.

Hopefully Mini Meals will help Crystal as well.
 
Hope the higher carb food stops influencing her numbers and Crystal gets back to some more usual numbers. Blue would be nice little girl.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Back to business/blues please Crystal. You had a yummy HC treat but it's back to the good for you stuff now!

When you feed, how much you feed and how it impacts the numbers is an ECID thing. You have to experiment to find out what works for Crystal. With any cat it's best to feed the majority of food before nadir. With Crystal on Levemir and a much later nadir, the timing would be a lot different than for Sammy. I break Neko's meals into a few smaller meals in the first part of the cycle, mostly because it slows down her hunger. I don't think it does anything different for her numbers. And now that she's been doing those small meals for a while, she's very resistant to me removing a meal from the rotation. :rolleyes: She also gets a late afternoon snack around nadir time.
 
Come back to the blue Crystal you can do it. Hope the HC doesn't affect her to much. She has been doing so good. Hang in there you have been doing a wonderful job.
 
Thinking maybe a 47-48 tomorrow? Keep in mind there may be some residual from the gravy food... so you could hold the dose for another day if you want to.

Maybe you can get more than a couple hours of sleep! Enjoy it while you can!
 
@Tina & Sammy @Wendy&Neko @pollydoodle @Grayson & Lu @Peg and Toby - thanks for all your replies, I will try out the MM and see how she goes. Unfortunately, not a great start to today as not-so-dear DH left the dog biscuits out last night and guess who gorged herself on them, resulting in a PMPS of 343 :banghead:. back to the stinky pinkie. Will try to get her back on track before making any increase. Someone's in the dog house and it isn't the dog:mad:
 
Yup, gotta be careful with an acrocat in the house. :p One time my DH left a bread starter (biga) in a bowl on the counter where Neko could access it. I caught her with her face in the bowl. Next day she started black and I discovered her digestive system doesn't really like wheat. :banghead::banghead:
 
100_3241.JPG

Grayson figured out that the kitty treats were stored in the breadbox. Busted in this position a few times, then he found he could open 2 different types of Tupperware canisters that were in the base cabinet with cat & dog food inside. Yes, Mr. Ravenous was VERY resourceful! But the best was catching him on top of canned & boxed goods on the base lazy susan cabinet, with his face in a bag of torn open egg noodles!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top