3/21 Buzzy AMPS 61 = .75 +1 (60) +2 (51) +2.45 (50) +3.5 (49) +4 (54) +5.25 (75) PMPS 129 = .75

Are you able to test during the whole cycle if necessary?
Do you have plenty of high carb food and test strips?
If you give a reduced dose you will still have to test during the cycle as it may not make any difference to the BGs in the cycle.
I am heading to bed shortly so won't be around to help you a bit later so I hesitate to say go ahead.
 
Are you able to test during the whole cycle if necessary?
Do you have plenty of high carb food and test strips?
If you give a reduced dose you will still have to test during the cycle as it may not make any difference to the BGs in the cycle.
I am heading to bed shortly so won't be around to help you a bit later so I hesitate to say go ahead.

Yes to all the things. I'm ok - I'll be ok.
I just shot 0.75u.
Will do the ol +1, +2 etc.
 
Yes please do a +1 and. +2
You don't seem to have many tests in during the cycles. Are you able to test any more frequently.....on the days you don't work?

I'll get plenty today.
We've not been testing much lately due to the inflammation of his ears. I'm not at work anymore (WFH), so it's not that - it's literally just his poor ears have been so irritated.
They're getting slowly better now I think though.
 
Lisa, is it right that you are using the Relion Premiere? Some folks on other groups have found that this reads closer to pet meter numbers, and in that case 61 would be considered in hypo range...

Eliz
 
Lisa, is it right that you are using the Relion Premiere? Some folks on other groups have found that this reads closer to pet meter numbers, and in that case 61 would be considered in hypo range...

Eliz

Yes, that is what I am using.
But nobody has ever said that before - even when he's in the 50s
 
I will do my best. I have to balance his healing ears & parenting my toddler at the moment. Taking it one test at a time.
 
I'm a little confused. With TR, 50 is the reduction point for a cat within a year of diagnosis when using a human meter such as the Relion Premiere. If using a pet meter, the reduction point is a 68. In other words, the pet meter reads a bit HIGHER than the human meter.

I am very leery with respect to some of the information that is promulgated on other sites. The Alpha Track meter is discussed in several of the Rooms & Rand papers with the take away message that pet specific meters or serum chemistry analyzers run about 30 to 40% higher than a human meter at the low end of the range. This is not new information.
 
I'm a little confused. With TR, 50 is the reduction point for a cat within a year of diagnosis when using a human meter such as the Relion Premiere. If using a pet meter, the reduction point is a 68. In other words, the pet meter reads a bit HIGHER than the human meter.

I am very leery with respect to some of the information that is promulgated on other sites. The Alpha Track meter is discussed in several of the Rooms & Rand papers with the take away message that pet specific meters or serum chemistry analyzers run about 30 to 40% higher than a human meter at the low end of the range. This is not new information.

I think what she's saying is that a 68 on a ReliOn Premier is the same as a 68 on an Alphatrak -- in that an AlphaTrak 68 is a true human "50" and, thus, a ReliOn Premier 68 should be treated as a human "50."

In any case, I also am pretty leery of info from other groups. The only place I've heard this before is a group I specifically am not a fan of, and so I've ignored it.

That said -- because I've had such limited testing due to Buzzy's medical issues (our testing the last few weeks puts me in line more with SLGS at this point vs. TR although I'm hoping we're at a point where we can be aggressive again now that his ears are healing!!) and because this number today came out of nowhere, I did feel more comfortable just going ahead and attempting the reduction. It's been something I've been considering given that we haven't been able to do TR the way we're supposed to.
 
51 at +2

So, I do have MC and HC food to be clear, but as we are trying very hard to eliminate a food allergy (we suspect chicken), I went ahead and gave him his turkey LC with just the teeniest bit of Karo mixed in (literally I used my fingertip twice to get a few drops to mix in).

That said, he also had to be bribed with a couple of pieces of Dr. Elseys just to let me get the test, so he HAS had some chicken exposure...so that sucks allergy-elimination-wise.

Recognizing he's only at 51, not below 50, but at +2, trying to be safe.
 
L C with karo is fine to get HC. But please test again in 30 minutes to see he isn’t dropping further.
He’s only at+2 and you might have to feed him more HC to get him up higher because nadir is a few hours away, and you need a bit of a buffer to keep him safe.
 
(Well I mean obviously I’ll keep testing but I do have to actually be able to catch him for that to happen and also I’m alone with my kid and I’m doing my best)

I didn’t give more food at this time (minus 2 pieces of elseys or I wouldn’t have caught him at all) to avoid getting full
 
He's a 50 at +2.45 and now I REALLY need to give him a break as he is hiding and running and freaking out
You need to feed him some more LC with a good big drop or two of karo now to bring him up a bit higher, especially if you want to give his ears a break. However when he’s running at 50 and not yet at +3 you really need to keep testing to keep him safe. I do understand it is not easy for you.
You only need to feed a teaspoon of food with the karo
 
You need to feed him some more LC with a good big drop or two of karo now to bring him up a bit higher, especially if you want to give his ears a break. However when he’s running at 50 and not yet at +3 you really need to keep testing to keep him safe. I do understand it is not easy for you.

hes full (struggled to get him to eat any at +2), so my plan is test, LC & Karo at +3.5. He usually nadirs around +4, so we are hopefully very close. He’s not plummeting between tests - he’s been holding quite steady really, so I’m not panicked.

Really questioning if I misdosed last night or something this is so random of him.
 
If he won’t eat and he still has at least 1 1/2 hours til nadir and he’s sitting at 50 I would rub a good drop of karo in his gums to bring him up a bit higher.
Karo only lasts about 1 to 1 1/2 hours before the effect wears off so any you gave at +1 will be wearing off now.
 
I think what she's saying is that a 68 on a ReliOn Premier is the same as a 68 on an Alphatrak -- in that an AlphaTrak 68 is a true human "50" and, thus, a ReliOn Premier 68 should be treated as a human "50."
Yes, correct. Some have found the Relion Premier to read higher than is typical for human meters, and closer to the Alphatrak.
....And many of the same people are in FDMB and the main FB groups, so the people advising you will often be the same people.... :cat:
 
If he won’t eat and he still has at least 1 1/2 hours til nadir and he’s sitting at 50 I would rub a good drop of karo in his gums to bring him up a bit higher.
Karo only lasts about 1 to 1 1/2 hours before the effect wears off so any you gave at +1 will be wearing off now.

He had the Karo at +2, so it'd be wearing off now (+3.5), and he's just gotten more.

49!
Big ol glop (ok like half a tsp) of Karo on his LC.
Reduction definitely earned now, but I assume we hold at 0.75 not reduce to 0.5 next time?
 
He had the Karo at +2, so it'd be wearing off now (+3.5), and he's just gotten more.

49!
Big ol glop (ok like half a tsp) of Karo on his LC.
Reduction definitely earned now, but I assume we hold at 0.75 not reduce to 0.5 next time?
Yes it’s a reduction to 0.75 units.
Please test again in 30 mins to see he’s on the way back up.
 
Great job this morning! Good grief on the low numbers! Buzzy! That's no way to start the day kiddo!

Your mama has earned a well deserved break this afternoon. Why don't you take over for the kid duties and let mama have a nap? :cat:
 
Great job this morning! Good grief on the low numbers! Buzzy! That's no way to start the day kiddo!

Your mama has earned a well deserved break this afternoon. Why don't you take over for the kid duties and let mama have a nap? :cat:

Thanks! At least he chose to do it during the daytime? I really hope I didn't accidentally misdose him last night or something... I don't THINK I did... but I wasn't expecting that number at all!
Everything crossed the reduction holds...
 
I doubt that you did anything wrong or differently...you gotta remember, these cats hold all the cards! Their full of mischief and just when you think they're never, ever going to give you anything but grief - they'll sling a lovely green number right out there on you!

The only problem now is what is he going to do next...and with his ears being what they are...he's in for a bit of a tough time...you may find the need to test a little more if he wants to stay in the lower numbers...it's exciting and scary but now you may be able to walk him down the dosing ladder and you'll be watching for the drop below 50...and you'll have to be ready, like this morning to feed and test, feed and test...to make sure he doesn't bottom out on you...'

You've got the know how and you can do this...but it might require a bit more time...ask your toddler to cooperative a little more (ha, right)...while you see if Buzzy is making a break for 'you know where'...and he may well be...sometimes it happens just like that...crazy!
 
@Sue and Luci you know, his ears did OK this morning - whether the allergen was chicken or his cat litter, we must've identified it somewhere along the line (it's been 5 days on the turkey-only food & back on his old scented litter). I mean, he did have some chicken exposure today via the pieces of Elsey's I gave him to keep him cooperative, but all in all, aside from very poked, his ears didn't flare up bright red, he didn't scratch or head shake more than maybe once or twice right after I let him go... Knock on all the wood!
I did also use a little neosporin again since we pretty well ruled that out as the issue.

So fingers crossed we're on the mend ear-wise...they're obviously still lacking in hair, but they (knock on all the wood) don't seem to be getting worse for the first time in a month!...and I'd LOVE for his pancreas to have kicked back in & for him to keep earning reductions lol.
 
Gotta get those calipers...it will really help a lot...

I have some; I just haven't really looked up how to use them for this. The issue remains just getting the stupid plunger to stop at the right point. On our syringes, if I make the 1u mark hit right in the middle of the black plunger, that's 0.75u, so I can SEE it...just...stupid plunger is so hard to wiggle-twist to the right spot
 
Back
Top