3/21 Boots AMPS 100 +2 85 PMPS 111 +2 93 +4 78, +6 90

Status
Not open for further replies.

dpaslean

Member Since 2014
Good morning all.
More blue PS's. Not much else to say. Pretty flat.
Yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=115758

Summary for 3/20
AMPS 102 gave .5 units.
+2 86
PMPS 119 gave .5 units
+2 87
+4 71

Today 3/21
AMPS 100 gave .5 units
+2 85
PMPS 111 gave .5 units
+2 93
+4 78
+6 90

Everyone have a great day.
Dwight
 
Re: 3/21 Boots AMPS 100

Thanks to you both.
It's been so close the last 4 AMPS I feel like we're being tormented.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 3/21 Boots AMPS 100

He's doing great. It's been one week with all good numbers. You can keep this dose and see how it goes (it's up to you), or you might be able to try a 0.25 reduction tonight. Let's see what others have to say.
 
Re: 3/21 Boots AMPS 100

Sounds good Dyana. Thanks.
I might keep it the same for today and see where we stand this weekend.
I think the biggest thing to getting his BG down so fast was eliminating the dry two days before his initial test of 437 Even those yellows at the top of the SS are not correct.
 
Re: 3/21 Boots AMPS 100, +2 85

You're totally correct, Dwight!

Getting Boots off the dry is probably the main reason he's doing so well now. He may very well have done fine with just the diet change, but giving his pancreas a little "help" with the Lantus sure hasn't hurt...at least now that you're doing it correctly!

It's frustrating as heck to hear so many people hearing the same old things from the veterinary community. I realize vets don't have time to learn every new thing about every disease for every type of animal they see, but diabetes is growing fast, and it's one of those diseases that if you treat it wrong, you are going to hurt or kill the animal. It seems like it wouldn't be all that difficult to spend an hour a night (or even a week) checking into some of the latest treatments for diseases they're going to see more and more of.

OK..Off my soapbox now!

Boots is doing great!!
animalyawn.gif

YAWN......LOL
 
Re: 3/21 Boots AMPS 100, +2 85, PMPS 111

You are right Chris. The list of diabetic foods I was given was unbelievable....dry, dry and more dry.
Anyway, they were always used to the canned because I've always fed 2 meals each day of canned food and would leave a small bowl of dry out during the day and the night. But I never considered the quality of the canned until I seen the Pierson chart and read her site.

So what do you think Chris? or Marje? or Sienne? or whomever? It's been 15 doses of .5. I have been wondering if it is time to go lower and Dyana made the first suggestion. Should I try a lower dose and see or just go with the same .5 unit dose that yields this cycle of high green 70's (probably a 60 here and there also) to the low blue 120's? I don't want to take a step backwards. I can keep this dose a few days longer if it wouldn't hurt.
Thanks to everyone
 
Re: 3/21 Boots AMPS 100, +2 85 PMPS 111

I know on the foods, it's crazy. My previous vet said "just feed her more food and give her dry again, and don't worry about changing the dose" and similar things, refusing to look at TR...making her my previous one...I can't help much on the dosing, just wanted to say Boots looks great! And Happy Friday! :-D
 
Re: 3/21 Boots AMPS 100, +2 85 PMPS 111

Thanks Rachel.
I'm supposed to go back to this vet in a few weeks to check his BUN and creatinine levels. I'm just not all excited about it since I was given a crappy food list and was told my meter was way off.

Did this week take any of your snow away? I remember March 31, 2012. I had to cut the grass that day.... and we are to see lows in the teens this weekend!!!

Take care
 
Re: 3/21 Boots AMPS 100, +2 85 PMPS 111

It's kind of a tough call. We'd like to see more of those green Pre-shot numbers, so it might not be a bad idea to stick with the .5 a little longer and see how he does.

On the other hand, the only way we're going to know for sure if a .25 unit dose will keep him in those normal numbers is to try it. If his numbers start to creep up, then we'd immediately want you to go back to .5

If a reduction fails, you immediately go back to the higher dose that was working. That's the protocol on reductions.

If you're in no hurry, I think I'd probably hang on at the .5 dose awhile longer and see if those pre-shot numbers come down a little more..but others may have other opinions.
 
Re: 3/21 Boots AMPS 100, +2 85 PMPS 111

Some of our snow went down with the above zero, now we are back below zero and have giant ice ruts that my car keeps dragging and smacking on, I skidded sideways and almost got stuck backing out today...I hope there is nothing broken :? . I'm jealous of the nice weather you will have; I definitely won't be mowing the lawn yet, for at least a few months :lol:

I know what it's like to be disappointed in my vet practice. I know, they are following what they are trained... but it's nice when they will talk with instead of to you and are open to new ideas (especially ones proven to work!). Good luck if you do the dosecrease :-D
 
Re: 3/21 Boots AMPS 100, +2 85 PMPS 111, +2 93

I'll stick with the .5 for now. With the exception of those 2 green PMPS's, every PS in the last week has been blue so I don't see why I need to hurry it.
I'll do daily tests this weekend and see what shakes out.

Thanks again.
 
Re: 3/21 Boots AMPS 100 +2 85 PMPS 111 +2 93 +4 78

Dyana suggested reducing the dose based upon what the protocol suggests:

Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Normal numbers aren't just green, but are considered everything under 120. I understand why you might want to see all of them green, but the factor that would make me go ahead and take the reduction is that it appears you're gone during the weekdays, so you wouldn't be there to catch low numbers mid-cycle if they happened. that would make me nervous, especially since those +2's are almost always lower than the preshots. We don't know what the nadirs are - they may very well be below 50.

i'd take the reduction. you can always go back up. Are you home this weekend so you could maybe get a few more mid-cycle tests in so we can see the nadirs?
 
Re: 3/21 Boots AMPS 100 +2 85 PMPS 111 +2 93 +4 78

Julie, based on the protocol would you start the reduction with tomorrows AMPS and then just keep watch? It seems that he bottoms early in the cycle and gradually goes up. I'm going to do a +6 here in a minute and see.

I've been making it a point to be home and do day long tests or at least through +6 on the weekends to get an idea on what I'm missing during the weekdays. Tomorrow and Sun are going to be no different.
 
Re: 3/21 Boots AMPS 100 +2 85 PMPS 111 +2 93 +4 78

Oh no, Dwight. I wasn't able to visit condos yesterday, but I remember our conversation from Wednesday about your need for green. That has to be so frustrating for you to be so close. If Boots is like Jersey, you may want to consider that this is a deliberate plan to torment you. Perhaps an attempt to repay you for all of the pokes? :-D

I so hope you get the green PS tomorrow!
 
Re: 3/21 Boots AMPS 100 +2 85 PMPS 111 +2 93 +4 78

if you're going to be home tomorrow and able to get enough mid-cycle checks to catch the nadir, you could probably wait another day or so. but i'd take the decrease sunday night at the latest, ie, shoot the reduced dose sunday night if you haven't taken it sooner.
 
The +6 was just at 90 so looking at his SS, it seems he is at his lowest sometime between +2 & +6 so I believe his AM cycles are fairly flat. I know I'm not here to know for sure but with the exception of last Friday, his mid cycle tests have been in the 70's mostly and probably some in between 60's. Maybe 50's? Maybe.

Are you thinking I should wait a day before reducing to get a whole cycle test in?


Shelly, I'm a Mich. State grad, I'm supposed to like green.... :mrgreen:

pssst, I've been a closet UM fan since I was 8 yrs old but I don't want to see blue and yellow(maize) in my SS!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top