3/20 Trixie PMPS 184 +2 225 +4 158 - "Trixie Pi" Pic

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Well we finally decided to move off the pink floor! I do think maybe she is doing the NDW thing...or at least I'm telling myself that. The last few times I increased her dose we had these higher numbers. At the same time, though, I've increased her dose several times and we're still primarily stuck on the yellow floor ohmygod_smile . I can't say this surprises me...it is exactly what happened last year when we tried Paw Lickin' Chicken, too...but I guess I was hoping for different results this time. We'll keep plugging away, working until we find a dose that brings her into better numbers while eating PLC.

She was a bright-eyed happy little CPC kitty this morning. From time to time she does this little "yoga stretch" that I just love...downward dog (kitty?), and then she further stretches out each front leg. She doesn't do it all the time, but she did it this morning when she got up for breffis. It's just so stinkin' cute.

Last night, Mariko pointed out that PLC has half the calories of Wellness. This is actually a good thing, although this bean needs to learn to read labels beyond carbs and phosphorous ohmygod_smile !! Vetty did want Trix to lose a little bit of her extra "fluffiness", so with PLC being lower caloried, not only will she love being on a diet, but she can have a nice full tummy and not realize she's on a diet.

One of the items in our wonderful Kitty Basket FDMB Raffle Prize was this gorgeous Kitty Pi! Everyone loves it...they took turns snoozing in it last night, and it was the first place Trix headed when she was done with breffis:



One of my customer came in the other day and said she was glad I was there, because her kitty was just diagnosed last weekend. She wanted to know which meter I used. She's a nurse and works crazy hours...she's not going to be able to follow a rigid 12/12 schedule or TR, but I think I was able to give her some good basic info. Of course I gave her the link to the forum, ADW, and Dr Lisa's site. I don't know what she is feeding, BUT, her vetty told her to START at 3.00U BID - and that this was a SMALL dose! I really pounded that one into the ground...it scares me. And she knows enough to be scared about hypo, and at least she is testing when she can. I encouraged her to start at 1.00U and work up from there...hopefully she'll either take it upon herself to do that, or talk to her vet about doing that. Then again, maybe she's feeding prescription food and that's why her vet thinks 3.00U is a small dose. I'm just praying her kitty stays safe....at least she will be testing when she can (she was heading straight from my store to Walmart for a Relion), but there are days she works 15 hours shifts.....

Have a great day, LL!

Amy
 

Attachments

  • TrixiePiFDMB.JPG
    TrixiePiFDMB.JPG
    94.5 KB · Views: 383
Re: 3/20 Trixie AMPS 307 +2.5 284 - "Trixie Pi" Pic

oh what a cute pic....

I had to look since I've always called mine Shadow pie.....
and my dh always has to chime in... if she were a pie, I'd eat her.... :o :lol:
 
Re: 3/20 Trixie AMPS 307 +2.5 284 - "Trixie Pi" Pic

LOL...I call my civvie Petey "Petey Pie" and "Sweetie Petey Pie". Last night, he was "Sweetie Petey Pie in the Pi."
 
Re: 3/20 Trixie AMPS 307 +2.5 284 - "Trixie Pi" Pic

Morning Amy ~O) ~O) ~O)

YAY! We are headed down this morning. Think blue Trixie, you can do it!

Love the photo - saw that on FB this morning too. So cute! I really like that kitty pi. The yoga stretch sounds great too - I can see that. Cute!

Good luck to your customer, I hope she listened. With her being a nurse I hope she will. Good luck to her.

Have a great day today. I hope all goes well.
 
Re: 3/20 Trixie AMPS 307 +2.5 284 - "Trixie Pi" Pic

Keep bringing it down Trixie! I loveeee the pic. She is so stinking cute. I just want to cuddle her. Wow on your customer. I am so glad you are there to help her. Imagine how many people are out there doing it all alone. Have a great day!!
 
Re: 3/20 Trixie AMPS 307 +2.5 284 - "Trixie Pi" Pic

We definitely want to see some blue, Trix. You can do it! Too cute about all the kitties having to try out the new bed. :-D I hope your customer listens to you, at least enough to question the vet and check out other sources of information.
Liz
 
Re: 3/20 Trixie AMPS 307 +2.5 284 - "Trixie Pi" Pic

Hi Amy,
Trixie looks so happy and comfy in the new Pi. It's neat that your kitties take turns sleeping in it! I hope you get to the right dose to compensate for the PLC soon. But Trixie is doing OK and eating something she likes, and that is good.

I hope that your customer will take your advice, join the board, and learn how to care for her diabetic kitty.

Have a great day and HAPPY SPRING!!! (it's here, you know. :lol: )

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/20 Trixie AMPS 307 +2.5 284 - "Trixie Pi" Pic

Amy-What a cute pic!! Trixie looks all warm, snugly and ever so cute! It makes me just want to scoop up the pi, with Trixie inside.
Now, c'mon Trixie show your mama bean some pretty blues.
Hope you have a great day
 
Re: 3/20 Trixie AMPS 307 +2.5 284 - "Trixie Pi" Pic

Hi, Amy, today's condo warms my heart in so many ways ♥
I love love love the Trixie Pi photo ~ she's such a CUTIE! (I wonder if they make the Kittie Pi in my size ;-) )
It's so sweet that the kittehs share it.
I also love that you're able to provide some insight & direction to your customer about FD. I am once again so grateful I found LL right away upon Ripley's dx ~ finding cohorts was essential for her well-being (and mine!). I wish her kitty well.
Enjoy your day ☼
 
Re: 3/20 Trixie AMPS 307 +2.5 284 - "Trixie Pi" Pic

Trixie is so adorable in the new pi. I've only got two here and there aren't that good about taking turns on the new beds. :lol: Sending you tons of NDW-be-gone vines so that you see blues soon.

I've talked to a few people I know about FD too, and it's hard not worrying about their kitties too. Especially if you don't hear back for a while.
 
Re: 3/20 Trixie AMPS 307 +2.5 284 - "Trixie Pi" Pic

That is such a cute picture. I hope things work out for your customer's kitty.
 
Re: 3/20 Trixie PMPS 184 +2 225 - "Trixie Pi" Pic

Thanks for the visits, everyone! All the kitties are loving the Pi...although Zen kinda spills out over its edges :lol: ...he's a big boy!

I was happy to see Trix worked her way down to the blues for PMPS. Not loving the fuds spike...I was hoping to avoid that tonight, but at least it's lower yellow - and fingers crossed it won't go any higher. As of now, her next dosecrease would be Saturday morning, unless we start seeing more progress. I do think the few blues we're getting here and there are a good sign that we are hopefully getting close to a good PLC dose....
 
Re: 3/20 Trixie PMPS 184 +2 225 - "Trixie Pi" Pic

Trixie is just adorable in her pi! What a sweet face :-D And how cool finding out her favorite food is lower in calories! Wish I could do that :lol: :lol:

Hope you see some more blues tonight, Amy~
 
Re: 3/20 Trixie PMPS 184 +2 225 - "Trixie Pi" Pic

What can I say other than "Awwwwwww!"

Looks so comfy in her Pi!!

Pretty PMPS, but boo on the food spike. Why can't our kitties just do what we want (or expect, or hope, or pray) they do? sure would make this dance a lot less stressful wouldn't it?

Come on Trixie...you look better in blue!
 
Re: 3/20 Trixie PMPS 184 +2 225 - "Trixie Pi" Pic

What an adorable picture, of a beautiful little girl! I just want to smoosh her up with hugs and kisses! Yeah, I'm weird like that :lol:

I also agree with Jane, why aren't my favorite foods lower calorie? :roll: . I was going to mention it too, that's one of the reasons I'd like to supplement with the steak one so she can eat lots and have less calories as she does need to lose a pound ish. We will try it again soon.

I love your description of the yoga stretch, it's so cute :-D . I'm glad you could help your customer so much. You gave her all the info so hopefully she will implement it all! And I got a chuckle out of your sweetie Petey Pie in the Pi ;-) . Paws crossed on some sliding soon. Have a great night!
 
Trix thanks everyone for the lovely compliments about her picture :-D !! I'm a bit biased, but I think she's awfully cute, too :lol: !! And, she turned it around to a lovely blue evening as well...I hope we're on to something here!
 
YYYAaaaayyyayyyyyy!
I'm excited!
Well done, Trixie!!!
Nice blue blue blue blue blue blue.
That is a lovely +4 number, Amy! \M/

Trixie is looking incredibly cute in her new kitty pi. :-D
 
Oh Trixie PI!!!! So beautiful and sweet. And you got your yoga stretches done!!! And now some blue too!!!!

I hope this is the dose that will get past the PLC spikes. Nice to see her coming back down.

It's great that you could help someone with their kitty. You probably saved her life. :-D
 
I LOVE that picture! What an adorable baby! Great numbers, too. I hope this does mean the current dose is the "right" one.

How nice of you to tell your customer about FDMB and try to steer her away from bad advice. It constantly amazes me how little an otherwise excellent vet knows about FD. It scares me to think how many kitties don't make it because their vets don't know more and don't refer their beans to someone who does. I was so encouraged today when the vet I took Sasha to was taking notes when I asked about L-lysine and Allerplex. She was interested in learning more, which is important to me.

Cinco was the only one of my kitties that embraced the PLC. The others took a bite or two and walked away. However, much later in the day, I noticed the plate of PLC I'd left out was empty, and when I replenished it, Harvey went over and cleaned it off! :lol: Silly, finicky kitties! They think they have to maintain their image. :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top