3/20 TAFFY/AMPS 313/+1 301/+6.75 272/PMPS 200/+2 149

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taffysmama

Member Since 2016
Missed a day or two posting and Need to update my SS, but I am unsure what to do. If I increase Taffy, he may just earn a reduction in a few cycles. But on this dose, he is only seeing green occasionally. That said, I have been unable to get as many tests as I would like during each cycle, so I don't really know for certain.

I am so so drained every night right now, that I am very nervous about increasing and not being conscious enough to monitor adequately. Also, we will be starting a new pen either tomorrow or Wed. So, I am inclined to hold his dose at 1.5 at least until I start the new insulin for a cycle or two.

BUT, what harm am I doing to Taffy letting him continue in these numbers (mostly 200s)?? I know that I am not following protocol either, and should have been increasing after just a few cycles. But I just have not been up for the ups and downs and all-nighters.

Advice?
 
With that 79 the other night, Taffy could just be clearing a bounce very slowly

I'd continue with the 1.5 at least tonight and see how it goes tonight

If you're going to start a new pen, I'd start it tomorrow so you can hold the dose for just another cycle or two before making a decision to go up or not (just to make sure the new insulin isn't going to act a lot stronger than the old one)
 
Spreadsheet up-to-date.

Also, I should add that I have also not been able to be as regimented about his meal & snack timing.
 
Taffy could just be clearing a bounce very slowly
Yes, that is what I thought, as well. Seems like the last several times he has hit green, he has taken several days to clear his bounces. I guess I am glad that the bounces are mostly yellow and low pinks, not higher.
hold the dose for just another cycle or two before making a decision to go up or not
That is what I was thinking, too. I have not had a chance to pick up the new pen and not sure I can tomorrow either, but should be able to get it by Wed, or tomorrow evening. I HOPE that my schedule will lighten up a little at the end of the week, as I have some help coming to assist with my senior friend. But I will be working again on the weekend.

I am downing vitamins and trying to eat right and keep my energy up, but my brain is shot!
 
Hi Julie! I was looking for you earlier tonight on the board and am glad to see your recent post. Hope all is well. I always tease about our kitties being dance partners and something being in the water here in So Cal, but seriously our FD journey is so similar!

I worry about a lot of time spent in yellow too and I look forward to reading the feedback you receive on your question. I also feel like we are not sticking to the TR protocol either. I feel like we are breaking rules or something but it's really hard to adjust to when you can't monitor while at work and you have an unpredictable kitty. There is a sticky on following TR when you have a FT job, but I really honestly don't know how folks do it. A +2 doesn't tell me squat about my unpredictable kitty at his nadir or after the insulin really kicks in. We just try our hardest to do the best we can with the time we have and our ability to monitor. I know you have similar concerns but want to say that you have been such a committed mamabean and I always enjoy checking your posts and seeing how sweet Taffy and Baby are doing.

Hope your migraines are getting better or better yet are GONE!
 
what are the yellows doing to Taffy?

Well of course nobody can answer that for sure, but generally we want to keep them under renal threshold as much as possible......Now renal threshold varies from cat to cat.....generally it's around 250 but in some it's lower and some higher.

The more time they spend below renal threshold, the more rest their kidneys get from working so hard .....now 200's are better than 300's, 300's are better than 400's, etc.

The only way to know what Taffy's renal threshold is would be to use urine glucose strips and compare the results you get with the blood glucose numbers....when there's no glucose in the urine, you know that below that blood glucose level, the kidneys are better off
 
Hi Julie! I was looking for you earlier tonight on the board and am glad to see your recent post. Hope all is well. I always tease about our kitties being dance partners and something being in the water here in So Cal, but seriously our FD journey is so similar!

I worry about a lot of time spent in yellow too and I look forward to reading the feedback you receive on your question. I also feel like we are not sticking to the TR protocol either. I feel like we are breaking rules or something but it's really hard to adjust to when you can't monitor while at work and you have an unpredictable kitty. There is a sticky on following TR when you have a FT job, but I really honestly don't know how folks do it. A +2 doesn't tell me squat about my unpredictable kitty at his nadir or after the insulin really kicks in. We just try our hardest to do the best we can with the time we have and our ability to monitor. I know you have similar concerns but want to say that you have been such a committed mamabean and I always enjoy checking your posts and seeing how sweet Taffy and Baby are doing.

Hope your migraines are getting better or better yet are GONE!
Thank you for the sweet post! I always look for Ozzy's updates, too, even when I don't have energy to post or comment. I agree with all you say. Taffy is unpredictable and my schedule changes. Btwn migraine days, work days, and now I am helping daily with an elderly friend who has dementia/memory loss. I think my hormones are really working me, too! I just don't feel safe many days/nights to give taffy increases, etc. I am so tired and brain dead! Speaking of...going to sleep soon, but Taffy had a decent drop at +2...
 
Hang in there. You are doing your best for Taffy and that's all you can do. You just have to work around your schedule. We can't always follow the protocol to the letter. I hope things calm down for you soon. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top