3/20: Sammy - AMPS 86; +3 56; +5 69; PMPS 83

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Good afternoon, it has been a busy morning at the office and this is the first chance I have had to start Sammy's condo for today. Sammy hit 55 last night at +5 and I had every intention to test again at +6, but either I didn't set the alarm properly or I somehow turned it off in my sleep, not sure which, but I didn't get another reading. It could be possible that Sammy went lower than 55 last night because at +9 he was only at 59, but I just really don't know. I will see how tonight goes and if he gets anywhere close to 50, I might try a reduction tomorrow. And when I say close I mean 51, meter variance and all. LOL!

He had another 56 this morning at +3 before I left for work and I was nervous he wasn't going to eat on his own, I watched him all morning on the video camera and he didn't eat. A little before +5 he did get up to eat. I had already planned on running home at +5 to test so I tested him about 10 minute after he ate. He was at a comfortable 69, so I set the auto feeder for the afternoon snack, left a bit more food out and left. I just hope that someone, either Crystal or Sammy, eats the snack not in the feeder otherwise there is a chance the PMPS will be food induced. DH could pull it at +11 if it is still out, but I should have just put it in open auto feeder spot, hindsight.

Anyway, I am a little more relaxed today than yesterday, I was really stressed yesterday because Sammy wasn't eating on his own, but I think that had a lot to do with tummy issues from the Duck food. I was very happy to see him head to get a snack this morning without prompting from me. I know this should be natural, but with insulin on board it just makes me nervous.

I am glad today is Friday, because it means that I will have two days at home with him before going back to work on Monday. Hopefully he will earn another reduction before Monday.

Hope everyone is enjoying the first day of Spring.
 
Hopefully he will earn another reduction before Monday.
Sammy has held normal (non diabetic kitty) BGs since the last reduction - 8 cycles so far.
At this stage if he maintains normal numbers for 14 consecutive cycles you could reduce. :cool:


From the TR guidelines:
Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
 
Both Sammy and Crystal had a bit of a snack today between 12:30 and 1:00 pm (+7-+7.5). I am very happy to see Sammy looking for food on his own. I relieves my mind a bit more. The unfortunate part is he was looking again a little bit ago at 2:00 pm (+8.5), and there was nothing there. The auto feeder is set to provide a snack in another few minutes so I hope he hasn't gone back to sleep yet.
 
Sammy is looking awesome. It is SO relieving that he's eating on his own....the stress when they won't eat is brutal. Hopefully he'll find the next snack! Trix never took to an autofeeder, which surprised me - before she got sick last year, she was a hoover kitty, but it never caught her attention.

A few days ago, you mentioned that you guys had decided to sheetrock the paneling in your basement...that's exactly what we're in the midst of doing, too! We were going to paint the paneling, but then decided fresh sheetrock would look much better, and it has snowballed from there. A year and a half later...and we probably still have a year and a half to go (given the rate we're moving!)

Have a great day, Tina! Eat your snack, Sammy!
 
HI Tina, I've been meaning to mention that you have a civvie called Crystal too, I hadn't heard anyone else with that name but we obviously share good taste! (read Crystal's profile to see how her name came about). Glad to hear that Sammy's appetite is coming back, have a good weekend and try to get some R&R. Sammy's numbers look brilliant, job well done.
 
@Amy&TrixieCat Yes, yesterday it was really worrying me that Sammy wasn't eating, but I am glad to see that it was just the upset tummy. He did end up missing his snack. I tried to get is attention via the intercom on the camera, but I never know if it is working or not. I can't hear myself through the speaker. He slept right through until almost +11.5, and then was looking for food a few times before I was able to get home.

We painted the paneling a few years back and it really did look so much better, at the time we didn't have the money or the time to take down the paneling and put up sheetrock. Now we really don't have the time, but we are doing it anyway. DH was actually suppose to start the project the week after the Christmas tree came down, but he has yet to start it. The Christmas tree came down the second weekend in January. So much for that plan. We knit camp coming up for me I just have too much going on that I haven't really pushed him to get it started, but I probably will once I am home from camp at the end of April
 
@suki & crystal I love "Your" Crystal's story about how she got her name. Our Crystal is also a tiny dainty cat, I think the most she has ever weight is about 9 pounds. All my other cast were always well over 10 pounds. My Crystal got her name because of the Frosty the Snowman cartoon, Crystal was Frosty's girlfriends name and we got Crystal and her brother Cody at the beginning of January 2001. We had been looking for kittens since before Christmas the prior year and I had already decided that if we got a girl kitty I wanted to name her Crystal.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top