3.20 Rufus AMPS 104, +3 85, PMPS 160, +2 145 (AT2)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Also, I have 3/10ml syringes 30 unit . If Rufus needs .5ml of Adequan, would that be 25 units on 2 syringes?
 
Not sure about the adequan and insulin mixture. But my civvies adequan shots are into muscle (not subq). Wonder about the difference. They really seem to be helping her.
This is his 2nd Adequan today. Vet said to dogs usually get it in the muscle, sometimes subq, but cats with him are always subq. Sounded good to me! Much more comfortable with subq. Just have to get used to the huge needle. I did it today, but took me some time and treats for Rufus.

He has been acting much better even after the 1st shot! Has jumped up on couch and ottoman at least once a day since! I'm pretty excited for him :)
 
This is his 2nd Adequan today. Vet said to dogs usually get it in the muscle, sometimes subq, but cats with him are always subq. Sounded good to me! Much more comfortable with subq. Just have to get used to the huge needle. I did it today, but took me some time and treats for Rufus.

He has been acting much better even after the 1st shot! Has jumped up on couch and ottoman at least once a day since! I'm pretty excited for him :)
I said the same thing after just one shot with Daisy. I couldn’t believe the difference in her. I had my husband give the first shot at home. You would think after shooting insulin for a year I could manage, but I didn’t like the idea of injecting into her muscle. Now that I think about it, her vet did mention that it could be subq, but she has always done into the muscle. As long as it works, that’s all that matters!
 
Trix was OTJ when she started Adequan so I'm not sure about the timing, but I would try to spread them out a little bit, just "because". I'd also try to shoot in two separate areas, at least a little bit...like shoulder and scruff. I'm glad it seems to already be helping!
 
Trix was OTJ when she started Adequan so I'm not sure about the timing, but I would try to spread them out a little bit, just "because". I'd also try to shoot in two separate areas, at least a little bit...like shoulder and scruff. I'm glad it seems to already be helping!
I think from now on I'll try to do the shots around +6 just to give it time to absorb and be safe. Hoping to be employed soon though, so we'll see. I guess it's only for a month that he needs 2x per week.
 
Yes, that's what our vet recommends - twice a week for a month, then once a week for a month, then every other week for a month, then as needed - usually once every 3-4 weeks. I know other vets follow different protocols.
 
This vet said 2x weekly for a month, then 1 or 2 times a month. But it's up to me (and Rufus) if that is enough or if needed more.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top