3/20 Rascal AMBG 15.8 (284) Advice?

KatRas

Member Since 2024
Hey All!
I took his BG on Monday and it was sitting at 8.0 (a bit high but pretty normal - 144), today it's 15.8.

I'm new to this but I don't know what could've caused this jump and I don't know if I should be concerned :(

I always take his BG 4 hours after his insulin (since that's what the vet told me to do) and I see that a bunch of people are taking it at different times so I'm not sure what I should be doing! He also doesn't love the prick so the less I can do it the better but I know monitoring is important!

He was diagnosed in December and I still don't seem to have a dose that is consistent and levels his BG which concerns me (but I don't know how long it takes, that just seems long).

If anyone has any advice, I would really appreciate it.

Thank you!
 
Hey All!
I took his BG on Monday and it was sitting at 8.0 (a bit high but pretty normal - 144), today it's 15.8.

I'm new to this but I don't know what could've caused this jump and I don't know if I should be concerned :(

I always take his BG 4 hours after his insulin (since that's what the vet told me to do) and I see that a bunch of people are taking it at different times so I'm not sure what I should be doing! He also doesn't love the prick so the less I can do it the better but I know monitoring is important!

He was diagnosed in December and I still don't seem to have a dose that is consistent and levels his BG which concerns me (but I don't know how long it takes, that just seems long).

If anyone has any advice, I would really appreciate it.

Thank you!
Hi Kat and welcome! Rascal is adorable! There’s a lot to learn with feline diabetes. You’re off to a great start by posting a question. That’s how you will learn by being here.
I’ll tag Diane, she’s so great at sending out all that important first steps to begin getting you up and running here and get you some help! @Diane Tyler's Mom
Wishing you and Rascal lots of luck :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
@KatRas
I see you are using lantus per your intro post
Hi Kat we need you to set up what we call our signature
You have in your title AMBG it should be AMPS for the morning dose and PMPS for the evening dose
Tap on this blue link

Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help

Read where it says
Add info we need to help you:

We also need you to set up our spreadsheet, not the one you have
Here is the link and it will also explain how it works, it's really easy
You need to link our spreadsheet to your signature

If you need help setting it up I can tag a member to contact you and set it up for you just ask

I see on your spreadsheet you are giving different doses in the AM and PM
You need to dose the same amount of insulin for both cycles
We do not base the number of units based on the Pre Shots ,we base them on how low the BG is dropping which is called the nadir
Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
  • How to do a Curve - a simple explanation
 
Last edited:
@KatRas
Hi Kat we need you to set up what we call our signature
Tap on this blue link

Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help

Read where it says
Add info we need to help you:

We also need you to set up our spreadsheet, not the one you have
Thank you @Diane Tyler's Mom :bighug:
 
Your previous post ( intro post)
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-pretty-overwhelmed.287751/#post-3161786

Are you still feeding any dry food? If so you need to follow the method SLGS. I see you have combo in your last post
You can read about the dosing methods here
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
I would read all the yellow stickys about lantus

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
I see some members gave you 2 links for food. I see you are from Canada
You can feed Fancy Feast Pate, most feed around 5% and under
Most of the Fancy Feast Pates are 2 and 3 %
Also have a hypo kit ready in case his BG drops to low such as
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.
 
Last edited:
I always take his BG 4 hours after his insulin (since that's what the vet told me to do) and I see that a bunch of people are taking it at different times so I'm not sure what I should be doing! He also doesn't love the prick so the less I can do it the better but I know monitoring is important!
I would get a test at +2 which means 2 hours after giving insulin and at +6
For both cycles
+6 is usually when you can catch the nadir but not always
Try and mix up the times you test each day
Maybe +3, then +5
The more tests the better.
Always test AMPS ( AM Pre Shot ) and PMPS to be sure it's safe to give the insulin

You need to withhold feeding Rascale 2 hours before testing at AM PS and PMPS because you don't want his BG to be influenced by food

I'm going to tag a few members to take a look at the SS you have until you set up ours and maybe they can tell you how many units you should stay with

Can you please add this information you have that you put on your First post you did to your signature
DX: December 15, 2023
Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency): Lantus (pen)
Name of your meter: OneTouch Verio
Diet: "combo"
Dosing: TR(Ibelieve),

I don't think you are following either of the 2 dosing methods

Do you see mine in gray lettering at the end of my posts
 
Last edited:
Hey All!
I took his BG on Monday and it was sitting at 8.0 (a bit high but pretty normal - 144), today it's 15.8.

I'm new to this but I don't know what could've caused this jump and I don't know if I should be concerned :(

I always take his BG 4 hours after his insulin (since that's what the vet told me to do) and I see that a bunch of people are taking it at different times so I'm not sure what I should be doing! He also doesn't love the prick so the less I can do it the better but I know monitoring is important!

He was diagnosed in December and I still don't seem to have a dose that is consistent and levels his BG which concerns me (but I don't know how long it takes, that just seems long).

If anyone has any advice, I would really appreciate it.

Thank you!

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
@Marje and Gracie

Hi ladies I asked Kat to set up her signature and our SS.
She does have one but it really doesn't help much
Kat is from Canada

Can you take a look at her SS and maybe suggest a dose she can stay with. I also gave her information and I see from her intro post which I posted above
I see this is what information she has so far from her intro post
I tried to figure out how to add info to my profile and can't seem to figure it out so in the meantime, here's some more info:
Kitty's name: Rascal
DX: December 15, 2023
Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency): Lantus (pen)
Name of your meter: OneTouch Verio
Diet: "combo"
Dosing: TR (I believe), he started at 3.0units and it was increased to 3.5 per dose thenbrought back down (now at 2 and 1.5)
DKA or other recent health issue: some weight loss and muscle loss in back legs
 
Last edited:
Good luck Kat! Take your time and go through all the links Diane shared. The big thing I learned since joining is that our regular vets don’t usually know much about feline diabetes :( or they think owners won’t be willing to handle treatment, so their regimens tend to be a bit simpler and not necessarily catered to each specific cat.
 
I'm new to this but I don't know what could've caused this jump and I don't know if I should be concerned
No need to be concerned. The number one comment by far, of members with newly diagnosed cats is '"the numbers are all over the place". What you might be seeing is what we call bouncing, an extremely annoying to us but normal reaction of cats:
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

If you can put the spreadsheet in our format we might be able to provide suggestions on how to change the dose to get him more regulated. If you need help with the spreadsheet, let us know, we have people who can help with that.
 
Back
Top