3/20 Princess AMPS=175 +3=75, +4=67, +6=99; +9=90

Status
Not open for further replies.

Princess mother

Member Since 2015
Good Morning all,

Princess is having some odd numbers today. Could someone take a look at her SS and let me know if you see anything.?

Marie
 
Why odd? This looks like a beautiful cycle for Princess. Since you are following the SLGS protocol, those numbers today earned Princess a .25U reduction down to .25U. :D
 
Why odd? This looks like a beautiful cycle for Princess. Since you are following the SLGS protocol, those numbers today earned Princess a .25U reduction down to .25U. :D
I guess I thought it was odd because of the 100 point drop. I'll adjust her insulin. Its getting harder to see on the syringes!!

I have a question....how do you know when a cat no longer needs insulin?
 
I've not used the SLGS method, but it looks like you try going without insulin if kitty earns a reduction from the .25 unit dose. After that, she is considered in remission if she goes 14 days without needing insulin. Here is the bit from the document on the SLGS method.

Remission:
Remission is reached when kitty can go 14 days without insulin while maintaining normal blood glucose values in the 50 - 120 mg/dL (2.7 - 6.6 mmol/L) range. Most will remain in the 50 - 80mg/dL (2.7 - 4.4 mmol/L) range. However, some will experience infrequent BG numbers higher than the norm. Continue feeding low carb food. Test the cat's BGs once per month. If BG numbers begin to trend upwards, it's time to bring kitty in to see your vet for a check-up. Common reasons for kitty falling out of remission include dental issues, infection, inflammation, pancreatitis, etc. Just about any illness or disease can do it.
 
I've not used the SLGS method, but it looks like you try going without insulin if kitty earns a reduction from the .25 unit dose. After that, she is considered in remission if she goes 14 days without needing insulin. Here is the bit from the document on the SLGS method.

Remission:
Remission is reached when kitty can go 14 days without insulin while maintaining normal blood glucose values in the 50 - 120 mg/dL (2.7 - 6.6 mmol/L) range. Most will remain in the 50 - 80mg/dL (2.7 - 4.4 mmol/L) range. However, some will experience infrequent BG numbers higher than the norm. Continue feeding low carb food. Test the cat's BGs once per month. If BG numbers begin to trend upwards, it's time to bring kitty in to see your vet for a check-up. Common reasons for kitty falling out of remission include dental issues, infection, inflammation, pancreatitis, etc. Just about any illness or disease can do it.
Thanks, Wendy. Do you know if those normal numbers are the same if I am using an Alphatrak 2 meter?
 
We don't have a description of what "normal" numbers are for the AlphaTrak. The SLGS method was written for use with a human blood glucose meter. We do know from one paper on the TR protocol that 50 on a human meter is about 68 on the AlphaTrak. The same paper says that AlphaTrak numbers are around 30-40% higher than blood glucose readings taken on a human meter. Looks like that means normal on an AlphaTrak would be 68 to 30-40% higher than 120.

Back on the topic of the 100 point drop - how are you feeding Princess? If you aren't doing so already, it might be useful to spread out her meals a bit. Maybe part of her meal around +2 so she has some new carbs on board when she onsets.
 
We don't have a description of what "normal" numbers are for the AlphaTrak. The SLGS method was written for use with a human blood glucose meter. We do know from one paper on the TR protocol that 50 on a human meter is about 68 on the AlphaTrak. The same paper says that AlphaTrak numbers are around 30-40% higher than blood glucose readings taken on a human meter. Looks like that means normal on an AlphaTrak would be 68 to 30-40% higher than 120.

Back on the topic of the 100 point drop - how are you feeding Princess? If you aren't doing so already, it might be useful to spread out her meals a bit. Maybe part of her meal around +2 so she has some new carbs on board when she onsets.
I have been feeding her only twice a day. Shes 14 pounds and the vet wants her to lose weight. I do agree that she does better with some food in between.
 
Just take your normal amount you feed her, and divide it into mini meals, so half at preshot and half a couple hours later. That might help the diving.
 
You don't have to give additional food in between, just hold some back from her meals for a bit later.

Looking good :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top