3/20 Oren; AMPS-417;(dosecrease to 4u)+6 reading weird again, Opinion please??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan & Oren

Member Since 2015
this is making NO sense. +6 422, he's up from amps??? once again i was suspicious; did a 2nd test, and got 393. is my meter whacked? is the insulin losing potency? (about 1.5 mo. old). I know there is variation in the meters (20% allowed) but this makes it very hard to trust/assess what is really happening. Is he up or down since AMPS??
 
Hi Sandy; He's about 12, and came to me w/ bad teeth in 2007. missing his 2 bottom canines at the time. since then, the upper two had to be removed a couple of years ago and he had a cleaning of the rest. He was just at the vet last week and she didn't mention anything w/ his teeth.. He also got a blood test and no UTI, but did have slightly elevated white blood count.
 
After a dose increase you can see some New Dose Wonkiness with temporarily higher numbers. Also remember that meters can read with up to 20% error and in the 400's that's an 80 point difference. The numbers could be all the same. Have patience, let the depot build and you will see better numbers in a later cycle. For now you can declare a pokie break the rest of the cycle.
 
BK is around 12 as well. Bad teeth and gums where his Achilles heel. Addressing it was key for him.
(I'll have to dig up BKs bloodwork from back then and see what his WBC was)

You can see the impact to BGs on his ss -
1st dental was 12/08/2008 - 8 or so extractions
2nd dental was 05/29/2009 - 4 (or so) more extractions

As well as the impact on insulin needs:


BK insulin graph (640x359).jpg


The first 2 dentals were done by a veterinary dental specialist. After that his vet did annual dental cleanings/procedures and eventually all teeth were removed.

A dental is something to consider.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top