? 3/20 Millie AMPS 79 (AT) Dosing Suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.
I see this was posted almost 30 minutes ago. If you test again now, is her BG rising or falling? Are you able to get a test during the PM cycle? If her BG is rising, I'm wondering how low it was at the insulin's peak. Are you following TR or SLGS? If you're following the SLGS protocol then she's earned a reduction.
 
It would be helpful if you add SLGS to your signature. The reduced dose would be 1 unit. Were you able to test again? It looks like she bounces from low numbers, so if her BG is rising, I would shoot the reduced dose if I were in the same situation. Are you able to test again in 2-3 hours?
 
Just added the SLGS.

I am unable to test because it requires two of us and right now I'm the only one home.

The low numbers happened the other day. My understanding is I should lower the dose every time her BG is below 90? I guess I'm still a bit leery of doing that without input.

When it comes to food, Millie is a grazer . I think she ran out of food over night. I haven't tackled the feeding thing as a means to assist with her diabetes. Not sure how to proceed with that. Is there information regarding feeding schedules?
 
We don't usually take reductions back-to-back. If you're unable to test to see if her BG is rising/dropping, then it's safer to skip the dose, especially not knowing how low she went last night. As for feeding schedule, other people might be able to give a better answer... Some people use auto-feeders so food is available overnight or during the work day at certain times in the cycle. For a while, I was feeding my cats every 12 hours (at shot time), but I now feed them at shot time and 4 hours later. I work from home but I have to be in the kitchen with them while they eat or Chino will finish his food and try to eat the other cat's food.
 
I was also told to try to not skip a dose. I wasn't sure if I should give a reduced dose with a little food? Her shot is due now. Should I tag someone?
 
Please review the SLGS sticky. Dose changes are typically made in 0.25u amounts.

If you are not going to be able to get any tests, it's not safe to shoot. I hope you are working on being able to have one person handle Millie when it comes to testing. Skipping shots is far from ideal but it's also not safe to shoot low numbers if you can't monitor.

Is there any way you can get PM cycle tests -- even one before you go to bed?
 
IMO With having had a DKA episode recently (March 2017) it would be better to not skip the shot. Even giving a much reduced dose if you are unable to monitor closely would be better than a skip.

ETA You could give some higher carb foods to get to a good shootable number
 
I am torn about what to advise. With DKA that has caused several stays at the vets AND often very low numbers it is a Catch 22 situation. I read some more of your posts and see you are not being able to test by yourself so the safe thing would be to skip the shot. It is just that the recent DKA is also concerning. However a hypo can become an emergency situation very quickly, so skipping would be safer.

Tough situation
 
Yes, it's tough and being new to this doesn't make it easy. We weren't never able to set a dose when she became DKA; my tendency is to not take any chances. I also intend to lower her PM dose..
 
Always best to be safe, but your situation is a difficult with having two opposite considerations...both the recent DKA and the habit of dropping into low numbers. The hard part is the fact that you are not able to monitor during the day. I do feel for your situation :bighug: :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top