3/20 Mego AMPS 182 +4.75 104 +6.25 71 +7 62 +8 60

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katie & Mego (GA)

Member Since 2013
Good morning everyone,

So I had my first newbie lower BG last night (44) at PMPS +4 on day 2 of insulin. Thanks to Wendy, Marje, Courtney & Sienne, they walked me through it AND stayed up late with me until I was comfortable. So as of this morning his AMPS is 182 which I was quite surprised considering all the sugary goodies he got last night and food left out after bedtime. In yesterday's condo we discussed giving him .75 units if he wasn't too high this morning. So I think I'm going to go with that and test often again today. Great news is that Mego is now bleeding like a champ for me which makes things a lot easier.

Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=91351

I'll update the subject line as the day progresses with his test results. Thanks again all of you for being so supportive and any additional feedback on yesterday's condo or today is greatly appreciated.
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 Day 3 after 3/19 PMPS +4 of 44

Well done Katie! Glad you are learning the sugar dancing fast with the co-operation of Mego!
Another green today Mego :mrgreen: !
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 Day 3 after 3/19 PMPS +4 of 44

I know that low # all too well, although it was much lower than that when we first began! :lol: You did a wonderful job, and not a bad AMPS this morning, either. Have a great day!
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 Day 3 after 3/19 PMPS +4 of 44

Hi Katie, I hope you got some rest after all the excitement last night. The newbie lows are a rite of initiation around these parts :lol: These sugar babies like to make sure we learn quickly! You did a tremendous job.

Mego is looking good this morning! I hope he surfs safely for you :)
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 Day 3 after 3/19 PMPS +4 of 44

Thanks Courtney, I did get some sleep but I was still tired this morning. I was pleasantly surprised at his number this morning and I hope he has a good day. I'll be doing his first test shortly.

And whoever (probably many people) told me to get the neosporin + pain relief - I LOVE YOU!
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 +2 142 Day 3

I also got copies of his bloodwork and urinalysis from last week so I guess I have a little project for this afternoon between testing. I see that he already has a lower number from the AMPS so again I'll be watching him carefully and testing often. So far this is the trend we saw last night after the PMPS and I really don't want to have another night like last night. I need to start figuring out how I'll manager things once I go back to work so I think the collection of as much data as possible in the next few days is going to be critical. I have left a msg at the vets office for her to call me when she comes back in on Friday. I hope that conversation goes well. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 +2 142 +3 65 Day 3

In the GREEN! He is now AMPS +3 65 so it appears that he's having what I've heard referenced as an "active cycle." At what point do I start giving him some extra carbs? I would assume he will once again continue to go down for the next few hours in the cycle.
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 +2 142 +3 65 Day 3

Good Morning Katie. Now would be a good time to give Mego a couple tsp of low carb regular food to see if you can get him to hang out around here. Call it a gentle bit of braking.
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 +2 142 +3 65 Day 3

I just gave him 1/8 can of the friskies pate (divided it up into pie shapes) and he's licking it up. Would you suggest testing again in 30 min or wait an hour? Thanks Wendy.
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 +2 142 +3 65 Day 3

That's quite the fast drop from +2 to +3. I'd do a test in 1/2 hour.
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 +2 142 +3 65 +4 31 Day 3

Katie, it's time to break out the karo. Please add some karo to the high carb food and test him 20 minutes after he's eaten that.
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 +2 142 +3 65 +4 31 Day 3

already done. he's at the water bowl now. Since I'm never sure how long it will take for anyone to respond, I karo-ed his gums and let him lick up a few laps. When you say higher carb food, are you referring to the friskies pate or the friskies with the gravy. Just to clarify.
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 +2 142 +3 65 +4 31 Day 3

High carb is the stuff with the gravy. They make gravy with wheat in it (just like we add flour to our gravy). The gravy is where the carbs are. If you can squeeze out just the gravy, that's the best to give him so he won't fill up. About a tsp or two.

Feel free to freak out. I would!

OK, the recap:
AMPS 182 - regular breakfast
+2 142
+3 65
+4 31 karo (how much?)
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 +2 142 +3 65 +4 31 Day 3

For future reference, when you see a fast drop like that +2 to +3, I would have done a +3.5 test.

One other question, does he get all his breakfast at one go? Feeding several smaller meals is easier on a healing pancreas and can help slow down fast drops. It's a bit of an experiment to see what works best, but you might want to try to give part of his meal at +1 or +2 and see how that effects him.
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 +2 142 +3 65 +4 31 Day 3

Normally when he was on dry, he ate twice a day and finished each meal at one sitting. When I started him on the wet, I started with 1/2 can of the friskies and he would eat almost al of it at one sitting. As we've gotten a little further along, he starts out with 1/3 can and he isn't finishing it either and then will come back a little later to finish it off. I'm starting to wonder about the DM food since it's only about 3% carb calories. Since he's going so low, do you think going back to the friskies would be a better choice since it's a little higher. I'm even wondering if the diet change alone is going to work for him. We'll see as the days go on here.
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 +2 142 +3 65 +4 31 Day 3

Karo works fast, but doesn't last. It does the job to get him higher but we'll have to keep watching. Could you update your first subject line with the latest test results? And test again in 1/2 hour.

The reason we keep track of what is happened like this is so you have a history of what did or did not work, and how much it will bump his numbers. That helps if you are ever on and no one else is. It also helps anyone else following this condo get a summary of what's happened so far. Your subject line is different from your spreadsheet so could you correct what is below.

AMPS 182 - regular breakfast
+2 142
+3 65 - 1/16 can LC
+4.75 31 - 1/2 tsp karo
+4 83
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 +3 65 +3.75 31 +4 83 31 Day 3

Food is something you need to experiment with. You may or may not see results from changes right away. I know some people here notice differences even between different proteins in their cat (ie. chicken vs. turkey) even if both are low carb. It entirely depends on your cat. The DM is higher cost, not the greatest quality and some cats tire of it. That's why most people here just buy regular off the shelf low carb. When you buy food, you might want to label the cans with the % carb on it and keep track of what % you are feeding when. Some people have found their cats need a slightly higher carb food, ie 4-5%. Others can get their cats to rise out of low numbers with 8% and I need high carb for Neko. Each cat is different, ECID.
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 +3 65 +3.75 31 +4.25 83 +4.75 104

Ok, I have the subject line & SS updated accurately. Mego looks like he is napping now after his sugar rush. It's clear that I will need to adjust my record keeping skills and be a little more rigid in recording specific timed events.
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 +3 65 +3.75 31 +4.25 83 +4.75 104

Looks like you can take a bit of a break now with testing. Maybe in an hour? I'll check in then. The karo and food will wear off at some point. It's much nicer when they do these sort of highjinks during the day when you are more awake to keep track of things. I keep wanting to do an experiment with Neko and medium carb food but she keeps getting her lows during the night. :roll:

The timing is important because you want to learn how long karo lasts with Mego and how long HC lasts. It lets you be in control and less of a panic. I know that 1tsp of HC gives Neko about 20 points for 2 hours. That's really helps me know how much to give her when she is low.
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 +3 65 +3.75 31 +4.25 83 +4.75 104

It's so wonderful that I can be getting this data now. I'll probably wait until +6 to test again. I think I feel ok until then.
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 +3 65 +3.75 31 +4.25 83 +4.75 104

Katie, Im so glad that you have all the support of the other members. I hope you can soon get Mego's numbers a little higher (but not too high either). Just keep working hard at it and I know you will soon get Mego's numbers under control. You seem to be doing great in dealing with the low numbers - good job taking care of Mego.
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 +3.75 31 +4.25 83 +4.75 104 +6.25 71

Updated #s at +6.25 is 71. He had no food since his last number at 104. Should I keep testing every hour? 71 seems ok to me at the mid cycle but then again, what do I know! Also, I noticed that he is pooping much less since being on the wet food; does this seem normal since there aren't as many fillers in the wet food?
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 +3.75 31 +4.25 83 +4.75 104 +6.25 71

Thanks Jamie - stressful day #2. I'm glad this one is during the day. I got to nap a little before his latest test. :-D
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 +3.75 31 +4.25 83 +4.75 104 +6.25 71

Hi Katie, glad you got a nap in. :-D I would test again in an hour if not earlier, maybe at +7? I'd suggest giving him a tsp or two of his low carb food at this point. It's not quite 2 hours since he last ate, so could still come down some more. The LC might get him surfing. We don't normally feed after nadir but we don't want him lower either.

Great job today Katie. Two active cycles in a row. Wow!

ETA: And yes on the less pooping because less filler.
 
Re: 3/20 Mego AMPS 182 +3.75 31 +4.75 104 +6.25 71 +7 62

Katie, could you get a +8 test. I know it's a lot today, but we like to see numbers going up, not down in the last half of the cycle.
 
+8 @ 60. I have given him 1/2 can DM for dinner. I'll wait to see how much he eats. I really don't know if I'll feel comfortable giving him a shot tonight. I'll wait and see what the #s look like later tonight. I'd like to test him again in another hour since he had a small drop from +7 to +8.
 
Katie, have you given him dinner already? Normally we test, then feed, then give insulin all within 15 minutes or so.

I agree on not being comfortable with the numbers. What you should do at your +11 is test and post the number. On the first subject line, select the ? icon and add the words "Dose ?" to the end of the subject. With that, hopefully one of the dosing experts will see it and be able to give advice for what if anything to shoot tonight and tomorrow morning. I'm sure you are pretty tired today.
 
Hi Wendy,

The +8 60 is pre dinner. He didn't get his shot until about 10 this morning since I was up so late last night. I would like to get him back on a bit earlier of a schedule since I'm going back to work next week and the 5-7 am/pm 12 hour cycle will most likely work out best with my schedule. He is full and passed out on the chair snoring away - that's always a good sign to me. Looks like he ate about 1/4 of what I put out for him. I know I threw off the schedule a bit today, but my normal schedule won't allow me to be exact on the 12 hour cycle. Some days are going to be shooting late by as much as 3-4 hours. Thoughts?
 
Here's the difficulty with shooting late or early: An early shot acts like a dose increase whereas a late shot acts like a dose reduction. If you shoot late then your next shot is due 12 hours later. It might help if you could give us your typical week's schedule so we have some idea of what we're looking at.

I want to give some thought to your PM shot. If you gave Mego his AM shot at 10:00, then you could start moving his shots 15 min. earlier at each shot time. Alternatively, you could skip tonight's shot and get on your preferred schedule tomorrow morning. If you're going to skip, let me know.
 
hi katie. you've done an awesome job managing mego's curves! talk about baptism by fire!

sienne also emailed me for input on your situation. you're not the first to get the wrong syringes from a vet. this has happened before. my suggestion would be to skip tonight's shot and restart insulin @ 1u bid when you have the correct syringes (U-100). mego was diagnosed only 5 days ago. ketones were negative. waiting won't hurt. i think it would be the safest course to take. besides, i bet you could use a night off after last night!

additionally, sienne asked for input on your shot schedule for when you go back to work. is it possible to give us an example of a typical work week? once we see how mego responds we'll have a better idea how to help you figure out a workable shot schedule...
 
Hi everyone,

I've PMd some of you but just to say one more time, THANK YOU ALL for your support. I was also able to talk via phone with Jamie, another newbie in the group. It's good to have company.

I'm going to get emotional now because it's been a llllloooooonnnnnnngggggg 2 days with 2 near crashes with a side serving of anger and such and I need the outlet.

Sienne, to answer your question, I plan to get syringes from walmart tomorrow and to get a Lantus pen as well. I'm starting with fresh stuff. So my guess is I'll be hopefully be ready to start tomorrow evening's dinner time.

As for my schedule, next week looks like this. I'll stop by work tomorrow and pick up the next schedule so I can give you more info beyond that.

Tues thru Thursday 7am-3:30pm
Friday & Saturday 2:30pm-10:30pm

Good news is I have only an 8 minute commute so I leave about 15 minutes before the start of my shift and can usually get home 15 minutes after shift ends. Not next week, but I also have shifts that are from 8am-4:30pm (Sundays only), 10am-6:30pm (which I think would be very much as a 7-3:30 shift in regards to feeding/ testing/shooting) and 1:30-9:30 (which would be similar to the 2-10:30 shift). I hope this gives you an idea and like I said, I'll get more info tomorrow.

Hugs to everyone and you are all angels in my book. :-D
 
And with that, I'm off to bed ladies. Mego appears to be happy in sugarland, sleeping and probably dreaming of the old days of carbs galore. Since his last test was +11 186 and he's had nothing but gravy shreds, I think he'll be good overnight.
 
Katie,

I've been following your condo in the short time since Mego's DX - what a ride! I'm SO GLAD we have these wonderful experienced people on FDMB to help and guide us through this new world of FD.

Sleep well tonight!
 
Aren't you having fun with Mego! His numbers are looking great.. All those lovely blues and greens .. Hope he keeps it up.. For sure it's stressful but those under 50 lows mean dose decreases which is a good thing!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top