3/20 MaryG PMPS165+3 40+3.25 40+3.75 50+4.25 64+4.75 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

marygracemom

Member Since 2013
Good Morning Lantus Land! Hugs to all beans and kitties

Yesterday's condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=115714

Mary has been so purry and happy lately with all these pretty blues, yellows and :mrgreen:

I have finished entering her lab results on her ss.

Wish me luck, I told the vet I would call today with my decision on starting the hyperthyroid medicine. Which is not to start taking it until we get a Tfree done and the high dose testing done. I think after this conversation we will part ways. We'll see. :roll: :YMSIGH:

Sending vines to all beans and kitties that may need them.
Edited I have given her 1 tsp hc at +2 bs was 58 and at 2.5 is 42 and I gave another tsp hc
3 was 40 and gave 1 tsp hc with a tsp caro syrup
3.5 was 50 no hc
3.25 is the same at 40
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace AMPS 212 +2 208

Hi Elizabeth,
I'm not sure if I have visited Mary Grace's condo before so just wanted to say hi and belated welcome! My previous diabetic kitty, Stu, had HyperT and also CRF. HyperT speeds up the body and in Stu's case his blood glucose numbers improved and he needed less and less insulin (Lantus). He was not a high-dose kitty, but his vet had overdosed him on Lantus (7 units) and it took us a while (after finding this board) to lower his dose and get his numbers more-or-less stabilized. This was before his HyperT diagnosis, but who knows how much of an effect all of these ups and downs had on him and whether or not he had HyperT earlier. (We didn't have the blood tests until it was already evident that much was wrong.) Stu was also diagnosed with CRF at the same time as HyperT (the HyperT had apparently been masking the CRF, making it seem less serious than it was).
In any event, to make a long story short, Stu was put on 5mg bid of methimazole by his vet, but I was advised here on the FDMB board to start lower than that and did so, starting at 1.25mg bid. I sort-of experimented with the dose, but never really got it right.
In retrospect I think that the number and frequency (and size) of hairballs that Stu had been continuously hacking up may have been an indication of HyperT. We had hoped to have the i-131 treatment at HypurrCat, Dr. Mark Peterson's animal-endocrine clinic in Bedford Hills NY:
http://www.animalendocrine.com/hypurrcat/hypurrcat/
Dr. Peterson is the pioneering expert in i-131 and his clinic is fantastic. Unfortunately, we were too late and Stu was too sick to have the treatment. We took him to the Bedford-Katonah Medical Center to be stabilized, but numerous tests there showed that he also had cancer (he had lost about 5 lbs. in 3 months, a weight-loss that we attributed to HyperT, but that was, in retrospect, also attributable to cancer).

A link to Stu's spreadsheet is in my signature. I made extensive notes in the comments section, so it is possible to follow the progression of his ailments. I surely wish I had had a better vet and that I had had tests done earlier. But I was a medical idiot. At the point we joined this board Stu had already been diabetic for 4 years and we had been shooting him without testing (with PZI Vet insulin). It was the switch to Lantus (PZI had been discontinued) and the over-dosing that led us to this board.

I hope that you will find a good vet and have the T-4 and the free T-4. Maybe also the T-3. There is a lot of info. on HyperT on Dr. Peterson's website (cited above). Good luck in whatever you decide to do.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace AMPS 212 +2 208

And welcome to you from us as well. We have been woefully behind on catching up with condos and have missed the arrival of many new folks. We are so glad you are here!

Nothing else to add to help with what you are already doing with Mary Grace. No experience with our guy and Hyper T but he is in early stages of CKD. Paws crossed on the results with your vet, and good for you for moving on if you are not getting the care you want!

Anne
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace AMPS 212 +2 208

Thanks for the visits and replies
Ella-I checked out Dr. Peterson's website and also called my vet to schedule the whole thyroid panel test done (T4 free, T3 etc). I am not going to start any medicine until I get these tests done. This is all a bit overwhelming to put on top of her being such a high dose kitty, I am trying to wrap my brain around all this. I am in such appreciation of all you experienced members giving advice and suggestions.
Thanks for the welcome!

Anne-Thanks too for the visit and well wishes. I hate to hear that Zenner has CKD.
Hugs to you both :YMHUG:

Hope you both have a good rest of the day! TGIAF!!!!
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace AMPS 212 +2 208

Hi again, Elizabeth,
I forgot to mention that Dr. Peterson is considered to be one of the foremost specialists in Feline Diabetes. If anyone could advise you about the high-dose situation, it would be he. His practice is in Bedford Hills NY (Westchester County, just north of NY City) and he also has an office in Manhattan.

I'm glad that you are going to get the HyperT tests and start Mary Grace's treatment.

Hang in there!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace AMPS 212 +2 208

hi elizabeth!

this is all a lot to take in. you may have the results of the MSU tests tomorrow, so perhaps taking things one step at a time would make it a little easier to manage. i'm glad ella had some first hand experience to share with you.

hugs, julie
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace AMPS 212 +2 208

Elizabeth,

Glad you are hearing from Ella regarding Rusty.

She is doing a marvelous job with him. I saw him at their home about a year and a half after he moved on from my home. Needed to be the "only one."

Claudia
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace AMPS 212 +2 208 PMPS 165+2 58+2.5 42

Mary's blood sugar is dropping too quickly.
PMPS 165
+2 58. Gave one tsp hc
2.5 42 gave another tsp hc
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace AMPS 212 +2 208 PMPS 165+2 58+2.5 42

Yep, she sure is on the move. You may want to add a little karo to her food to help bring her up a little more, especially if she's still dropping or still hanging in the 40s at her next test.

I'm not familiar with high dose situations, but I'm assuming this drop into the 40s also means a reducie for Mary Grace, too!
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace AMPS 212 +2 208 PMPS 165+2 58+2.5 42

Hey Amy, since she's a high dose kitty I believe she gets a .50 reduction!! That's the amount I had being increasing her lately :-D :mrgreen:
I've got the caro syrup ready to go, add about a teaspoon with another teaspoon of hc?
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace AMPS 212 +2 208 PMPS 165+2 58+2.5 42

Yup...that's what I would do to get her into safer numbers. You'll have to keep testing because the food and karo will eventually wear off. Congrats on the reducie!
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace PMPS 165+2 58+2.5 42 3 40

You are doing great. Keep on top of it and keep testing tonight until you get 2 rising numbers

Congratulations on the reduction!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace PMPS 165+2 58+2.5 42 3 40

Hi Elizabeth!!

Looks like MG is on a mission tonight!!

You don't want to give more than a few of drops of Karo, syrup or honey with the HC food and then retest every 20 minutes. We need to get her up, but don't want to send her through the roof.

We also want to keep her a little hungry so if she continues to drop, we can keep her eating. Are you giving the HC food or did you drain the "gravy" off of a Gravy Lovers food?

Come on up some now MG..You've made your point!!

Congrats on the reduction!!
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace PMPS 165+2 58+2.5 42 3 40

Yes to that .5u reduction! :-D

I give both gravy and meaty bits of HC to Neko. Filling her up is not in her vocabulary. :lol: I give a tsp or two depending on where she is in the cycle. Earlier on it's better to give a bit more.
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace PMPS 165+2 58+2.5 42 +3 40 +3.25 40

Hey guys, thanks for coming in. I gave grilled ff with gravy the last time with a teaspoon of caro. I don't remember how many tsp of hc but it's on my first post where I noted it after I did it. She's purry and happy sitting beside me. And Wendy, you got that right, Mary's appetite is like Nekos, there isn't anything that will halt that. She is loving the extra yummy hc right now. That's her reduction present, but enough already!!! At least she isn't dropping further. Still making me very nervous.
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace PMPS 165+2 58+2.5 42 +3 40 +3.25 40

They ALL love that HC stuff!! Sometimes I wonder if they go low just so they can get some of the "good stuff"!

Come on MG...UP!! Get out of those 40's!
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace PMPS 165+2 58+2.5 42 +3 40 +3.25 40

The civvies are not liking being left out of the hc chow down.
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace PMPS 165+2 58+2.5 42 +3 40 +3.25 40

Test again 20 minutes after she last ate. As you get more experience you may be able to stretch that out to 30 minutes, but it's always best to be conservative the first few times you have lows until you know how your kitty reacts. Great job catching that low by the way. That's an excellent example of why we suggest a +2 for a Lantus kitty. :shock:

Regarding the reduction, I suggest .5 for now, but over time you may find you move to .25U changes depending on what her cycles look like. It's a matter of learning what works for Mary Grace. When you've got time, take a look at Tip's SS. Tip is on a dose just a bit higher than MG, and sometimes Cindy does .25U changes, sometimes .5U.

Some people give gravy to the FD kitty and the shreds to the civies. I have a can of MC open for my civie. They both eat raw so anything out of a can is a treat. :lol:
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace PMPS 165+2 58+2.5 42 +3 40 +3.25 40

Hey Wendy, okay she is 50 now at +3.75 so no more hc is that right? Another test in 30? Her nadir is typically +5.
That's a good idea with giving the civvies a strip or two.
I'm going to check out tips ss. Thanks!!!!
With as much insulin as I have had to increase her dose to, I never thought we would ever be here! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace PMPS 165+2 58+2.5 42 +3 40 +3.25 40

Another test in 30 is a good plan. She is right on the border, so feeding more or not is a good question. If you feed now you can get a little more margin of safety, but since you want to wait until 2 rising numbers without influence of food that means being up a little later. It's a gamble. If she's down in 30 minutes, then you break out the HC again and wait longer.

Sometimes when cats go low, their nadir is a little earlier, but it's good to be vigilant. The HC will wear off at some point. Here's where it's good to take notes on how much food of what carb you fed and when so you get a feel for what works for MG. I know that HC lasts about 2 hours on Neko, then wears off.

That first reduction always feels so GOOD! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :cool: How are you doing tonight Elizabeth? You are doing a great job!
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace PMPS 165+2 58+2.5 42 +3 40 +3.25 40

I meant to add, could you update your first subject line with the latest info. We scan the headings and it's good to know Mary Grace is up now. Thanks! :-D
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace PMPS 165+2 58+2.5 42 +3 40 +3.25 40

I am a lot calmer than I was the first time and she was only in the 50's then. Yes, I am figuring I will be up way past my bed time. I don't know at what point I would be ok with going to sleep. Just popped a coke for some caffeine and gave myself a big fat bolus of insulin for the extra sugar, we both are on a hc feast tonight. :shock:
Thanks for hanging with us
 
Re: 3/20 Mary Grace PMPS 165+2 58+2.5 42 +3 40 +3.25 40

I'd still bump up the numbers with some HC. You don't have a huge margin of safety at 50. I like to see a kitty have some wiggle room.

FYI -- it's best to not put new information in your first post. Most people will scroll to the bottom.
 
Re: 3/20 MaryG PMPS 165+2 58+2.5 42 +3 40 +3.25 40+3.5 50

Okay I have updated my first post subject line.
This is the break down
PMPS 165
2 58
2.5 42 gave 1 tsp hc ff
3 40 gave one teaspoon hc with one teaspoon
3.25 still 49 gave one teaspoon hc and one tsp caro syrup
At + 3.75 was 50
And the latest is +4.25 64
 
Re: 3/20 MaryG PMPS 165+2 58+2.5 42 +3 40 +3.25 40+3.5 50

Whew! Good to get a little breathing room. I'd still test every 1/2 hour until a couple hours after the last HC/karo, unless she zooms up above the 80's in which case you could move to hourly testing. Has Mary Grace had all of her regular supper by now?

It'd be good to see that 64 in the first subject line. You can always remove the +2 data or info that's less interesting if you run out of room.
 
Re: 3/20 MaryG PMPS165+2 58+2.5 42 +3 40+3.25 40+3.75 50+4.2

Yes, that's the thing she eats at shot and then more at +1 and then the last at +2. So she was dropping as she was eating for the first couple of hours after pm shot. I will adjust the subject line again, have to take some numbers out as I could barely fur the last one.
Okay just tested for +4.75 she is 77
 
Great job tonight, guys! Keep checking those numbers just to be sure she doesn't drop again, but it's wonderful to see her up a bit!
 
Super job!!

I hope with the info Ella and I gave you, you can decide which tests to run but I think the fT4 with ED and the fT3 and tT3 are a good plan.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top