3-20 Leo AMPS 78/ +1 77/ +2 62/ +3 56/ +4 65/ +7 97/ PMPS 115/ +2 156

You've come a long way, Joni! From worrying about lower numbers to calmly shooting green preshots! :D
Stay with LC and let him earn a reduction.

Thank you. It is a learning process. Thanks for all your help & guidance. Need to read again what specifically warrants a decrease. Sounds like it might be scary.

Swiped my index finger with the lancet--which I haven't done since January! So a long scratch. With hand washing & all, it takes awhile to heal. Added the Ledum to it!! Maybe this will help.
 
Dumb question: do I really want to go below 50--to earn a reduction? Is this the point of TR--to push to that point in order to reduce... and go from there? Leo was at 1.25 just 6.5 days ago.
Not a dumb question at all. You do not want to force a reduction by not feeding etc. You also don't want to keep them at a higher dose than necessary by propping them up with carbs. It doesn't matter how long they have been on a dose. A dose that was too much a week back can be too little now and vice versa.
 
Higher at +4. Take a break from testing. Maybe get one at +7? Great job shooting green and navigating an active green cycle! :D

I forgot to mention, we did go outside for some sun and Leo couldn't help himself to some grass.. this was before the +4. Any chance this increased BG? He used to throw up not too long after his grass munching, but he hasn't thrown up that many times since starting Glargine.... even after a few grass munchings. We'll see if anything happens today.
 
Last edited:
Bouncing occurs because Leo is not used to healthy numbers?
Yes.

"Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles)."
 
Yes.

"Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles)."

Thank you! I'm sure you've told me this more than once. S-l-o-w-l-y getting it. :p
(That's as close to an embarrassed emoji I could find.)
 
Back
Top