3/20 Jersey AMPS - 354, PMPS - 391; +5 - 276

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shelly & Jersey (GA)

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=115698

Mariko and Marje - Thanks for the "late" night visit. Marje, I am a little concerned about your to do list.

I think my list got kind of confused:

1 poke human check :shock:
2 feed bobcat check
3 shoot husband check
4 adult beverage check
5 second adult beverage check

We may need to talk about #3. What kind of shooting are we talkin' about here? :lol: :lol:

Today's Stinky Pinkies:
AMPS - 354, .75 units
+1.5 - 366
+7.5 - 307
PMPS - 391, .75 units - This was a food-influenced number. I forgot to pick the food up from the +7.5 feeding. :oops:

Jersey girl was a bit "off" this morning. Instead of hanging out in the window, she was hanging out on the bed. (Heaven forbid the cat hang out on the bed without me thinking something's wrong! ;-) ) Whatever may have been wrong seemed to pass because she's been out cattin' around most of the afternoon. Of course, that means I have once again failed to get a ketone test today. I also failed to get all of my grading done yesterday. Note to self - stop assigning all this homework!!!!

So...we've held the .75 units for 7 cycles now. Is it time to go up to 1 unit? I will be home tomorrow, so I could safely increase in the morning. I didn't want to do it tonight since I have a case of sleep-itis right now. I considered taking a nap on my office floor today but was worried a giant spider (my biggest fear) would come and rip my face off while I was sleeping. :-D Anyway, I would appreciate any thoughts you have on a dosecrease!

I probably won't get to visit condos tonight. Spring break is coming, though, so I promise I'll make up for it in the coming week! :-D

Thoughts, prayers, and healing vines are en route to those in need.
 
Re: 3/20 Jersey AMPS - 354, PMPS - 391; Dosecrease Tomorrow?

Hey Shelly!

I think it's entirely possible that Jersey is bouncing off those blues. She hasn't spent much time there, so it may be best for you to just hold the .75 awhile longer and let's see where she is in a few days.

173 isn't all that low, but to Jersey's liver, it's territory she probably hasn't been in for awhile, so of course, Mr. L has to cause trouble and bounce!

Hopefully Jersey will come down soon for you
 
Re: 3/20 Jersey AMPS - 354, PMPS - 391; Dosecrease Tomorrow?

Thanks for your thoughts on the dosecrease, Chris. I know you had mentioned before that we didn't want to increase during a bounce, which I definitely think this is. I'd like to get a +3 right now to see if the bounce is breaking. That stupid ol' cat is still out cattin' around, though. I hate to drag her in just to poke her! :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 3/20 Jersey AMPS - 354, PMPS - 391; Dosecrease Tomorrow?

As beautiful as it is outside tonight, good luck on getting Jersey back inside!!

I know if I were a cat, that's where I'd be!!

It can take up to 72 hours to clear a bounce, so all you can do is hike up those patience pants and wait it out :-D
 
Re: 3/20 Jersey AMPS - 354, PMPS - 391; Dosecrease Tomorrow?

Just catching up on your condos, and I LOL'd on yesterdays...and todays :lol: . I'm a little concerned with Marjes to do list #3 too...Mike, you ok? :shock: I agree with the #4&5 and seem to do the #1 accidently/often ;-)

I hope that Jersey will clear the bounce for you so you can see what she will do with this dose a bit better. :-D . Paws crossed you manage to get all your work done and get some rest. Have a good night!
 
Re: 3/20 Jersey AMPS - 354, PMPS - 391; Dosecrease Tomorrow?

Actually, the issue isn't so much about increasing during a bounce. The concern is increasing when a bounce is breaking. When a bounce is clearing, the numbers drop. If you increase the dose, there's the additional momentum of the dose increase plus the momentum of the bounce breaking. It's not that this is dangerous. It's more a matter of your level of confidence in steering the numbers should you be in a situation where numbers are dropping with considerable momentum. We don't usually encourage someone who's new to FD to increase during a bounce because you need to have a sense of your kitty's pattern. Right now, it looks like Jersey clears bounces fairly quickly but then may bounce again. My thinking would be that given your schedule, you may want to wait until tomorrow night or the weekend to think about an increase so you'll be around to monitor.
 
Update:

Well....this has been a revealing evening...

Revelation #1: As noted in yesterday's condo, DH doesn't do very well with bg checks in the mornings. Tonight, I discovered why that might be. He told me he had to poke the poor kitty 6 times this morning. Of course, the first 5 times, he had no lancet in the device.....and we wonder why Jersey growls us. :lol: :lol: :lol: I'm beginning to wonder if DH's to do list is similar to Marje's:

I think my list got kind of confused:

1 poke human check :shock:
2 feed bobcat check
3 shoot husband check
4 adult beverage check
5 second adult beverage check

Perhaps he starts the day with #4 and #5??????

Revelation #2: Jersey really is plotting my demise. After coming in for a +5 check, Jersey finally decided to pay a visit to the litter box. I was so excited to get the ketone test that I literally dropped the student's paper on the floor, stubbed my toe on my desk, and hobble-ran to the litter box with test strip in hand. She rewarded me with a big ol' stinky poo. This is the cat that has spent the last two hours prowling the premises. Did she really have to come inside to do that? Was the giant litter box of a yard not good enough for her? For cryin' out loud! :lol:

(Note to Self: Move desk next to litter box tomorrow.)

Thanks for the reminder to pull up my patience pants, Chris. As I mentioned, Jersey finally did come in for a +5 and is now back outside guarding the premises. I think she knew my patience pants were a little tight on me, because we've hit yellow.

Thanks for stopping by, Rachel. I'm down to 89 assignments to grade. Woot woot! That second pot of coffee has really kicked in now. ~O) ~O) Perhaps completing #4 and #5 on Marje's list would speed things along? A's for everyone! :-D

Thanks, Sienne, for the additional information/clarification. I will file it away in my memory, where I am sure it will soon be lost/forgotten. Then, I'll have to ask about it again, and you all will have to explain it to me all over again. I'm beginning to wonder if the patience pants are more for dealing with the kitties or for dealing with people like me! ;-)
 
:lol: :lol: jersey plotting your demise!!!

Well....number three meant to shoot the husband with insulin. After I went to bed last night, I thought, "hmmmm...she probably,y doesn't think I love my incredible husband very much" :lol: :lol: so perhaps I did as your DH and put steps 4 and 5 first and then everything else was a mess. :twisted: :twisted:

Long ago, I was the creator of the "patience pants" terminology and so, I would like to bestow you with the initial pair of patience pants which have been passed along through the "Sisterhood of the Traveling Patience Pants". Wear them proudly as you wait for the bounce to clear :-D
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    8.6 KB · Views: 157
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top