3/20 Honey AMPS 366, +4 279, +7 297, PMPS 344

Julie and Honey

Very Active Member
She was acting funny last night +3.5, +4 ish confused (more than normal for a half blind cat), not wobbly or anything, just a little disoriented and acting insecure, and didn’t lick her bowl clean, only ate 1/2 normal amount. BG was higher at +3 of this episode, maybe It dropped shortly after? Normally I check on her and feed her this time of night even if not testing then and this is the first time I have seen this.

She was fine about 2-3 hours later, about +6.5 when I got up to check her, more perky and ate a whole bowl of food.

This was 4th cycle on increased dose. Will try to get a +4 during day today and will try to get a mid cycle tonight.

**I may need some advice tonight at PMPS time if I get a lower number than yesterday which made me nervous to give her a full dose, we are now shooting at 7:30 central standard US, even more off original schedule.**

Sometimes hard to test at certain times because she is eating so often and 2 hours fast for her usually does not show much of a difference, usually needs 3 hour fast to show a significant change for her.

Thanks
 
Here is your post from yesterday. So others can quickly catch up on history
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-19-honey-amps-363-6-301-pmps-241.212130/#post-2351332

How is she feeling today?

You only need to try and have 2 hours with no food prior to your preshots. Why? Well, it is important to make sure that the preshot number is not influenced by food, if it is artificially elevated because of food, the insulin dose is given, then you may be in for a busy cycle. This is most definitely recommended for newbies, until you get a good idea of how your own cat responds to insulin, her onsets, nadirs, etc. as well as how carb sensitive she is. Once you have a better picture of these things, you don't need to worry about picking up food 2 hours before shot.

That all said, you don't need to worry about mid-cycle tests being food-influenced at all. Just find a good feeding routine that works for you and Honey, and test as necessary depending on how the cycles go. Doe this make sense?
 
She is fine today. I try to go a little more than 2 hours if possible after food to get an accurate number, seems like in the past when I tested she would go lower at say, 3 hours after eating and at exactly 2 would usually be about the same, this was when BG levels were only food induced when I was checking her BG before I started insulin. She came down 100 points on low carb food, so I was testing at that point. Unfortunately I postponed starting insulin and her numbers crept up. Problem is since I took her off dry 3 months ago, I feed her 8-9 times a day just to maintain her current weight, that alone is exhausting, hopefully if her numbers go down some I can get her on a more normal food schedule and get some weight on her.

Did not know people are only going 2 hours fasting for pre shots, I thought it was every test done. Good to know.

I will check her in a few hours if I can stay awake, I don’t sleep much anymore, should have taken a nap when the cat was sleeping, lol. If not tonight I will get another pm mid cycle tomorrow, that will give her over 6 cycles on new dose, so should be a good indicator of where she is on this dose.

Can you please explain how you copied the last thread? I have looked all over trying to find instructions on how to do that and could not.

Thanks.
 
For new members on the Feline Heatlth forum, we suggest you are fine to shoot anything over 200. On this forum and if you are using SLGS and are still new, you can also use 200. Over time, with experience and data, the no shoot number will lower to 90.

For feeding, can you just leave larger amounts out formher to graze on? If you add water, it should stay fresher longer. I also used an auto feeder to help me with a couple of the meals, cause my girl would Hoover down any food out out.

To link you previous post, first go to the old post and copy URL or address from the browser, then go to your new post, and in the edit box, select the paper clip icon in the editing tools. A pop up will appear, and you paste the copied address in there.
 
Back
Top