3/20 Haley -AMPS 109, +1 116, +3 91, +6 103, (PMPS 45 minutes late.), + 2.75 78, + 3.5 72,

Haleysmom

Member Since 2021
Her AMPS is 109. Not giving her shot. Shall I follow what we did yesterday, if her numbers are similar?

I have to be out for an hour again, this morning, From her +2.5 to her +3.5.
 
On TR you can safely shoot 50 and above. 109 is a nice number to shoot if you want to. You can test her at +1 and +2 and then we can help you decide what type of food she needs for that hour you're stepping away. If you're not comfortable, then don't shoot. If that's the case, maybe someone should help you figure out what dose you'd be comfortable shooting twice a day. Just a thought. @Bandit's Mom .

As always, I assume you have the higher carb foods you need, syrup and test strips.
 
Last edited:
On TR you can safely shoot 50 and above. 109 is a nice number to shoot if you want to. You can test her at +1 and +2 and then we can help you decide what type of food she needs for that hour. If you're not comfortable, then don't shoot. If that's the case, maybe someone should help you figure out what dose you'd be comfortable shooting twice a day. Just a thought. @Bandit's Mom .

As always, I assume you have the higher carb foods you need, syrup and test strips.

Hi, Lyla. I skipped her shot because that's what we did yesterday and she has such a good day. I'm trying to make decisions for myself so I don't have to depend so much on you all and so I could learn. I'm still asking right now though, cuz it's the first time I've tried to make a decision. It's not that I'm not comfortable shooting. It's just that's what we did yesterday with with an AMPS of 95. I could be off base.

Yesterday morning, Bhooma, told me if I skip, I don't have to test every hour. I just had to test before I left and when I got home and we were going to take it from there. That was at 8:34am if you want to see it. I just want us all on the same page, I guess.

I have everything I need except for MC. The stores around here either don't carry them or they're out of them. Otherwise I'm all set.
 
Last edited:
Hi, Lyla. I skipped her shot because that's what we did yesterday and she has such a good day. I'm trying to make decisions for myself so I don't have to depend so much on you all and so I could learn. I'm still asking right now though, cuz it's the first time I've tried to make a decision. It's not that I'm not comfortable shooting. It's just that's what we did yesterday with with an AMPS of 95. I could be off base.

Yesterday morning, Bhooma, told me if I skip, I don't have to test every hour. I just had to test before I left and when I got home and we were going to take it from there. That was at 8:34am if you want to see it. I just want us all on the same page, I guess.

I have everything I need except for MC. The stores around here either don't carry them or they're out of them. Otherwise I'm all set.
Hi Shirley :bighug: You are doing great and Haley's looking stunning! I would simply like to add that the skip yesterday was just one option - you could have also shot and left out higher carb food while you were out for the hour. FWIW, the depot helped Haley's numbers yesterday (and hopefully will help again today!).

On TR, anything 50 or higher is shootable provided one has supplies and can monitor. The idea is to get Haley in the nice greens for longer and longer stretches...there's a saying here of "shoot low to stay low" - you can peak at Jax's SS or Butters (Lyla's) - we thankfully have regulated kitties and keep them in nice numbers by shooting low (and we learned how to keep our kitties safe from the nice people here!).

Since you skipped, go ahead and change your title to something like - AMBG 109 (Skipped Shot).

Hope that helps - I'm sure @Chris & China (GA) or @Bandit's Mom or @tiffmaxee will stop by when they get a chance.

Here's yesterdays' condo for continuity - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-5-118-11-111-pmps-118-4-104-8-75-102.244905/

Again, you and Haley are doing great :bighug: Hope you all have a wonderful day!
 
Thank you, Lyla. I fixed my title. What is the depot? I thought we were supposed to shoot under 150? But again...whatever is BEST for Haley. On TR, I was planning on doing AMPS, +6, PMPS and before bed. That's what I've read about TR. Of course, if her numbers show that I need to test more often, I will. I'm still confused. Maybe moreso now, actually. I'm getting different advice and am not sure which way to go. I wanted to do what I did yesterday. So I’m still confused as to what to do today. I was hoping for a good day like yesterday. Getting overwhelmed.

Thank you for the kind words. I'm trying. Thank you for putting up my link. I keep forgetting to do that.

You have a wonderful day, too!
 
Hi Shirley :bighug: You are doing great and Haley's looking stunning! I would simply like to add that the skip yesterday was just one option - you could have also shot and left out higher carb food while you were out for the hour. FWIW, the depot helped Haley's numbers yesterday (and hopefully will help again today!).

On TR, anything 50 or higher is shootable provided one has supplies and can monitor. The idea is to get Haley in the nice greens for longer and longer stretches...there's a saying here of "shoot low to stay low" - you can peak at Jax's SS or Butters (Lyla's) - we thankfully have regulated kitties and keep them in nice numbers by shooting low (and we learned how to keep our kitties safe from the nice people here!).

Since you skipped, go ahead and change your title to something like - AMBG 109 (Skipped Shot).

Hope that helps - I'm sure @Chris & China (GA) or @Bandit's Mom or @tiffmaxee will stop by when they get a chance.

Here's yesterdays' condo for continuity - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-5-118-11-111-pmps-118-4-104-8-75-102.244905/

Again, you and Haley are doing great :bighug: Hope you all have a wonderful day!

I'm getting overwhelmed over the different advice. I don't know what to do today. I wanted to do what I did yesterday.
 
I'm getting overwhelmed over the different advice. I don't know what to do today. I wanted to do what I did yesterday.
Just skip today since you're over an hour past shot time and everyone can help with a plan for going forward. I'm working on a response to your other post re: depot but please don't worry :bighug:
 
Just skip today since you're over an hour past shot time and everyone can help with a plan for going forward. I'm working on a response to your other post re: depot but please don't worry :bighug:

Ok ty. I'd like a plan where I don't have to prick her every hour. She's running away from me now. She never did that before. I don't want her to be scared of me. I am not going to chase her and make that worse.
 
Last edited:
What is the depot?
Lantus/Basglar/Levemeir are depot insulins - meaning they are stored in the body and release slowly. When someone first starts their kitty on a depot insulin, it's advised to hold the dose for 5-7 days for the depot builds. There's an in-depth explanation here - What Is the Insulin Depot? The depot has been described to me previously as a bucket of water - we fill it up with insulin and eventually it may over flow (e.g., get a <50 #); when you skip a shot, kitty will use the bucket (the depot); however, with the skipped shot, the depot didn't get refilled - instead it just took a little loss. So, next shot will help refill the bucket.

I'm sure those more versed with words can provide a better explanation but hopefully that helps a little :bighug:

shoot under 150
The advice to not shoot under 150 is just until you are data and confident ready. On TR, we shoot as low as 50 - but with time and data. Even on SLGS, people will shoot 90 and higher (again with data and experience).

Hope that helps :bighug: Don't worry about the skip this morning and those that can advise to dosing will be by (I'm not one to advise to dosing :) but those I tagged will).

I get all this is overwhelming - its a lot to learn and take in. And then to trust strangers on the internet with our furbabies. I get it. Just hang in there. You'll find a balance, I'm sure.
 
Lantus/Basglar/Levemeir are depot insulins - meaning they are stored in the body and release slowly. When someone first starts their kitty on a depot insulin, it's advised to hold the dose for 5-7 days for the depot builds. There's an in-depth explanation here - What Is the Insulin Depot? The depot has been described to me previously as a bucket of water - we fill it up with insulin and eventually it may over flow (e.g., get a <50 #); when you skip a shot, kitty will use the bucket (the depot); however, with the skipped shot, the depot didn't get refilled - instead it just took a little loss. So, next shot will help refill the bucket.

I'm sure those more versed with words can provide a better explanation but hopefully that helps a little :bighug:


The advice to not shoot under 150 is just until you are data and confident ready. On TR, we shoot as low as 50 - but with time and data. Even on SLGS, people will shoot 90 and higher (again with data and experience).

Hope that helps :bighug: Don't worry about the skip this morning and those that can advise to dosing will be by (I'm not one to advise to dosing :) but those I tagged will).

I get all this is overwhelming - its a lot to learn and take in. And then to trust strangers on the internet with our furbabies. I get it. Just hang in there. You'll find a balance, I'm sure.

Thank you. It’s just that once I think I’m starting to understand I’m told some thing and then and then I don’t understand anything anymore. I do trust you all. It just sent me back to get two different versions of how to treat her this morning. I’m sure there are good reasons for each one.
 
different versions
FWIW, I think there will always be "options" on how to handle different numbers. It's a complicated mix of the caregiver, the kitty, end goals, supplies on hand, schedules, etc. It's also a bit of trial and error. Perhaps that's one of the most frustrating parts of feline diabetes - that pretty much nothing is black and white (well, except for when to take reductions :p).

Grab a test before you head out but looks like Haley's on her way up. You could then grab an afternoon test just to see what she's up to.

Hang in there :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hello!

A few quotes/portions of a few stickies that might help clarify the different advice:
When following the Tight Regulation Protocol, you'll want to become data ready and learn to safely shoot preshot numbers between 50mg/dL - 150mg/dL.

New members without much data collected, but are following the TR Protocol in the Lantus, Basaglar, and Levemir Insulin Support Group should ask for guidance when presented with a preshot number less than 150 mg/dL. Once you've collected data to support your decisions, the TR "no shoot" number is 50 mg/dL.

There is more context and guidance in the full sticky, but overall, you are in data collection mode right now - learning how your kitty responds to insulin, when it starts kicking in, how long it lasts, patterns, etc. Other factors can play into shot decisions, like whether you have adequate supplies - test strips, battery power on your meter, A full hypo kit, high carb, medium carb foods on hand, honey/syrup, ability to monitor and be home, weather storms, etc.

Eventually, you will better know and have more confidence in shooting lower, yet safe, numbers according to your dosing method. Right now, you are collecting data and learning and that is ok :bighug: Safety first! It is better to be higher for a day than too low for a moment. Ask lots of questions! We are here for you!

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/
 
Last edited:
Since you needed to be out for a bit today, I think your decision was a good one to skip today.

When making a decision to see what would happen on a full dose with a preshot number that is new to you, I would want to be home to monitor. When that time comes, where you are home, full supplies and you have the data to support shooting a number between 50-150, and you feel ready, ask for help making the decision and someone can be there to help guide a cycle, if needed.
 
FWIW, I think there will always be "options" on how to handle different numbers. It's a complicated mix of the caregiver, the kitty, end goals, supplies on hand, schedules, etc. It's also a bit of trial and error. Perhaps that's one of the most frustrating parts of feline diabetes - that pretty much nothing is black and white (well, except for when to take reductions :p).

Grab a test before you head out but looks like Haley's on her way up. You could then grab an afternoon test just to see what she's up to.

Hang in there :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Darn it. I fed her but forgot to test her before I left. I'm home now and tested her and at +3 she's at 91. Then she ate on her own. I still don't have a plan for the rest of the day. I don't know how often I'm supposed to test her today.
 
Since you needed to be out for a bit today, I think your decision was a good one to skip today.

When making a decision to see what would happen on a full dose with a preshot number that is new to you, I would want to be home to monitor. When that time comes, where you are home, full supplies and you have the data to support shooting a number between 50-150, and you feel ready, ask for help making the decision and someone can be there to help guide a cycle, if needed.

Ty for this. I’m retired so I’m always home except for a doctor appointment or if something comes up unexpectedly like yesterday and today. I have all the supplies except for an extra battery, which I will get, for the monitor.

I’m still waiting for someone to help me with a cycle for today.
 
Darn it. I fed her but forgot to test her before I left. I'm home now and tested her and at +3 she's at 91. Then she ate on her own. I still don't have a plan for the rest of the day. I don't know how often I'm supposed to test her today.
The plan is up to you. How you feed, shoot, is out, home, when her nadir is.
Test when you see fit, and feel like it. How you've been testing seems fine, can't you continue to test like this?
 
Darn it. I fed her but forgot to test her before I left. I'm home now and tested her and at +3 she's at 91. Then she ate on her own. I still don't have a plan for the rest of the day. I don't know how often I'm supposed to test her today.
No worries! she wasn't in danger - I was just recommending for your peace of mind. That's nice of her to be green right now! I wouldn't bother her too much - with no new insulin on board this is her depot + pancreas (I think!) working - maybe grab a +6 (so 2 hours after her snack). Others may be by so that's just my two cents :bighug:
 
No worries! she wasn't in danger - I was just recommending for your peace of mind. That's nice of her to be green right now! I wouldn't bother her too much - with no new insulin on board this is her depot + pancreas (I think!) working - maybe grab a +6 (so 2 hours after her snack). Others may be by so that's just my two cents :bighug:
I was thinking the exact same thing. She seems to dip about +6, +7 and with no juice it would be interesting to see how she does. But the bucket should be empty or close by now, I think? So you might be right, something seems to be working :joyful:
 
Since you skipped, you could do a +6 or +7 to spot check. It is possible that her pancreas is helping to produce some insulin (possibly. This is a great thing!). Yay Haley!
 
The plan is up to you. How you feed, shoot, is out, home, when her nadir is.
Test when you see fit, and feel like it. How you've been testing seems fine, can't you continue to test like this?
I don’t want to test her every hour. She starting to hide more and running away from me when I try to approach her. If she continues to do this I won’t be able to test her so it’s only defeating itself. So for her own good, I probably need to slow down on the testing… I know it’s important to test. But she has to be accessible for me to do it.
 
Last edited:
No worries! she wasn't in danger - I was just recommending for your peace of mind. That's nice of her to be green right now! I wouldn't bother her too much - with no new insulin on board this is her depot + pancreas (I think!) working - maybe grab a +6 (so 2 hours after her snack). Others may be by so that's just my two cents :bighug:

thank you very much. I’m comfortable testing her at the +6!
 
I don’t want to test her every hour. She starting to hide More and running away from me when I try to approach her. If she continues to do this I won’t be able to tester so it’s only defeating itself.
Unless you're in the 50's no need for hourly tests. Or close to the 50's. So no worries :bighug:
 
Hi. FD is hard at first. There’s lots of trial and error. Unlike humans and dogs, cats can eat exactly the same food but have different BG readings from day to day. There’s why it’s hard to tell you times to shoot every day in advance since every day will not be the same. The good thing about cats is they can heal and become diet controlled. Lantus works best when you shoot every 12 hours. Lantus also likes consistency.
Are you giving a yummy treat after every poke? That often stops hiding.
So since you have been skipping, even though a reduction has not been earned I suggest you try .25 and see if you can inject every cycle. Others might disagree but that’s what I would do. If it doesn’t work out and her numbers climb after we try this for a few days we can take her back up. This might also require less testing. What do you think?

The one test I do suggest every cycle is a+2 as it’s often a good way to predict how the rest of the cycle will likely go. Then of course you always need a amps and pmps.

She’s really looking good.
 
Last edited:
So since you have been skipping, even though a reduction has not been earned I suggest you try .25 and see if you can inject every cycle.

I talked to her a little about this earlier but she doesn't have syringes with half unit marks so I'm hesitant to have her "guess" where .25 is

Here's an idea Shirley...How about this....get one of your old syringes and use some kind of colored fluid (coffee, juice, tea, milk, water with food coloring) and pull up what you think .25 would be......that way you'd have a template to compare to

You could take a picture of it for us to look at if you wanted too
 
Last edited:
I talked to her a little about this earlier but she doesn't have syringes with half unit marks so I'm hesitant to have her "guess" where .25 is

Here's an idea Shirley...How about this....get one of your old syringes and use come kind of colored fluid (coffee, juice, tea, milk, water with food coloring) and pull up what you think .25 would be......that way you'd have a template to compare to

You could take a picture of it for us to look at if you wanted too

Good idea Chris. I did that and kept it as a measure when I started.
 
@sdirisio ...Did you make up an example syringe for the .25? If so, can you get a good picture of it so we can see it?

I'd give her a couple teaspoons of MC since she's dropping a little too fast. Hopefully that'll slow her down some
 
Back
Top