Allie & Gen
Member Since 2025
Yesterday
Well, I really hate this. Last night's cycle reminds me of the kind we used to have early on - before TR, before he was off the dry food. It's like the last couple of months of progress have been wiped away by a few days on this damn drug.
(Budesonide, for his enteropathy/IBD, in case you missed it.)
It's not even the high that freaks me out (though it is his first red in an entire month and I was hoping not to ever see that color again) ... it's the steepness of the curve. He had a green nadir. I have no idea what to do wrt TR rules and increasing or not tomorrow, if he's having nadirs under 100 (but AMPS and PMPS are both sky high).
Although that said, taking a closer look, the rise really only gets very steep in the last couple of hours of the cycle; around +9/+10, a reasonably gradual rise suddenly turns into a rocket to the moon. I know this could be bouncing (although really, it's not like his system isn't used to greens! we've only had a couple cycles without them) ... but I'm wondering if a little dietary control could help discourage that kind of acceleration? I have no idea how much he ate when last night (only that his dishes were licked clean this morning). I can set up that new fancy autofeeder tonight ...
Anyway, I'd be very grateful for some input/thoughts/perspective about these various factors - as well as whether I should be increasing the dose tomorrow.
He does have his appetite back entirely, and the poop situation looks good. Hard to say how much of that is thanks to the budesonide. I feel like another ultrasound at some point after he's been on it awhile will be the best way to really gauge its effect on his guts.
He did seem to be feeling pretty good this morning in spite of the highs. We had a lovely evening ... my partner came over for the first time in quite awhile, and Gen got double the snuggles and pets and two laps to stretch out over. He was a big fan.
Today I have to ride over to his vet's office after work to pick up a refill on his gabapentin tiny tabs. It'll be a pretty long bike ride, but I don't mind; we're having some nice early spring sunshine and more moderate temperatures today (relatively speaking). I will say, if we are going to do an increase this weekend, I may do it at his PM shot tomorrow rather than his AM shot. I am so badly in need of some solid outdoor time (nothing is as therapeutic for me); I would like to be able to go out for a chunk of the day tomorrow without having him hit scary lows when I'm not close by.
I hope everyone has a pleasant Friday. Safe surfing, kitties!
Well, I really hate this. Last night's cycle reminds me of the kind we used to have early on - before TR, before he was off the dry food. It's like the last couple of months of progress have been wiped away by a few days on this damn drug.
It's not even the high that freaks me out (though it is his first red in an entire month and I was hoping not to ever see that color again) ... it's the steepness of the curve. He had a green nadir. I have no idea what to do wrt TR rules and increasing or not tomorrow, if he's having nadirs under 100 (but AMPS and PMPS are both sky high).
Although that said, taking a closer look, the rise really only gets very steep in the last couple of hours of the cycle; around +9/+10, a reasonably gradual rise suddenly turns into a rocket to the moon. I know this could be bouncing (although really, it's not like his system isn't used to greens! we've only had a couple cycles without them) ... but I'm wondering if a little dietary control could help discourage that kind of acceleration? I have no idea how much he ate when last night (only that his dishes were licked clean this morning). I can set up that new fancy autofeeder tonight ...
Anyway, I'd be very grateful for some input/thoughts/perspective about these various factors - as well as whether I should be increasing the dose tomorrow.
He does have his appetite back entirely, and the poop situation looks good. Hard to say how much of that is thanks to the budesonide. I feel like another ultrasound at some point after he's been on it awhile will be the best way to really gauge its effect on his guts.
He did seem to be feeling pretty good this morning in spite of the highs. We had a lovely evening ... my partner came over for the first time in quite awhile, and Gen got double the snuggles and pets and two laps to stretch out over. He was a big fan.
Today I have to ride over to his vet's office after work to pick up a refill on his gabapentin tiny tabs. It'll be a pretty long bike ride, but I don't mind; we're having some nice early spring sunshine and more moderate temperatures today (relatively speaking). I will say, if we are going to do an increase this weekend, I may do it at his PM shot tomorrow rather than his AM shot. I am so badly in need of some solid outdoor time (nothing is as therapeutic for me); I would like to be able to go out for a chunk of the day tomorrow without having him hit scary lows when I'm not close by.
I hope everyone has a pleasant Friday. Safe surfing, kitties!
), but I just wanted to say I’m really thinking of you 2. I hope things settle down for Gen soon, and that you can get him off the budesonide before long, especially if that’s what’s causing these higher numbers. I’m really glad he’s feeling better though and enjoying all the extra snuggles