3/20: Esse AMPS=344 +3=307 +7=351 +10=340 PMPS+330 +6=73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele and Esse

Member Since 2009
Daily Digest:
AMPS=344. Evo out for breakfast, shot 2U.
+3=307.
+7=351
+10=340
PMPS=330 Shot 2.5U. Evo out for dinner
+6=73 Wellness chicken out for snack.
******************************
Yesterday's condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9598#unread

Morning.

Wow, what a ride yesterday. She is where I expected her to be, with all the HC and karo and Mr. Liver and a skipped shot...but the sugars will come down. I took the dose down to 2, instead of 2.25, because of the length of time she was under 50 yesterday...that shed was over-over full. She, otoh, is feeling just fine. No obvious signs of issues, so I felt safe enough. I'm sure her shed is depleted, between the HC and no shot, but...I don't want a plummeting number again, especially since I will be out most of the day through the evening.

I think it's interesting; she was low, but there was no panic, and no worries on my part. I brought her up using all the techniques on this board, and yes, while she double dipped (she's been known for that), it was still pretty dicey a time or two. But because of what I've learned on this board, she came through just fine...so thanks, everyone...thanks a bunch.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/20: Esse AMPS=344

Michelle:

I don't think you have the data to conclude that Esse's shed is overly full and that a 0.5u decrease is warranted. Generally, we can draw this kind of conclusion based on several days of rapid decreases -- not on one cycle. I would hate to see Esse lose momentum. You are home to test over the weekend so I'm not sure that dropping the dose so aggressively would have been the way I would go.
 
Re: 3/20: Esse AMPS=344 +3=307

It's the way I went, Sienne. She kept bottoming out yesterday; she's not done that before...she always had responded to a good, solid HC with higher numbers, so since this was different (and quite different) than her other lows, I figured her shed was overfull. I can always take her back up tonight to 2.25, though...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/20: Esse AMPS=344 +3=307

FWIW, my interpretation would be that Esse's been trying for a decrease for a few days. Given how early you leave in the morning and not getting many PM tests when Esse has been blue at PS, I think there's been a good chance she's had some low numbers at mid-cycle. You were around to catch the numbers yesterday and she emphatically told you it was time for a decrease. If she's still very pink, I'd bring the dose back up by .25u.
 
Re: 3/20: Esse AMPS=344 +3=307

Sienne and Gabby said:
FWIW, my interpretation would be that Esse's been trying for a decrease for a few days. Given how early you leave in the morning and not getting many PM tests when Esse has been blue at PS, I think there's been a good chance she's had some low numbers at mid-cycle. You were around to catch the numbers yesterday and she emphatically told you it was time for a decrease. If she's still very pink, I'd bring the dose back up by .25u.
Yes, I agree - she's been trying to tell me for a while that she wants a decrease, but like you said, I'm out at 6 and in at 6 (or a tad later), and dropping like a rock by 8, so...and while I do try to get some late PM cycle tests, those don't always tell me enough. What was the concern, and still is (honestly), is the double dipping into the 30s, even after 1/2 a pouch of HC. She hadn't done that before; usually, I'll see a spike or at least a leveling off, but not a drop again like I saw at +11. So that was the deciding factor, for me, to take her to 2U...if the shed was full enough at that time of the cycle, even after a honking big serving of HC...well...that was my rationale for the decision to shoot 2U this morning. The data never showed anything like that before, you know? So...there. ;-)

If she's still very pink, I'll put her up to 2.25. But if she's midyellows...I don't know. And if she's blue, well...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/20: Esse AMPS=344 +3=307

So...while at the vet with Eeyore today, I told her about Esse's day yesterday. She said "I just don't trust your meter. Nothing against you, I just don't trust the meters. She couldn't have been that low..."

When I went to pick up Eeyore, I took in Esse's meter. Had them do a side-by-side with the Alpha track. Lo and behold, the AT runs 10-15 points lower than Esse and Eeyore's meters...which means Esse's bottoming out yesterday was likely a bit lower. LOL...the vet asked me how I treated Esse, and I told her with lots of HC and some karo, and she said "well, whatever you're doing, keep doing it...it's working."

I think the side-by-side was very, very interesting...and I know she learned something today...I'm sure she'll still try to get me to buy it, but...she'll be all right now having done a side-by-side with the pair's meters...and found the results pretty similar. LOLOL.

And, my vet says to do what it takes to keep Esse between 90-100 most of the time, and to work towards that with Eeyore. I didn't ask her if that was on the Alpha Track or our meters...the numbers are relatively the same, so it's all good.

Just thought I'd update with that. LOLOL

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/20: Esse AMPS=344 +3=307

Libby and Lucy said:
good luck with the dosecrease.
I am thinking it was a rather large jump, so I'll take her to 2.25 tonight. She's not made it into the yellow at all today...I could wait a few cycles, but...since I'm around to monitor all week, I'd rather go back and let her earn this.

Sienne, you were right...LOL.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/20: Esse AMPS=344 +3=307 +7=351 +10=340

(((Michele and Esse))) cat_pet_icon
Droppin thru to check on you two... looks like I missed all the action.. but Congrats on handling it like a Pro!!
Good luck with the dosecrease too! Have a fabulous furbaby weekend!!
 
Re: 3/20: Esse AMPS=344 +3=307 +7=351 +10=340

What a day yesterday!! I followed, but didn't want to get in the way.
Good luck with the new dose. And have a good evening.
 
Dyana, I had a great evening with my nephew and nieces. We got pizza delivered, and watched two movies while their parents and my Dad were out visiting. Had a marvelous time - I love those "little" guys - I call them the "littles"- and it was wonderful to sit on the sofa getting scared together. YAY for my "littles!!".

As for Esse...well...boy howdy, when she clears a rebound, she clears. I just came in, so I decided to test before bed...and look at her...greengreengreen. :mrgreen:

I'm heading for bed; I put more food out for everyone (Eeyore was blue...) and I'm gonna go crawl into bed. I will be up at 6 to test and feed, and then back to bed. Because the Littles are coming to the barn for the day...and I love that, love that, love that. They'll all get a ride on Tango, and stay around for Sunday BBQ...it will be a ball. So I gotta catch some sleepus now...

Best-
Michele
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top