3/20 Clovis AMPS 202 and PMPS 471

Status
Not open for further replies.
I could have sworn that the injection went through this morning. I normally check for any wetness in the fur but I didn't feel anything. I also finally got my mom to try and prick my cats ears and instead of hearing a nice and cool two digit numbers she called me with a 371 reading at 2pm.

I'm sure it's too early to tell and I've forgotten what this is called but could this possibly be that one thing where the insulin dose is too high and the pancreas gets nervous and starts producing glucose which then rises my kitties numbers????? I know, I know....its more probable it was a fur shot and I should keep dose where it is.
 
Here's my hunch...
I suspect that Clovis had some blues, maybe even a green last night. (And that's why it's important to get a before bed check every night, not matter what.) As a result, what you were seeing this morning was her numbers on their way up. She's rebounding. You've got the concept -- when there are low numbers that your cat isn't used to, her liver responds to what it 'thinks' is a life threatening situation by dumping glucose and counter-regulatory hormones into the blood stream. As a result, BG bounces up into less than desirable numbers. Over the course of repeatedly staying in the lower ranges, the liver will stop panicking. We refer to this as Liver Training School (LTS).
 
I woke up at 2am to check my cats sugar and it was at 368 which I assume means when I wake up it will be in the 400's again. I hate seeing the numbers she's getting but I assume the recommendation is to hold the dose? The last time Clovis went in for a urine check was on the 12th of this month so I'm gonna see if I can get her in either tomorrow or Wednesday for another check. I want to make sure that she doesn't have a urinary tract infection that may be affecting her numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top