3/20 Cinco PMPS 226 +3 82 +4 54 +5 56 +6 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
3/19 Recap:
2.25 units bid:
AMPS: 244
AM+3: 176
AM+5: 126
PMPS: 145
PM+3: 103
PM+6: 97

Yesterday's Condo

A midnight dip in the lagoon for Cinco last night didn't stop him from going back up to the high yellows this am. :sad: Oh well, I think yesterday shows he is working this dose, so I'm going to give it a little more time. I really don't want to increase him again, but trigger finger is ready....

After reading Amy's glowing reviews of Trixie and her Paw Lickin' Chicken, I hunted some down yesterday. I also picked up a couple of Weruva's pouches, and gave Harvey and Sasha some Pumpkin Lickin' Chicken last night for a snack. They loved it! So this morning I served up the PLC, and no one, except good ol' "I'll eat anything" Cinco ate it! :roll: I had to trot out the FF for everyone else, but Cinco got all he wanted, and more. Cats! Good thing I only bought the two small cans!

I have a question regarding carsickness. Does anyone else have a kitty that throws up in the car? Sasha gets sick within five minutes after leaving the driveway - every time. I've got Rescue Remedy, which I'm going to try, but I'm wondering if it would help to give her either Ondansetron or Pepcid about a half hour before we leave? Thoughts, anyone?

Harvey seems a little better this morning, so I've decided not to take him to the vet with us. It's just such an ordeal for him, and me, and I don't want to put us through it if it isn't necessary. He never did sound as bad as Sasha, and now his eye is almost dry and he's sneezing less. Something to be grateful for! :-D

Sending healing vines to all in need, especially Suki and Cain, and hugs to all their beans. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/20 Cinco AMPS 273 +3.5 206 Carsickness?

China suffers from carsickness too. I feel so sorry for her.

Yes, you can give anti-nausea meds 20-30 minutes before leaving. Not having much food in her stomach seems to help too. Use the Ondansetron...it's for nausea...The Pepcid is more for acid in the stomach

Once you have the carrier in the car, put it on the floor and cover it completely with a towel or something so she can't see things moving. The reason we get carsick is because our eyes tell our brain we're moving, but the balance section in the ears tell it we're not. The brain doesn't know how to handle it

Hope you find something that helps. Covering China's carrier and not having much on her stomach helped a LOT the last several times I had to take her to the vet over an hour drive away
 
Re: 3/20 Cinco AMPS 273 +3.5 206 Carsickness?

Sorry about the carsickness. I've heard covering the carrier with a towel helps. I hope Cinco keeps sliding down today. Typical cats on liking/not liking the new fuds.
 
Re: 3/20 Cinco AMPS 273 +3.5 206 Carsickness?

i get extremely carsick when i'm a passenger. for many of us, the feeling comes from our eyes and brain, not the motion itself. i agree that not being able to see out reduces the problem. i've also given mine Rescue Remedy - the dosing is kinda odd. it suggests starting with a drop on the paw or the whiskers, then if that doesn't work to increase up to 4 drops or so actually eaten. mixed with food, for example. i tried the whiff method and it definitely wasn't enough for either Punkin or Anya. eventually i gave a whole dropperful. mine didn't get carsick but anya had a lot of anxiety in the car and open-mouth panted.
 
Re: 3/20 Cinco AMPS 273 +3.5 206 Carsickness?

Gabby gets car sick. Rescue Remedy doesn't work for her. I've not tried Cerenia but it's been recommended. It was developed as a motion sickness med for dogs.

What I have found is that if I can keep an arm around Gabby and she can sit up with her head out of the top of the carrier, she does much better. Some cat's need to see others do better if the carrier is covered.
 
Re: 3/20 Cinco AMPS 273 +3.5 206 Carsickness?

I'm sorry that you have to deal with carsickness :sad: . Hopefully one of the good suggestions the ladies have mentioned will work :-D .

Chyna loved the PLC...if only she weren't allergic :roll: . She also loved the Steak Frites and they are LC/low phos if you can find that one to try. At least sweet Cinco will eat anything :lol: . I hope you're having a good evening and seeing some lower floors! Have a good night :razz:
 
Re: 3/20 Cinco AMPS 273 +3.5 206 Carsickness?

I'm glad at least Cinco liked the PLC! It took Trix a while to learn how to eat it...she couldn't figure out the shreds at first, but once she got it, she GOT it. It drives her BGs crazy, but I do love that she loves it and that it is low phos, so we're going to keep going with it.

I hope you find a car sickness remedy. I personally have the problem if I'm in the back seat...it is not pleasant (although I don't barf :lol: .....thank goodness!).

I hope Cinco is doing well, too!! Have a great night, Tricia!
 
Re: 3/20 Cinco PMPS 226

Thank you, Chris, Carla, Julie & Sienne. I clearly did not have my brain in gear this morning. My first mistake was that I fed Sasha. ohmygod_smile My second mistake was that I tried a new food. ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile I gave her some Ondansetron about 20 minutes before we left. I sprayed Feliway in the carrier and rubbed Rescue Remedy on her ears. I covered the carrier. (STOP reading if you're eating!) We hadn't even left the subdivision when I heard her heaving. :shock: I pulled over and got her cleaned up, replaced the pee pad and wiped the carrier out as well as I could. The cushion under the pee pad got some one it and I cleaned that as much as I could and wrapped a paper towel around it (I travel prepared). For the rest of the 1 hour + drive she had gas, bad. :o When we got to the vet I discovered that she had pooped in the carrier! :shock: :o Poor little thing! When she got into the exam room she demonstrated for the techs just how much mucus she was producing. She got a lot of sympathy (everyone there adores her). The vet said that her lungs sound okay, that the infection appears to be all in the upper respiratory system so far. She prescribed an antibiotic and steam treatments and said to bring her back if she isn't showing improvement in 3-4 days and she'll do a chest x-ray. She also recommended Little Noses. I went into the WalMart next door and found the Little Noses and bought a vaporizer. I've tried the steaming up the bathroom trick, and it just doesn't work with her. One bathroom is too big, and with our drought, it's a ridiculous waste of water. The other is too small and when it starts filling up with steam she goes ballistic trying to get out. I'm hoping the vaporizer will help her. Now if I could just get her to stay in one room!

Meanwhile, Cinco is just plugging along. I wasn't here to get a reading after the blue +6, so I don't know if he went lower, but I'm happy with his PMPS. We'll see what tonight brings. I think tomorrow will tell me if we need to do a dosecrease. It's looking like it. :sad:

Hope everyone is having a good evening and your kitties are blue and green!
 
Re: 3/20 Cinco PMPS 226

Hi Rachel and Amy. Your posts came through as I was finishing mine.

Rachel, so far I've only found one pet store that carries Weruva at all, and they did not have the steak frites. They said they could order it, but I'd have to buy a case, and I don't want to invest that much until I know the kitties will eat it!

Amy, it's funny, but after all the FF was gone, Harvey ate the left over PLC! I still had some in the can when I came home and he was begging for a snack, so I put it down and he ate it! :roll: Cats!

Next time I take Sasha to the vet, I will NOT feed her!!! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 3/20 Cinco PMPS 226 +3 82

Okay, who's been reading my condos to Cinco? Somehow he knows about the threatened dosecrease and hopped into the lagoon! :mrgreen: Is there a PJ party in my future???? I won't complain. :-D
 
Re: 3/20 Cinco PMPS 226 +3 82 +4 54

Whoa Cinco! Don't you just love those big drops? Kidding. ;-)

Just what you don't need...a pj party...after the day you've had. But it's great to see him in green. And very :cool: :cool: that he likes PLC!

Poor little Sasha. I hope she starts to feel better soon.
 
Re: 3/20 Cinco PMPS 226 +3 82 +4 54 +5 56

Hi Marje. Yeah, I am getting a little slap-happy, but that's okay. I really didn't want to have to increase the dose. I know it shouldn't, but it always feels like I've failed when I have to increase. He definitely likes the PLC. I just gave him the last of it and he licked the plate clean. I'm hoping he'll come up a little more without my having to resort to higher carb food.

True to form, Sasha keeps moving from one room to the other. Mark just went to bed and took her with him, so I put the vaporizer back in there (it's been following her back and forth from our room to the guest room) and closed the door! She won't mind that so much now that someone's in there with her (besides Minka, who has watched all the back and forth stuff from the foot of our bed. I think the vaporizer will be good for her, too). I tried to use the Little Noses on Sasha, but I don't know if I actually got any into her nose. She is not very cooperative. I did get her second dose of the AB into her without a fuss (the first one was not as easy - she didn't want to eat the pill pocket and I had to hogtie her and throw it down her throat. :sad: ). She ate the pill pocket this time, then went and hid under a chair. Poor sniffly baby.
 
Re: 3/20 Cinco PMPS 226 +3 82 +4 54 +5 56

I see we're both exhausted and having a little PJ party anyway, Tricia!!

I'm going to set my alarm and recheck China a little later. She was up to 141 but I'm sure that was the HC...now she's back down to 88

Bouncy bouncy bouncy bouncy.....lol

Hope Cinco hops up on his surfboard and lets you get some sleep soon

Funny!! on the following the cat from room to room with the vaporizer....That paints a funny picture!!
 
Re: 3/20 Cinco PMPS 226 +3 82 +4 54 +5 56

Hi Chris! And here I thought China was going to let you sleep! Silly me.

Yes, I really did run upstairs every half hour to see where she was and move the darned thing. The things we do for our cats! :roll: Maybe I should just get a second one - it was only $30. But then I'd miss out on all that exercise! :lol:
 
Hi Tricia, I am behind on reading the condos. I was just catching and seeing that you have been quite busy with Sasha. I hope the infection clears up quickly. Oh boy trying to get her in one room for the vaporizer.

Sending prayers for all your babies.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top