3/20 Brownie AMPS 134 - Not peeing much

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patricia&Brownie

Member Since 2010
Here is our post from yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9645

Last night:
PMPS 92
+3 75
+4.5 86
+6 78
AMPS 134
+3 63

Brownie did visit the litterbox last night and left a normal-sized pee. The vet expressed his bladder at about 12:00 noon yesterday and he went in the box last night once. He was not dehydrated at vet - she said not to give fluids until Sunday unless he wasn't eating or drinking much. He is on Clavamox, so perhaps that is affecting him as well. I'll try to reach my vet right now...
 
Re: 3/20 Brownie AMPS 134 - peed once

I just talked to my vet (she was still at her clinic) and she said that she is not worried at all. He did pee once last night and I will go ahead and give him 200cc more squids now. She feels that he is definitely NOT blocked as she said pee shot across the room yesterday when she applied pressure to his bladder (and all over her as well :roll: ). He received 100cc on Tuesday, 150cc on Wed, and 200cc on Thursday (dental). I haven't seen him drink alot, but he did receive quite a bit of fluids in the past few days. She does not think he needs to see the emergency vet unless he starts vomiting and/or stops eating. He is eating, just not as much as normal (hence the lower numbers). Will this stress ever end? Anyone got some Mylanta? Or a martini? :lol:
 
whew, I'm glad you got to talk to the vet. I think that since he peed last night, that is a good thing. 30 hours for bupe is a long time! I thought it was supposed to be BID.
 
I hope he pees for you. With all the fluids going in, he should need to. Have you tried placing him in the box to see if that gives him the idea to go?
 
I tend to think a lot depends on what's normal litter box behavior for Brownie.

Did you see the note from Jojo in response to WCF's question?
jojo said:
what the heck dose of bupe was he given? no not normal, he needs to go back in if he hasn't passed urine since yesterday morning when vet expressed bladder and get knocked out and u-cath'ed.

My interpretation of Jojo's comment would be to hold off for now since Brownie has made a trip to the LB. I would, however, be attentive to make sure that he returns to normal urination. It also sounds like if Brownie is zonked on Bupe, he may be sleeping vs. peeing. I did have one of my kitties pee in his sleep after having had anesthesia and pain killers. I'm glad you got hold of your vet, as well.

At least you want Mylanta or a martini vs. pulling out your hair!
 
Libby - I tried to ask the vet what the dose of bupe was, but she just said it was the correct dose for his age and size. She did say that the older kitties metabolize it more slowly... And he is definitely OLD!
Linda - yes, I've tried putting him in the box many times - he just jumps right out!
Sienne - yes, I saw the posting from WCF and Jojo and I agree - he normally pees about 3-4 times/day, so this is definitely less, but I'll keep a close eye on him today and I won't hesitate to take him in if he looks even the slightest bit worse...
Thanks for your quick responses - what would I do without you guys? I guess drink martinis and chew mylanta! :lol:
 
Re: 3/20 Brownie AMPS 134 +3 63 +5 69 +8 87

Brownie is staying very nicely green today, even with the addition of some 10% fudz. His appy is just not quite back yet, but I want his shed to be up and running when his appy picks up, so I'm staying with the full dose. No more pee yet, but I'm giving him squids right now.
 
Hi Patricia and Brownie!!! So nice to "see" you! I haven't been on the Board very much lately, and have missed you when I'm on. Brownie's numbahs sure look good!!

I hope he gets back to his normal pee routine nd feels like his old self soon.
 
Re: 3/20 Brownie PMPS 130 - we has pee!

I gave Mr. Browns another 200cc squids this afternoon and he rewarded me with a medium size clump of pee in the litterbox. I would have liked to have seen a little more, but beggars can't be choosers! His appy is still off, but he ate about 1T 10% for dinner and got his normal 0.75u dose. Happy Caturday Night, LL! dancing_cat
 
oh cool! yeah for pee indeed. :-D
was worried last night.
okay make sure his chart is marked that he is extra sensitive to bupe and massively reduced doses only if he ever needs in future. (however i am not discounting in the back of my mind that someone screwed up and dosed him a bit too much with something while at hospital). but this can happen, emmy had this happen to dude once for instance. cat just cannot process the bupe, get rid of it out of his body.
but crisis has passed, and all is well. and he has perfect teeth now too. :) will take a little bit for his eating to get back to norm just cause it takes the older guys longer to heal. but heal he will. hope you both are sleeping soundly now, need it.

ni-ni!
---:) zzzzzzzzzzz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top