Re: 3/20 Blackie +7 456, AMPS 548, +3 510, +6 476
See, told you that you would receive excellent advice, especially about the dose.
As Libby and Sienne pointed out - when changing insulins starting dose can be different from the protocol of a new cat getting insulin for the first time. Personally, I'm not up on the protocol (switching insulin) so I didn't want to suggest a starting dose yesterday.
While you hate seeing him this high, just give him time to get the lantus built up in him and hopefully you will see these numbers drop and stay at a much lower range.
Remember Lantus is a human insulin and a lot of what you may (the label) and hear is based on how a human would it, not a cat. While technically it doesn't need to be fridged, in order to get the longer shelf life out of it, we recommend fridge. Also, my mom uses lantus and keeps it in fridge too.
Again, welcome and I'll be popping in now and again just to see how Blackie's doing.