3/2 Trixie AMPS 290, +6 126, +8 166, +10 202, PMPS 226

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
I haven't posted in a few days...

I know Lantus dosing is based on the nadir and not so much on pre-shot numbers, but I'm not loving Trixie's pre-shot numbers since we reduced her dose to .5BID on Sunday. Because of my work schedule, I've only been able to get some random spot checks this week. I should be able to get a +6 as well as some other random spot checks today, and I've got her first full curve planned for Sunday.

Anyway, can you guys take a look at her SS...is there possibly enough data there to think that her dose needs to be increased to .75BID?

Let me know if I don't have the access rights properly set for her spreadsheet.

Also, when I spoke to the vet last week, she suggested on possibility might be along the lines of 1unit in the morning, .5 in the evening. Is that an OK approach with Lantus, or is it better to maintain a consistent dosing amount for both shots?

As always, thanks!

Amy
 
Re: 3/2 Trixie AMPS 290 - thoughts on dosing?

I wouldn't raise the dose yet. I suspect you're seeing a bounce. The evening of the 28th (you have two days marked 2/27), it's likely that Trixie dropped lower than the 97. FWIW, I would have gotten another test that evening to see if numbers were still dropping. I think what you saw yesterday was a bounce. I'd like to see if things level out before you raise the dose.
 
Re: 3/2 Trixie AMPS 290 - thoughts on dosing?

Thanks so much for your reply, Sienne. How much longer do you think we should go with the .5 dosing to make a determination? At least until we do the curve on Sunday?

(Thanks for catching my typo in her chart!)

AMy
 
Re: 3/2 Trixie AMPS 290 - thoughts on dosing?

I agree with Sienne, I would hold the dose for now. As for dosing 1.0u in the AM and 0.5u in the PM, that is not a good idea with Lantus, that strategy is much better suited to PZI insulins. Lantus likes consistency. If you shoot different doses all the time, the shed will be in constant catch-up mode, and your numbers will be wonky.

It can be difficult to get spot checks when you work, but I would try to get as many spot checks as you can during each cycle....out the door, in the door from work, bedtime checks, grab a test when you get up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night if you can...any data you can gather will help you see how the insulin is working. If you can get more data, you may be able to raise the dose (if necessary) sooner rather than later.

As Sienne said, when you see a lowish number, I would keep testing as she may be getting lower than you realize. Another tip...when you see a significantly lower number at +2, that's a sign that an active cycle is ahead, so you will want to keep testing. Your +2 last night was 80 points lower than your PS, I would have gotten at least a +3 to see if she was still heading down, and then continue testing as necessary after that.
 
Re: 3/2 Trixie AMPS 290 - thoughts on dosing?

Thanks, Laurie. Gosh, there is still so much info to absorb...
 
Re: 3/2 Trixie AMPS 290 - thoughts on dosing?

We know there's a lot to learn, keep posting and asking questions as they come up, you are doing great! You don't have to learn everything in a day, it takes time to absorb it. :smile:
 
Re: 3/2 Trixie AMPS 290, +6 126 - thoughts on dosing?

Not a bad +6 for Trix. So far, testing her has been a 2-person job. Hubby came home for lunch to help with this one, but since she is getting easier about it, I'm going to attempt a few solo spot-checks throughout the afternoon.
 
Re: 3/2 Trixie AMPS 290, +6 126, +8 166 - thoughts on dosing

First attempt at solo-testing was a success - yay!
 
Re: 3/2 Trixie AMPS 290, +6 126, +8 166 - thoughts on dosing

She can get very wriggly. I don't know if I'd be able to test by myself in the morning, because she and my 5 other cats get very antsy for their breakfast. The mornings when her ears decide to not bleed for me are rough. But, just as everyone said it would, it is getting easier!
 
Re: 3/2 Trixie AMPS 290, +6 126, +8 166 - thoughts on dosing

When we first started testing, I had to have DH or DD hold Tinkles for the PS tests...he was so hungry, he would NOT let me test alone....so I understand what you're saying! Now, he comes to the testing spot willingly, lays down and purrs through the tests. Even when I have to test very frequently, he is cooperative...he loves the treats! ;-) Yes, it will get easier!
 
Re: 3/2 Trixie AMPS 290, +6 126, +8 166 - thoughts on dosing

i can't advise you on the dose because i'm just as new at it as you are, but i've been testing alone by "burrito" wrapping my kitter in a beach towel. He's taking it ok, and just today I tested him without wrapping him for the first time. There are youtube videos on how to burrito them, if you need a how-to. I know it made a huge difference for me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_4WBN53obFE
 
Re: 3/2 Trixie AMPS 290, +6 126, +8 166 - thoughts on dosing

I'm not sure how well Trixie would respond to the "burrito"...she is a fiesty little thing! She has come a long way since our first test just a few weeks ago. That first test was not pleasant for any of us. Now she does jump up on the ottoman (her testing and shot zone) willingly for both tests and shots. She starts getting understandably impatient when the test takes to long. I'm with her on that one - so do I! One time, one of my other kitties discovered the secret stash of post-test treats that were waiting for Trixie. She was not happy about that at all...as soon as we were done with the test, she smacked two of the others in a single swat :shock: .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top