3/2 Skooter AMBG 228 PMPS 201 +2.25 194- Picture :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Skooter's adventure to the ER

Well, Skooter still is not really showing interest in food. I did get him to eat a couple bites of turkey, and a small bite of his normal food off of a spoon, but not enough to where I was comfortable giving him insulin. I am hoping to leave work early today and taking tomorrow off, so I can bring him in to his regular vet. He is now back in his "new favorite" spot. I put one of his beds there and he is sleeping away.

1797562_10152583003406637_6701186687933680977_n.jpg


He showed a little interest in food until I put it in his dish.....I did add miralax to his "preshot" meal, we shall see. I also added some miralax to the water I gave him to force the pill down his throat. I cannot believe I am saying this, but give him an injection to give him anytime over a pill lol. I am hoping that maybe my regular pharmacy may be able to order something and that it will be ok to wait to finish off the AB until the liquid form is here, again, if that is possible.

I only got up twice to check on him, so I am gonna call that a win. I am trying to imagine how I would feel after having all of that done, and I am guessing I would not be too hungry or want to be handled too much...so I am trying REALLY hard not to freak out that he is not eating yet. I will say its a good thing, with no insulin he brought him self down 135 "points". (Right?!)

Let's hope I can get done at work today, what I need to in order to leave early and have tomorrow off...or at least try to work from home tomorrow.

Thank you again to everyone for your support yesterday, it sure means a lot to myself and to Skooter...Here is hoping that he starts to feel better soon....
 
If you're planning on getting him into the vet,you might ask if the vet could give Scooter a shot of ondansatron and maybe give you some of the injectable form (it's way cheaper than the pills). I think it's better than Cerenia for nausea (and they way you're describing Scooter seeming interested in food and then turning away) sounds like nausea. I hope he's feeling better soon.
 
Good Morning, Molly & Skooter,

We are hoping that today will be a good one and that Skooter will be feeling much better. He looks nice and comfy in his bed. Sending good vetty vines!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. You forgot to put Skooter's name in your subject line.
 
Thanks @Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) , I just added it. :)


Skooter has an appointment at 9:40 tomorrow morning. I prefer him to see his "normal" vet there, just because it makes me feel better. I will be going home at lunch to check on him and then attempting to work from home tomorrow for the first time.

I have not tried pill pockets before, @Anne & zener (for some reason it won't let me tag you), but I can definitely give those a go as well.

Oh the worriwort momma is coming out now that I have realized I have left him home alone :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:

I have a meeting from 12-1230, so I either go before or after, and I am not sure.....back to work to gtry and get two things done so I can leave at a decent time
 
Have you ever tried gel caps? They saved my life with my cancer Kitty. I buy the ondanasetron pills at Costco and they are pretty cheap, especially since I buy at least 60 at a time. If you get baby food try a few flavors and both Gerbers and Beechnut. All my cats have prefered Gerbers but it does contain cornstarch. It hasn't made a difference in Max's BG and he is carb sensitive though. He likes all the flavors but my other one wouldn't eat the chicken. I hope your vet visit goes well.
 
On my way back to work. ...as I was walking up the stairs, he came to greet me!

It looked like he had ate from his 1030 fuds.....I added in his 830 fuds and he ate that....drank some water and ate some turkey breast....even followed me to a different spot to get some....

Still waiting for some lb action. ...he is trying....

He has an appt early tomorrow morning with his regular vet.....would giving more Subq fludis help at all with trying to get some movement with getting the old poo out?
 
Sounds like he's starting to feel better - yay!!!

I'd call the vetty to ask about the fluids - would they give you a quick answer over the phone today, since you do have an appointment lined up for him?
 
I am sure they would, but if we go there tomorrow and I ask, she would just do it then. She may want to see him first before doing it.

I have never done it before and don't habe any supplies at home, so it would have to be done there anyways....

I am so hapoy he is eating....I will much better when he poops. ..
 
Did the enema totally clear him out, or did the ER vet say to expect more from him? If he was totally cleaned out yesterday and has barely eaten since then, it may be a while before you see more poop....
 
Nope, it didn't totally clear him out...she said there were probably 4 or 5 she couldn't get to but she said the enema should help to get that moving
 
OMG, Molly! I just got caught up on the ordeal you and Skooter have been through. I am so sorry!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: I understand how scared you have been.

It does sound like he's feeling better today. I think giving him liquids is a good idea - tuna water if he likes it (make yourself a sandwich), chicken broth (boil a piece of chicken - he might even eat a few little bites of the chicken), etc.
I have been putting about a teaspoon of squash baby food in Cinco's breakfast for months, and it really seems to help him stay regular.

If they do want you to do fluids at home, don't worry, they'll show you how to do it and send you home with all you need to get started. Margie did a fabulous video that shows you how to do it. Warning: be prepared for an overdose of cute when you see Gus!

Sending lots of vines and prayers to our dear Skooterpie, and more hugs to you!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Molly, Just now read yesterday's condo. So sorry you & Skooter had such a stressful day.
I'm so glad Scooter is feeling better today!
Skooter do a big poop for your Momma!
Hugs:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
He ate almost all his dinner and I was able to get the miralax stirred into it, so yay! I did a BCS of 0.25 tonight since he was eating, but he seems to be coming down on his own pretty well. Before this, he had not had insulin since Sunday (omg that was JUST yesterday) morning.

I was hesitant to shoot at all, but since he was eating, I thought I would go with a reduced dose. After shooting this, I am about 99% confident that my 0.25 is really 0.10....so I am pretty sure I went from 0.50 to 0.10 back at the end of 2014 when I was supposed to do 0.25. Oh well, I guess lolol

I will be working from home for the very first time tomorrow, so we shall see how it goes! Skooter has his vetty appointment at 9:40. I am a bit anxious to get him in to see his normal vet. Still no poo, but then again, I haven't been able to get miralax or anything else in him, so I will try on a pair of extra big patience pants.

I am a little anxious that he will go too low because I am not sure how easy it will be for me to get him to eat anything other than turkey breast :P I am feeling a little better that he is feeling better, but I want him to be feeling A LOT better....again, stupid patience is key and I know, but I am soooooooooooooo not good at patience....

A great big thank you again to everyone for their support yesterday and today....It is great to see that Skooter is so loved by everyone :)
 
Ok stupid question, but what does KTSS stand for?

I believe it is Kittenhood of the Traveling Soup and Spa. If I remember correctly, someone started a group of kitties that visit sick kitties and kitties getting back from the vet to help get the vetty smell off. It was before I started and I read about it somewhere.

I'm glad Skooter is eating for you. :):cat::)
 
Molly, sounds like he's getting better. Quite an ordeal for you both yesterday. Eating is such a good sign.

Hope tomorrow goes well....

Marilyn and Polly
 
I believe it is Kittenhood of the Traveling Soup and Spa. If I remember correctly, someone started a group of kitties that visit sick kitties and kitties getting back from the vet to help get the vetty smell off. It was before I started and I read about it somewhere.

I'm glad Skooter is eating for you. :):cat::)

Yep, this is correct about the KTSS! It is an awesome group that makes kitties who have been to the vetty feel much better!!
 
Miralax works slowly. Maybe you will see action by tomorrow morning but it could be evening. Eating is a very good thing. Can you add a little extra water to the food or won't he eat it if too watery? Drinking water is almost as good as sub-Q. Vines.
 
and the KTSS brings chicken soup for the kitties, as well as helping get the vetty smells off the one who just got back from the vet.

also part of the saga before i started.

glad to hear he's eaten some - sending poo vines to skooter and hoping he feels even better!
 
More poo and feel better vines headed for Skooter! Just getting caught up on your ordeal. BIG HUGS headed for both of you!:bighug: I'm glad to read that his appy is picking up a little bit, and that he greeted you when you got home. Good deal on your employer letting you work from home tomorrow so you can be with him and not have to worry about him while when you're not home.

Thanks for asking about KTSS. I never knew what that meant before. :oops: Learn something new here every day!
 
Well, I was worried about shootung anything as I wasnt sure I would be able to get him to eat....but so far so great....


I opted not to give the AB tonight as it seemed to cause him to be sick to his stomach. I will also forgo the am and hope the vet can either get me a different AB or something I can give for his upset tummy...

I will probaby stick with the 0.25 again in the morning as his appy is still not 100% back and it makes me a lil nervous still, unless there are some good reasons to go back to the full 0.50?
 
@tiffmaxee I tried extra water the first time I tried to feed him as normally he doesn't mind and it was a no go. I will try again in the morning.

I ordered a couple of mini ice cube tray makers as I almost sliced my hand last time trying to cutting down the bigger ones, and I will be adding a couple of those to each meal to help keep it cool and add extra water....we shall see how he takes to that when they arrive
 
Sending tons of good vetty vines for tomorrow. I am so happy to read that he is eating. Remember that when kitties go for procedures where they have anesthesia and can't eat before hand, the vets suggest 1/2 dose, so getting at least that much in if he isn't eating much is still usually OK.

Have you got FortiFlora for an upset tummy. Or plain greek yoghurt with probiotics if he can handle dairy? Some of those ABs can really do a number on their tummies.
 
Were you giving the AB when he wasn't eating, and therefore on an empty stomach? That could cause the tummy upset for sure. Now that he is eating again, you should be able to resume the AB, but your vet will know more than I. I am happy to read his appy is better. If you don't have it, ask the vet for some Ondansetron for his tummy. Great stuff.

I have to admit I was too embarrassed to ask what KTSS stood for, all these years. I knew what it meant, just not what the words were. Thanks for clearing that up, Carla!

Sending lots of good appy and poo vines, as well as good vetty visit vines!. This is for you, Molly: :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top