sueandsamwise said:
Sam is on Lantus not PZI. I got a new vet which put him on the Lantus last June. He'd been doing quite well, then we get all these hi's again and 400/500's. Sam did lose his buddy Ghost in December which could be the reason for his high numbers, he may be missing Ghost. Sam is not on any meds right now.
Ah OK; the dosing and the dose amounts throw one off because Lantus and Lev work much better when the dose remains constant, not changed am and pm. You will disrupt the shed by frequent changes.
Depending on the cat, it's usually a good idea to hold a dose, any dose, for at least 4 cycles minimum, and there are some cats that can take even 6cycles to recognize and react to a dose change.
As for deciding on your dose, the L's are dose based on their nadir, so it's almost MORE important to know what happening in mid cycle than at ps.
On 2/9, you see how you got the nice 147 at +5 on the first increase to f1.0, but if you had not tested then, the day would look like any other with both ps in the 300s.
By 2/15, it looks like he had leveled off and maybe the shed was a wee bit ful because his pmps was the 120. Decreasing the dose was good, but leaving it that much lower resulted in his numbers going up again, making it look like the 1.0u could be high while the .7u is definitely too low.
I am not sure why, but you increased the dose back to 1.0u again on 2/25, then decreased again to the .7u again, and then a shot at .6u, which would have further drained the shed.
Now you are back at the 1.0 dose again, so what about holding this dose to see how it goes?
I don't know about the others, but it's not easy to know what's going on if you have half a ss. In the evening, many cats drop lower, so if you can get at least a before bed test, you will know which way the numbers are heading.
If you keep seeing big jumps in numbers highs and lows, you can always consider trying Lev as it will give you a more flat curve.
You can also try food manipulation with more frequent feedings, plus give LC at ps and then mix in a bit of MC with the LC around mid cycle or just before nadir to try and slow down any drops.
If you are having back leg issues, you can tell your vet you want a bottle of B12(the pink stuff) to give weekly injections. There are also pills you can get methyl B12 just watch for sweeteners.