3/2 Rocky PMPS 362 +2 436 +8 387 +11 290

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning,

I have a question. I think Rocky's BG will continue to go down before his AM shot. Do i shot a falling number if it is in acceptable BG?

I am going to start testing him every 1/2 hr in about 1/2 hr. We know that once Rocky gets into the lagoon, he rarely stays there for long. He usually continues his journey by doing that TOO DEEP of DIVING into those green pastures. ohmygod_smile I cannot think of a reason that today would be any different, considering that I'm mega tire and have a sore throat too.

So it's BTB to rest for 1/2 hr before the likely marathon testing begins. At least Rocky has been a champ about all the pokies to his ears.

Rocky's breakfast and shot time is in two and a half hours.
 
Re: Shoot falling BG? 3/2 Rocky AMBG +260 +9 179

Good morning Tina.
I am a bit confused about your subject line. confused_cat

Maybe you meant 3/1 PM+7: 260, +9: 179.
And you are worried what to do about today's morning shot because the number is dropping??
If so, I don't blame you looking at what he did in the 2/28 PM cycle!!!
Hopefully you will wake up to a nice shootable AMPS number!
 
Re: Shoot falling BG? 3/2 Rocky AMBG +260 +9 179

Definitely get a +11 test that should give you plenty of warning before the shot to get advice, but I don't know that you would need to test every half hour at this point. Get some rest.
 
Re: Shoot falling BG? 3/2 Rocky AMBG +260 +9 179

I would definitely get a +11.5 for comparison. I'll be curious to see how this plays out. While there are certainly times when Rocky's numbers keep going down, you just reduced the dose than that may have an effect on your pre-shot number.
 
Re: Shoot falling BG? 3/2 Rocky AMBG +260 +9 179

Good Morning ~O) :cool:

Rocky is clearing his bounce in short order, which is great. See where he is at +11-ish.
 
Re: Shoot falling BG? 3/2 Rocky AMBG +260 +9 179

Sorry I didn't realize that his 260 was his +6. He is dropping pretty fast, but 179 isn't too low yet. Well see..
 
Re: Shoot? 3/2 Rocky AMBG +260 +9 179 + 10.3 134 +12 93

I am going to shoot this 93.. it may just mean intervening with small bits of HC Friskies, but maybe we Karo this time, for 4 or more hours today.. We'll see.
 
Re: 3/2 Rocky AMPS 93 +1 118

Hi Mariko,

The reason for the subject line was it was is because Rocky has a pattern of dropping really fast and I cannot get a lot of the numbers onto it for others to look at when we are starting a brand new day.

Anyway, it looks like this flat 1.75u insulin dose was at least OK for Rocky as he didn't continue to drop. I am pretty happy about that. :-)

It looks like I might be able to actually get some things done today, although I've got a headache, sore throat, and a literal pain in my neck.

Rocky gets his 2nd meal of the day 2 hrs after his morning breakfast, so he'll get another 1/2c of NVIV in about 45 minutes. I suspect his BG will shoot up after that, but how high is anybodies guess.

We are off schedule with his shots as I had to stall his shot yesterday morning when his BG number was 44 at AMBG. It caused me to give him his first shot of the day two and 1/2 hours later than normal. Last night, I moved his shot time back by 1/2 hr, so it was an 11PM shot and then a 11AM shot this morning.

I will move his shot time back by 1/2 hr again tonight, so he'll receive it at 10:30PM. I am wondering if giving that shot a half hour early every night is having any sweet effecton keeping his BG numbers at an acceptable level, for me. :lol:
 
Re: 3/2 Rocky AMPS 93 +1 118

Nice shooting there Tina. Handled like a pro. Happy to see Rocky cleared his bounce so quickly. Guess maybe Rocky's a late nadir kitty. Glad to see you're gonna be monitoring him next couple of hours to see how he does once the insulin kicks in.
 
Re: 3/2 Rocky AMPS 93 +1 118 +2 113 +3 163

Still surfing the blues, which is good, but a pretty sharp rise in Rocky's BG since finishing his 2nd meal of the day. Looks like Rocky and I can take at least an hour or two poke break for now. ~O) It means I can run get more of his food, treats, and BG monitor strips. Almost completely out of all of it.
 
Re: 3/2 Rocky AMPS 93 +1 118 +2 113

Great shooting again today Tina!!

Rocky sure seemed to clear that bounce fast! Hopefully he'll surf some nice safe blues and greens for you today so you can breathe! I know after yesterday's excitement you could use a break.

Sure hope you can get some rest. Sounds like you're trying to come down with either a cold or the flu :sad:

Good luck with this dose! It seems to be a good one so far anyway!
 
Re: 3/2 Rocky AMPS 93 +1 118 +2 113 +3 163 +5 319

I guess maybe he is starting another bounce from today's blues? His liver is not used to greens and blues.

He's got about six hours away from his next shot, so Rocky's BG could climb a lot higher before then. I just hope his BG can come down on it's own again too, before that evening shot. We'll see. :roll:
 
Re: 3/2 Rocky AMPS 93 +1 118 +2 113 +3 163 +5 319

That looks like a bounce to me.

Great shooting Tina! I was watching in the wings! nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/2 Rocky AMPS +2 113 +3 163 +5 319 +7 399

Ok.. I don't understand a bounce. Why does Mr. Liver think there is nothing in the depot? Is the depot potentially drained? A few more hours until evening shot time. Oh how much higher will your BG go, Rocky? :?
 
Re: 3/2 Rocky AMPS +2 113 +3 163 +5 319 +7 399

Bouncing happens because Mr. Liver isn't used to the lower numbers...even when they're totally normal. He's used to them being higher, so he releases those hormones and sugars that bring them back up...Usually fast and too far. He's not very accurate, he just wants them up where he's comfortable!

As Rocky gets those lower numbers more often, eventually Mr. L will settle down some, although he may still bounce now and then. Usually as their body gets more accustomed to those lower numbers, they won't bounce as high, and will clear them faster, but there's not much more we can do but wait them out.

Rocky not only went down low yesterday, but dropped back pretty fast last night too. That's a lot of change for Mr. L to deal with.
 
Re: 3/2 Rocky AMPS +3 163 +5 319 +7 399 +10 425

OMG.. OMG.. OMG..​

Yes Julie, I am FREAKING OUT over Rocky's BG of 425.. I really have to wait 6 days before I can raise his insulin dose? I don't understand it. The vet would raise his dose by at least .25u tonight to see such a number.

Here's what I don't get.. If he doesn't "clear it" in 6 days, we have to raise it anyway. What good does it do to wait? It seems like it would do more harm than good. :roll:
 
Re: 3/2 Rocky AMPS +3 163 +5 319 +7 399 +10 425

We wait for 6 CYCLES, not 6 days Tina....that's 3 days.

The reason we don't increase when they're in a bounce is because we don't have any way to know when they'll "break the bounce"...If they break the bounce and come crashing down AND we increase at the same time, they can go too low again, and going too low (or dropping too fast) just sets them up to bounce again...As well as making the bean freak out if they go below 50 and won't come back up easily.

Using last night as an example...IF you'd increased to 2 units just because you saw the 369 at PMPS (the "bounce) and he came down to 93 by AMPS, by increasing based on just that one Pre-shot number could have taken him a lot lower.

As it is, probably between the low AMPS number this morning AND the big drop last night, he was set up to bounce today.

Remember, his body is more used to the higher numbers. None of us like them, but they're all part of this dance. Better too high for a day, than too low for a minute!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top