3/2 Oren; AMPS-405; PMPS-322;pm+2-512;pm+5.5-394;

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan & Oren

Member Since 2015
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-1-2015-oren-amps-290-6-hi-pmps-568-pm-4-346.133894/#post-1381309

well, no more visible yellows, but perhaps he got there after pm+4 last night. This a.m, back to 405, but that's lower than the previous AMPS in the 400s before dose increase. Yesterday he was a drinking/peeing fiend though until he hit that pink.

At work today, so no tests till PMPS. At least the sun is out today and the ice has melted! Keeping on and sending positive 'vines' to all in need. Oren and I thank all for the support here..:cat::bighug:

another question: it seems I may have actually rubbed off some fur from the edge of his little ears, has anyone experienced this from using the neosporin and having to 'rub' it off to dry it?? Or is it the neosporin itself? too much?
 
he does a little bit after I mess w/ them, but not constantly that I've noticed. that would make me sad cause i think it helps w/ the owie...

Guess I might need to do a pm+2 as he seems headed down from the highs; PM tonight was 322...
 
I always like getting a +2 ...it can be like a crystal ball sometimes!

If it's about the same as the PS, it's usually a "normal" cycle where the number gradually goes down, then gradually goes back up to the next PS

If it's lower than the PS, that can be your early warning that he might be planning on dropping a lot during that cycle

If it's higher than the PS, a lot of times that means they're starting a bounce and it's OK to take a bit of a pokey break on that cycle.

Of course ECID, but we see that +2 work that way in a lot of kitties, so it's a good test to get when you can!

Come on now Oren...time to work that juice!
 
I "slathered" it on punkin's ear every night and never saw the hair come off. There have been a couple of cats that seem to be allergic to it, so if you think it's irritating his skin you might try skipping it. There isn't any substitute as far as I know. Well, there's Polysporin with pain relief, but i believe that might just be generic of the same thing.
 
well, here we go again. pm+2 516. guess maybe he went lower during day and he just doesn't want to stay there yet. but if he was bouncing before, what is this? a bounce on top of a bounce? probably not much point in more testing tonight i guess?:banghead:
 
I'd be pointing to the pm cycle on 2/28 as the cause of this bounce. I think he was on his way UP into the bounce yesterday morning with his amps of 290 and he's been high since yesterday, all in one bounce. Bounces aren't necessarily all HI HI HI - it can bobble around but still be in the same bounce.

If he lasts the full 3 days, that would mean he'd clear this bounce in tomorrow evening's pm cycle. My crystal ball isn't perfect, but i'd want to get a midcycle test in tomorrow evening's cycle to see what he gets to. I'd probably want to get a test as soon as I got home from work tomorrow, just in case he begins to clear it sooner.

His last bounce lasted 3 days + 1 cycle - from that streak of blue/yellow on 2/25 during the day cycle, i think he cleared that bounce in the pm cycle of 2/28 - which caused the bounce you're seeing now.
 
so I understand the idea of the bounce as described by many people here; after being used to being high, any drop in BG brought on by the insulin makes his liver respond to 'save him from going to low'. But how/when does his body stop seeing lower numbers as dangerous? how can he ever spend enough time in lower numbers if he is continuously bouncing from them? Does there just come a point when the correct dose of insulin 'overrides' the bounce?

and unfortunately, the time i get home is basically just in time for the PMPS.. but I'm doing that already.
 
Yes, there is a changing point. you can't necessarily cause it, but it happens. As you increase the dose, he'll have more opportunities to get into green numbers, then the more hours he spends in green, the more his body will settle down.

At some point, he'll realize it's ok and his bouncing will lessen. If you look at Mikey/Mary's condo for today, i was just pointing out that seems to be what is happening to Mikey right now. He's been a very bouncy kitty and he's seen green in 3 of the past 4 cycles now. It does happen - you do have to get to the "right" dose as well. That involves increasing and then you'll see a change when you get to the right dose.
 
By the time most of us get our cats diagnosed, they've been diabetic for quite some time...their body has gotten used to living at those higher numbers and now think they're "normal"

As Oren spends more and more time in lower numbers, his liver will be re-trained and learn that it's OK to be at those numbers again and the bounces will gradually not be as high and will clear faster

There's no set time for that to happen though....It's all up to Oren's liver. All you can really do is just keep to the protocol and eventually you'll start to see more and more lower numbers and if he does bounce, he won't bounce as high and will clear them faster
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top