3/2 need eyes on Cedric [updated w/a YIKES]

Status
Not open for further replies.

doombuggy

Member Since 2011
Yes, Cedric has been put back on insulin. I discovered last month that his BGs were too high, took him to the vet and he got his dental early (tooth was extracted). so that was last tuesday (last week) and this tuesday his post insulin numbers seem to go up instead of down. I will take a couple more readings tomorrow before going to work (it's saturday and i don't work at disney until 11am) and after in the evening; same for sunday. can't do a curve until next weekend (off on 3/9-i still work 7 days a week).

Can anyone give me some thoughts as to why his numbers are going up instead of down? He has been getting his 4 small meals a day of canned only high protein low carb food for nearly 2 years, no changes there, so.....?

3/2 6:15 pm eastern
He was doing so much better this am - 188 reading at 6am, and in hindsight I probably should have given him less than 1 unit. At +2 he was 171, then at +4 (shortly before I was to leave for work) he was 101. i panicked as i was so scared he was going to hypo on me when i was not home. I gave him a little bit of syrup; he is fine and wAs waiting for me when I got homE (he had 2 small meals while i was at work). I tested him at 6pm (PMPS) and it was 355. Gave him 1 unit and will test in at +2 and +4. He must be ok he's chasing Dallas around the house like to crazys...

So if I get up tomorrow morning and get another number under 200, what do you suggest I do? 1/2 unit? None?
 
Re: 3/1 need eyes on Cedric

Sorry to see the Cedric is visiting from the Falls. Hopefully, it's a short stay.

Is Cedric on any antibiotics after the dental? And if so, is the AB a liquid? Sometimes, the liquid meds are in a syrup base.

For many cats that come back from the Falls, they exceed their highest dose of insulin. At this point, it doesn't matter how much insulin. What matters is getting the numbers down as quickly as possible. I wouldn't be overly zealous with dose. Remember, you want to increase by 0.25u unless nadirs are consistently above 300. If your schedule will allow, you want to increase the dose every 3 days.
 
Re: 3/1 need eyes on Cedric

thanks for your thoughts. :-D He got an antibotic shot that was supposed to be long-lasting, but should have worn off by now is my guess, since it has been 10 days since his dental. The vet emailed me yesterday after looking at his sheet to tell me to hold for 2 more days before increasing his dose to 2 units (but I wouldn't increase it that much, especially with not being home or being able to take him in to work like i used to). He was 188 when i tested him about 20 minutes ago. I can check him again at 8am and about 9:45, as i have to leave by 10 to be to disney (pt job) by 11.

Would putting the bacitracin zinc ointment on him make a difference? I have only put this on his cut 4 or 5 times (He scratched himself with his trimmed nails), not every day because it doesn't seem to be getting better. I put the hydrogyn peroxide on it twice.
 
Re: 3/1 need eyes on Cedric

I have heard that hydrogen peroxide is not good for cuts. I would clean it with a little warm water and a soft cloth. Does he lick the cut?
 
Re: 3/1 need eyes on Cedric

No, it's on his forehead over his right eye (left if you look at his face). Dallas, his adoptive brother, does lick it though. he was 188 at AMPS (6am eastern) and 171 at 8am (+2). He's playing games with me!
 
Re: 3/1 need eyes on Cedric

Dyana's correct -- hydrogen peroxide can cause the skin to break down. The bacitracin should be OK. If you have Neosporin, that's fine as well.
 
Re: 3/1 need eyes on Cedric

it looks like Cedric will be heading for some nice numbers today. Hopefully this means his insulin depot is filled and we can see what this dose will really do for him.

Sorry you're back from the falls. :sad: Usually the best course of action for a relapsed cat is to follow the protocol somewhat aggressively at first, in an effort to get the numbers back down as quickly as safely possible. That will give him the best chance at maybe going OTJ again.
 
He dropped to 101 as I was getting ready to leave the house and I panicked a little. gave him some syurp and his numbers were at 355 for PMPS. +2 is 318. I plan on testing him again in a couple of hours, but I think if he has a number under 200 tomorrow am he'll need a smaller dose...
 
Re: 3/1 need eyes on Cedric

doombuggy said:
thanks for your thoughts. :-D He got an antibotic shot that was supposed to be long-lasting, but should have worn off by now is my guess, since it has been 10 days since his dental. The vet emailed me yesterday after looking at his sheet to tell me to hold for 2 more days before increasing his dose to 2 units (but I wouldn't increase it that much, especially with not being home or being able to take him in to work like i used to). He was 188 when i tested him about 20 minutes ago. I can check him again at 8am and about 9:45, as i have to leave by 10 to be to disney (pt job) by 11.

Would putting the bacitracin zinc ointment on him make a difference? I have only put this on his cut 4 or 5 times (He scratched himself with his trimmed nails), not every day because it doesn't seem to be getting better. I put the hydrogyn peroxide on it twice.

The long lasting AB shot may have been convenia and it's to last for 2weeks.
Just an fyi Dr Lisa’s post on Convenia
 
I think if you have fed a bit of LC, Cedric would have surfed in blue numbers. On a day you're home, it may help to get a curve so you have some sense of where Cedric's nadir is this time around. That may help you to decide if you need to leave out LC, MC, or HC food if you have to leave the house. I'm not sure that I would adjust the dose based on pre-shot.

BTW, one of the members here Mary, and her kitty, Stella, just moved to Orlando.
 
Yes, I just looked at his bill and he did get Convenia and clindamycin.

"On a day you are home" boy I wish! i work 7 days a week so that doesn't happen frequently. As it turns out, i took this coming Saturday off from my p/t job, so I will be trying a curve on him then. I just got my next week schedule for my p/t job at Disney and they have me scheduled for 5-11pm on the 16th which I will try to give away - I'd have to pay my pet sitter $25 to come over and feed the cats, scoop and ck/test cedric; about 1/3 of that days pay, leaving about $40 before gas & tolls on that 60 mile r/t.

today he started at 459 and was 327 at +2.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top