3/2 Mickey amps 305 pmps 311 +6.5 342

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peggy and Mickey (GA)

Member Since 2010
I think I need an increase now.
A question: Tomorrow is day 12, day off. 11am/reduced dose at 11pm. So if I give him 1 unit in the am. A reduced dose of that is 1/2 unit. Or should I wait?
 
Re: 3/2 Mickey amps 305

Without some spot checks we don't know if this dose that Mickey is on is too high to too low. If he's dipping a lot and then rebounding or if he's remaining high and flat. I do think a dose increase is in your future simply because he was at a higher dose on ProZinc, but until we know what he's doing right now I can't recommend a dose increase yet.

He's your cat and it's your decision, what do you feel comfortable with?
 
Re: 3/2 Mickey amps 305

Mr. Mickey @ +2.5 let me know that I was not getting even a little close to his face.

Ok, I have Thur-Fri-Sat to get the spot checks. Last night he was 392. He hasn't been that high lately.

I cannot believe they haven't made syringes with 1/2 u and .1 for such increases/decreases. I am doing the pin drop with the insulin.

We will stay where we are for now. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/2 Mickey amps 305 pmps 311

You should always have mid-cycle spot checks before changing a dose (unless you get a really low number at any time). Lev (and lantus) need to be dosed based more on nadir with PSs as secondary data - so waiting until you can do that, especially with a move to earlier shooting coming up, is wise.
 
Re: 3/2 Mickey amps 305 pmps 311

The decrease should only be to about .85U or so if you are at 1U. Do not decrease by half a unit. You only want to prevent too much shed building up, not deplete it altogether.
 
After I screwed up the measurements last week I kept it at .8 after that.
I was supposed to be doing a curve today but got called into work at 5:30 in the morning :-x Wouldn't be so bad if I didn't stay up till 3am
Now I have to make arrangements to have someone sit the desk so I can go home and give his shot by 11am.
But I can still get some tests in after I get home. Have to leave for bit for a serious cat litter run tho.
 
OMG, Peggy, I would be furious if I got called in to work after just a few hours of sleep. What do you do for a living - if you don't mind me asking?

I don't get companies that change up schedules like this. It is very stressful on the body, sleep rhythms, etc. I think studies have shown that a set schedule is much better for health and productivity - you either work the day shift, or the night shift (and get paid a little more usually). I do not envy you your schedule changes. (((hugs))).
 
911-police-fire-rescue dispatcher. In August I start my 23rd year doing this. Oh and the sleep schedule is outrageous, I agree. I wonder what it would be like to work 9-5 Monday-Friday, weekends off?
I do get paid more because I am Supervisor/trainer/ NCIC Tac officer. I could technically retire with health benefits in 2 years, but I don't have the age. Have to be 55 until the silly Politicians change that rule. So that is about 9 more years!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top