3/2 Marley |PMPS 372|

Hi there! Don't feed and see where he is at the next test. 74 is still a safe number though not one you're used to seeing at preshot.
 
Definitely not used to it. The only other time this happened was on ProZinc and I didn't give a shot: he went sky-high.
74 is a safe number to shoot but not if you're not accustomed to it. You might have to skip this one again but he will recover. :)
 
+.25: 76 no movement

I'm not comfortable completely skipping and I'm around all day to monitor. Full dose or partial dose?
 
The +2 last night was an indication of an active cycle. He cleared the bounce last night and hence the additional downward momentum.

I'm not comfortable completely skipping and I'm around all day to monitor. Full dose or partial dose?
This is only Day 6 of Lantus, so the depot hasn't built. Why not give a token dose of 1 or 1.25?
 
This is only Day 6 of Lantus, so the depot hasn't built. Why not give a token dose of 1 or 1.25?

Can you explain this? If the depot hasn't built yet, why a lower dose? Is it because we don't know his "true" depot numbers and they could be lower than what we're getting because it's still building up?
 
Can you explain this? If the depot hasn't built yet, why a lower dose? Is it because we don't know his "true" depot numbers and they could be lower than what we're getting because it's still building up?

Yes, the depot is still building so we don't have an idea of what the dose is doing for him. You can shoot the full dose also, but you don't want a situation where he is low and you are spending the whole cycle trying to bring up with high carbs/honey. Of course, he could very well bounce at some point.
 
Oh boy. I just tested again to make sure
+.5 66

Should I keep stalling or just give him a small token dose of 1?
 
I tested again to double check: it's 72

Let's do the token dose. Once the Lantus depot builds, we can be more aggressive with the dosing especially since you can monitor. :-)
All these numbers are within meter variance so one could also argue that he is flat!
 
Wow that's a drastic difference. I can only hope for the same with him. ProZinc did not treat him well and you can see lots of reds and blacks lol.

He completely devoured his food. Should I give him more because he's lower or give him a small break? He tends to engorge himself when he has high numbers, so I force a small break so he doesn't get sick (he'll sit around on his side like he just ate an entire turkey).
 
Better not to fill him up in case you need to feed him every half hour or every hour to keep him surfing.

ETA: Could you please change your thread title now that you have shot? Thanks! :-)
 
It was a combination of things. Simba's diabetes was steroid-induced (I don't remember what he was on steroids for) and the vet should have known that the higher numbers were caused by the steroids. He was put on HC prescription and given a high dose of a non cat-friendly insulin, as is often the case. The CG was not testing enough, so it's possible that Simba went low and she was only catching the bounces when she tested. The HC kibble was also keeping him safe. Take out the steroids and the prescription kibble and he became diet controlled. He might not have needed the insulin at all to begin with. Or may have needed a very low dose for a very short time.
 
Thanks! I was trying to indicate based on the numbers, but only spotted a few things.

Thanks for all the info. Will be testing in 10 min.
 
First poke drew no blood, 2nd poke was error because he flicked his ear, 3rd was 65, fourth was 73
 
What great numbers for Marley today! You did a great job (sorry, I don't know your name). It's good that you gave the shot. Soon you will be itching to shoot green numbers. :bighug:
 
Thank you. My name's Mallory. I hope these numbers continue. They've been relatively flat today which is a far cry from what we've gotten on ProZinc which is really nice. We would get a few low numbers, but he wouldn't surf very long.
 
Thank you. My name's Mallory. I hope these numbers continue. They've been relatively flat today which is a far cry from what we've gotten on ProZinc which is really nice. We would get a few low numbers, but he wouldn't surf very long.
Great to meet you, Mallory! Lantus is great for flat green curves. Once Marley's liver graduates from training school and he stops bouncing, you'll get more of these flat days. :)
 
+.5: 65/73
+1: 83
+1.5: 91
+2: 87
+3: 83
+4: 105
+5: 96
+7: 165
+11: 362

So I assume I do the full 2.5? I'll be shooting in about 30 minutes.
 
Back
Top