3/2 Maggie: AMPS 256 +4 34 PMPS 245

Status
Not open for further replies.

MyMaggie

Member Since 2014
Today I gave her the reduced dose of insulin of .75U. She did not eat very much and "maybe" finished 1/4 of a can of Fancy Feast LC. I will keep an eye on her today, but I have company coming so I will try to post as best I can.
 
Re: 3/2 Maggie: AMPS 256

Good morning Amber ~O)

Eat your yummy foods for your mamabean Maggie :smile:
Good luck with this dose! Let's see a nice gentle surf today :-D
 
Re: 3/2 Maggie: AMPS 256

Good luck with the reducie :-D . I hope that Maggie gives you a nice, safe slide down today, and that she eats her fuds. Have a great Sunday! :razz:
 
Re: 3/2 Maggie: AMPS 256 + 4 34 PMPS 245

Terrible Day for both Maggie and I today :cry: I was not very attentive to my poor girl today with groceries and cooking meals and having people in my house all day.

I am having a lot of trouble figuring out the right dose for Maggie and her numbers are high to very low!! On top of her numbers being wonky she tried to bite me today after doing her +4 BG today and she was again VERY angry. Did not want treats at all! I finally got her to eat some HC food (but she basically just licked the gravy) but I gave her 3 TSP's because I wasn't going to be able to test her every 20 mins.

She is not eating much and perhaps that is why her numbers are going so low. She is hungry but I am lucky if I can get her to eat 1/2 can of LC food per day!

She is STILL urinating around my house but I did get the spray and cleaned her usual spots and maybe that will help!!

I have to go back to work in the next week, back to full time and I am feeling horrible about not getting her numbers under control!

This is so hard and I don't know how to split my time among everything to be able to track her all day long!!

So disheartened today!
 
Hi Amber, good job catching that 34 today. With that number, you should reduce her dose to .5U. From the protocol:
If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended.
Have you tried different types or flavours of foods for Maggie? Some appetite enticements are freeze dried chicken crumbles, Fortiflora, parmesan cheese, bonita flakes.

Don't be hard on yourself, you have a lot to do. Maggie's numbers are coming down, she is responding well to the insulin. Good luck on the pee spots. Once I got a black light and made sure all spots were cleaned with the enzyme spray, it made quite a difference. That plus just adding a litter box where she wanted to go.
 
Thanks Wendy!

It is so challenging juggling life (especially with an 11 month old) and keeping Maggie safe!

Good News.... I just witnessed her using her litter box :mrgreen: so hopefully that continues!! I may try the black light idea though just to make sure I get the scent out!

Thanks for the encouragement!! I felt really guilty about not being able to track her that closely today, and to see her hit her lowest BG yet made me worried about how to handle all this. However, she did not have a hypo reaction and I had a close eye on her actions throughout the day even though I couldn't check her BG.

I am off tomorrow but have some errands to do and my son home but I will try to get a couple more BG's in. She is REALLY not liking them though, I have the polysporin to apply on her ears and hopefully provide some pain relief for her!

Thanks again, we shall see what tomorrow brings! She is such a good girl for going through all this!

Strange thing is, my husband has diabetes, I last year had gestational diabetes through my pregnancy and as a result my son was born with low blood sugar and was born with critically low sugars and was in NICU for 2 weeks and now Maggie!! This diabetes thing is running romped... hopefully there will be a cure soon!
 
Amber

I know you have your hands full but if you get a 34, you must recheck. It would have only taken you a few seconds. A couple tsps of HC might or might not have brought her up quickly. Because we don't have them hooked to monitors, we can't tell what the effects of prolonged low numbers can do to their brains and other organs that need sugar.

I don't mean to be harsh or criticize but it's just really important to take a number below 40 very seriously. And if you see signs/symptoms of a hypo, it could be too late by the time you get them to the vet. My kitty dropped from 88 to 27 in an hour the other night with no signs at all. Thankfully, we tested and caught it and got her up right away.

It might not be a bad idea to drop her dose back to 0.5u to keep her safe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top