3/2 Jonesy AMPS 281-1.75u; PMPS 310-1.75; 239@=4.5

Darcy and Jonesy

Member Since 2015
For tomorrow, try to go somewhere you can window shop, spring clean house, pick up some snacks or adult beverage for tomorrow night. Anything to distract you from worrying to much (I know it won't happen). It's going to be a long day and evening for you.
 
For tomorrow, try to go somewhere you can window shop, spring clean house, pick up some snacks or adult beverage for tomorrow night. Anything to distract you from worrying to much (I know it won't happen). It's going to be a long day and evening for you.
Unfortunately, I'll be working all day :( Won't even be able to pick him up until 5:30, but I know the clinic's number by heart. Just might be calling a few times ;) heehee
 
Before you give the PM insulin, you'll want to make sure he is eating. Some cats don't eat well after a dental due to the anesthesia or their mouth being sore.
I'm not giving his insulin in the morning, but I've been told to BRING my insulin to the clinic. I've given instructions that before they give ANY insulin throughout the day that they call me FIRST.

Is it even safe for him to have ANY insulin until he eats? I remember when Lebowski was alive (my first sugar cat) they gave insulin late in the day as his numbers were super high. But that night ended up being a pajama party for me as he almost hypoed!
 
A couple of suggestions...

  • No Metacam (meloxicam) for pain if there are extractions. NSAIDs can cause acute kidney failure. Buprenorphine is generally better. Some cats can get agitated with it, though. A quiet place to decompress may help.
  • No Convenia as an antibiotic. It lasts over 2 weeks and if your cat is allergic, an antibiotic that lasts that long is a huge problem.
  • If there are extractions, make sure they do post-procedure X-rays. You want to be sure there are no shards left in the gum.
  • If there are extractions, make sure you have baby food on hand. (Gerbers or Beachnut stage 2 -- it's all protein and no onions, garlic, or other veggies)
  • Some cats can become ravenous after anesthesia. Give food in small amounts otherwise, there will be scarf and barf. The kitty is hungry but the anesthesia slows the GI track hence the barfing.
  • Anesthesia can lower BG. Test when you get home.
  • I would wait until you get home to shoot. If they give Jones a shot at the office, your schedule will be a wreck.
If I think of anything else, I'll post.
 
All the above. Each dentist is different as ECID. When Ollie was done I was told give 1/2 dose insulin and bring in other half and they would give. I did not being it in. I told them if bg got to high call me, I would tell them maybe give R or nothing. If to low they can give sugar drip there. So I really wasn't to concerned. I thought of it as a fur shot. I gave her regular PM dose on schedule.
 
I wouldn't give them any insulin to give - they just don't follow the same protocols we do. And it'll throw off your shot schedule.

That's just me...heck I couldn't even get the last vet/techs to test her BG while she was there waking up from the anesthesia. And they kept her all day - I wasn't very happy about that...I'm hoping Luci's next dental will go a bit easier - at least this vet seems to appreciate that she's diabetic so needs to be monitored, fed, etc.

Good luck tomorrow!!
 
All the above. Each dentist is different as ECID. When Ollie was done I was told give 1/2 dose insulin and bring in other half and they would give. I did not being it in. I told them if bg got to high call me, I would tell them maybe give R or nothing. If to low they can give sugar drip there. So I really wasn't to concerned. I thought of it as a fur shot. I gave her regular PM dose on schedule.

"Maybe give R or nothing"? What do you mean?

Thanks!
 
A couple of suggestions...

  • No Metacam (meloxicam) for pain if there are extractions. NSAIDs can cause acute kidney failure. Buprenorphine is generally better. Some cats can get agitated with it, though. A quiet place to decompress may help.
  • No Convenia as an antibiotic. It lasts over 2 weeks and if your cat is allergic, an antibiotic that lasts that long is a huge problem.
  • If there are extractions, make sure they do post-procedure X-rays. You want to be sure there are no shards left in the gum.
  • If there are extractions, make sure you have baby food on hand. (Gerbers or Beachnut stage 2 -- it's all protein and no onions, garlic, or other veggies)
  • Some cats can become ravenous after anesthesia. Give food in small amounts otherwise, there will be scarf and barf. The kitty is hungry but the anesthesia slows the GI track hence the barfing.
  • Anesthesia can lower BG. Test when you get home.
  • I would wait until you get home to shoot. If they give Jones a shot at the office, your schedule will be a wreck.
If I think of anything else, I'll post.

Thanks @Sienne and Gabby (GA) I did not know that about Metacam! I'd heard of concerns about Convenia, and he actually has had Convenia when he was first diagnosed (his DKA episode) So, still say no to Convenia?

And would Bupe be for pain and any infection? Or is Convenia for infection?

So post-procedure x-rays, but while he's still UNDER, yes? You're not talking a week later? I'm VERY sure there will be extractions. I know of at least one cracked tooth that needs to come out.

Thanks so much everyone! My plan is to NOT bring my insulin at all. Better too high than too low. I'll post tomorrow night for advice ;)
 
Bupe is for pain. Convenia is for infection. Just because Jonesy was okay with Convenia before doesn't mean he won't develop a reaction. It's best not to use it if you can avoid it since it stays in the system so long. I think Sienne means get post procedure x-rays while he's still under anesthesia so they can remove anything they may have left behind.
 
Buprenorphine is for pain. A common post dental antibiotic is Clindamycin (Antirobe). It can be hard on tummy flora - so starting a probiotic is a good idea. Give the two meds at least two hours apart.

All meat babyfood is impossible to find in my part of Canada, your province may be different. I have seen some TikiCat Velvet Mousse in some pet stores which is similar in texture. Or throw the food in a blender with some water and whirr away. It's got to be soft and easy to eat if you have a sore mouth. Sort of like us going on liquid diets after mouth work.

Take a can of his regular food with you to give the clinic. They may try to feed him when he's awake and able, and you'd rather they be low carb. Since he's gone for a long stretch, if you have an old towel or recently worn but not clean T-shirt, rub your scent on it and leave it in the carrier so it smells like home.

The vet should schedule a visit a week later, to make sure things are healing well, if there are extractions.

Sending tons of good dental vines!:bighug:
 
"Maybe give R or nothing"? What do you mean?

Thanks!
I didn't mean you. This was for the Dr doing Ollie's dental. He said to give Ollie half her dose morning of. Bring in the other half and they would give in recovery. Since its depot insulin, I didn't want the double nadirs or messing up her schedule. If Ollie got way to high which for a few hrs isn't that bad, I would suggest to Dr to give Ollie R (regulat) insulin since its short acting but only if really needed. Otherwise, Dr should give nothing and I give regular shot at home.
 
Well, he's eating now, (good thing as I'm taking it away from him within minutes ;) ) plus, he's dropped down to 239 which I'm thrilled about. I gave him sub-q fluids this evening. I honestly believe that is helping to drop his numbers down. I'm lucky he sits like a CHAMP for it! Plus, he should be nice and hydrated for tomorrow.

Poor guy, I tried to explain what his day will be like tomorrow. He just put his paws over his ears and proceeded to chant "lalalalala. . . I can't HEAR you" ;) heehee
 
Back
Top